The Corona Virus (COVID-19) disproportionately impacts Native Americans and this guide is spotlighting sources about COVID and the intersection with health inequity with a collection of places to start on the COVID-19 in Indian Country page.
Welcome to the WVU Libraries Native American Studies Guide
This guide collects links to library and other online resources and provides guidance to support and information about a variety of types of materials and content.
The Libraries work to support the West Virginia University Native American Studies Program (WVU NAS). The WVU NAS Program has an extensive collection of research materials and expertise, and is a strong supporter of the WVU Libraries. Native American Studies is an interdisciplinary field, and the WVU program includes experts and instructors from many disciplines conducting research, teaching, and service activities and offering programming for the local and wider community.
Should you have any suggestions or questions about this guide, please contact the Librarian liaison to the NAS Program, (contact information below).
Explore library sources for Native American research
Note ABOUT ACCESS
Many library sources are available only to WVU users. You may be prompted to authenticate with your WVU ID credentials and DUO 2-factor identification.
American Indian Histories and Cultures features a wide range of materials including:Manuscripts (treaties, speeches, petitions, diaries, travel journals, ledger books, Artwork (illustrations, sketches, watercolours, oil paintings, American Indian art), American Indian Newspapers covering the 1960s to 1990s, Rare Printed Books, Photographs,and Maps.
Covers North American (US and Canadian) history from prehistory to the present, providing references to journal articles, books, dissertations and reviews. America: History and Life covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide, including all key English-language historical journals and selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals.
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Index, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index, as well as the Cited Reference Search. Also provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of high impact research journals from around the world.
Engineering Village provides an easy to use, integrated interface for finding the engineering information you need. Engineering Village includes 5 independently searchable databases with journal citations, indexed and evaluated web-sites, up to date patent information, and technical engineering information including product information.
MEDLINE is a National Library of Medicine bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,800 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. Access to full-text WVU journal subscriptions is available through the LinkOut icons.
CINAHL Complete is a major research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature, with more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1982. The database provides full text for more than 1,300 nursing & allied health journals indexed in CINAHL.