This guide has been adapted from the "Medieval and Renaissance Studies" guide curated and managed by the European Studies Section (ESS) of the Association of College & Research Libraries.
Before conducting in-depth research, it is important to gather information you have about your topic and consider what you still need to know. This can include dates, places, terminology, and names of persons/entities involved in events or phenomenon you’re studying. Reference tools like dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks are useful for this preliminary research phase.
A Dictionary of Medieval Terms and Phrases by
The first dictionary of medieval terms intended for the non-specialist with an interest in the medieval world. An interest in the middle ages often brings the non-specialist reader up short against a word or term which is not understood or only imperfectly understood. This dictionary is intended to put an end to all that - though such a claim is inevitably rash. However, it has been designed in the hope that it will be of real help to non-academic readers, and in some cases maybe even to specialists.
All Things Medieval by
This insightful survey of the "things" of medieval Europe allows modern readers to understand what they looked like, what they were made of, how they were created, and how they were used. All Things Medieval: An Encyclopedia of the Medieval World covers the widest definition of "medieval Europe" possible, not by covering history in the traditional, textbook manner of listing wars, leaders, and significant historic events, but by presenting detailed alphabetical entries that describe the artifacts of medieval Europe.
Encyclopedia of Society and Culture in the Medieval World by
The four-volume Encyclopedia of Society and Culture in the Medieval World provides readers with comprehensive coverage of the medieval world, from the fall of Rome to the European Renaissance, including Western and non-Western cultures and civiliza
Handbook of Medieval Studies by
This interdisciplinary handbook provides extensive information about research in medieval studies and its most important results over the last decades. The handbook is a reference work which enables the readers to quickly and purposely gain insight into the important research discussions and to inform themselves about the current status of research in the field.
The Rise of the Medieval World 500-1300 by
Beginning in 500 with the fusion of classical, Christian, and Germanic cultures and ending in 1300 with a Europe united by a desire for growth, knowledge, and change, this volume provides basic information on the significant cultural figures of the Middle Ages. It includes over 400 people whose contributions in literature, religion, philosophy, education, or politics influenced the development and culture of the Medieval world. While focusing on Western European figures, the book does not neglect those from Byzantium, Baghdad, and the Arab world who also contributed to the politics, religion, and culture of Western Europe.
