Authentic Leadership by
This book provides new insights about the roles in which LGBTQ individuals contribute in society and various organizations. The literature is divided into two sections. Section one includes three chapters from higher education administrators, faculty and community activists. The chapters share personal narratives describing the life experiences of those who are often marginalized within academia. Each chapter provides personal and professional aspects of the authors lives. Section two includes four chapters which, shares voices of people whom are normally excluded from research. Each authors identity is shared as an aspect of their research. The authors present a broad range of issues, challenges and concerns, supported by prior literature, organized around several broad topical areas and intended to fill the gaps in our knowledge about how LGBTQ leadership is engaged across multiple types of institutions and how the experiences affect the quality of life for LGBTQ individuals throughout the academic community. Their complex identities affect their research interests, findings, and interpretations. "Including the topics of leadership, LGBT issues, spirituality and race in one book is a miracle into itself." - Lemuel W. Watson "The first thing I remember missing when I arrived on campus was the presence of other gender queer or transgender people." - Shae Miller "My authority has been challenged in the classroom; as a queer/gender queer person I chose not to heed warnings that I should not come out to my classes" - Shae Milller "Being non-heterosexual in student affairs can leave administrators feeling marginalized and lonely despite the inclusive mission statements, diversity philosophies, ally trainings, and mottos they espouse." - Joshua Moon Johnson "Many educators who serve within social justice roles put their own well-being aside in order to best serve students. Educators can only withstand a certain level of institutional, cultural, and individual oppression before they face burn-out and lose hope." - Joshua Moon Johnson "I live at the cross-roads of my identities. As a South Asian/Desi, Queer man from a working class, orthodox Hindu-Brahmin family and being the first in my family to complete undergraduate and graduate degrees, I often find myself in spaces where I do not quite fit in." - Raja Bhattar
Expanding the Circle by
Examines strategies and best practices that effectively integrate LGBTQ areas of teaching and research with student life activities.
Gender, Sexuality, and Peace Education by
This edited volume, authored by scholars, students, and activists, focuses on how peace educators at the collegiate level can more effectively address gender and sexuality. Chapters focus on the classroom and the campus at large, and emphasize the importance of interdisciplinary practice, thoughtful approaches that offer both challenges and safety, and solidarity and support. The volume includes entries on hot and important topics, including trigger warnings, using popular culture in the classroom, sex trafficking, campus sexual assault, and more. Contributors come from a variety of disciplinary areas, making the volume eclectic in nature. Further, most entries include student voices, providing much-needed agency for college youth. While the book does offer a critical perspective, importantly, chapters also offer hope and possibility.
Gender and Sexual Diversity in U. S. Higher Education: Contexts and Opportunities for LGBTQ College Students by
Since 2005, research on identity development, campus climate and policies, transgender issues, and institutional features such as type, leadership, and campus resources has broadened to encompass LGBTQ student engagement and success. This volume includes this enlarged body of research on LGBTQ students, taken in the context of widespread changes in public attitudes and public policies related to LGBTQ people, integrating scholarship and student affairs practice. Specific foci include: transgender identity development, understanding intersections of sexual orientation and gender identity with other salient identities such as faith/religion/spirituality, race, social class, and ability, and studies about LGBTQ students in special-mission institutions (for example, Historically Black Colleges and Universities, religiously affiliated institutions, or women's colleges). This is the 152nd volume of this Jossey-Bass higher education quarterly series. An indispensable resource for vice presidents of student affairs, deans of students, student counselors, and other student services professionals, New Directions for Student Services offers guidelines and programs for aiding students in their total development: emotional, social, physical, and intellectual.
LGBTQ Issues in Education-Advancing a Research Agenda by
LGBTQ Issues in Education examines the current state of the knowledge on LGBTQ issues in education and addresses future research directions. The editor and authors draw on existing literature, theories, and data as they synthesize key areas of research. Readers studying LGBTQ issues or working on adjacent topics will find the book to be an invaluable tool as it sets forth major findings and recommendations for additional research. Equally important, the book brings to light the importance of investing in research and data on a topic of critical educational and social significance.
Queering Classrooms by
Teacher Education programs have largely ignored the needs of LGBTIQ learners in their preparation of pre‐service teachers. At best in most of such programs, their needs are addressed in a single chapter in a book or as the topic of discussion in a single class discussion. However, is this minimal discussion enough? What kind of impact does this approach have on future teachers and their future learners? This book engages the reader in a dialogue about why teacher education must address LGBTIQ issues more openly and why teacher education programs should revise their curriculum to more fully integrate the needs of LGBTIQ learners throughout their curriculum, rather than treat such issues as a single, isolated topic in an insignificant manner. Through personal narratives, research, and conceptual chapters, this volume also examines the different ways in which queer youth are present or invisible in schools, the struggles they face, and how teachers can be better prepared to reach them as they should any student, and to make them more visible. The authors of this volume provide insight into the needs of future teachers with the aim of bringing about change in how teacher education programs address LGBTIQ needs to better equip those entering the field of teaching.
Queering Education in the Deep South by
"This volume explores education in the Deep South, with a focus on LGBTQ students and educators, and on queer theoretical perspectives in education. The topics in this volume include teaching LGBTQ issues and queer studies in the Deep South, educational policy and practice in the Deep South as related to queer issues, and efforts to introduce queer literature to libraries and queer collections to archives. Authors in this volume examine what realities exist in education in the U.S. South currently, and what possibilities might be imagined in the future" --
Queer People of Color in Higher Education by
Queer People of Color in Higher Education (QPOC) is a comprehensive work discussing the lived experiences of queer people of color on college campuses. This book will create conversations and provide resources to best support students, faculty, and staff of color who are people of color and identify as LGBTQ. The edited volume covers emerging issues that are affecting higher education around the country. Leading researchers and practitioners have remarkable writing that concisely summarizes current literature while also adding new ways to address issues of injustice related to racism, sexism, homophobia, heterosexism, and transphobia. QPOC in Higher Education insightfully combines research with practical implications on services, systems, campus climate and ways to hostility, violence, and unrest on campuses. This book rises out of places of turmoil and pain and brings attention to broken systems on higher education. QPOC in Higher Education is a must-read for anyone who wants to transform their society, campus, or community into places that fully value the complex and beautiful intersections that our diverse communities come from. This book takes diversity to a deeper level and speaks from a social justice philosophy of looking big pictures at our systems and cultures instead of simply at our oppressed groups as the problems.
| Library of Congress Subject Headings | Faceted Application of Subject Terminology |
|
Sexual minority college students United States. Homosexuality and education United States. Education, Higher Social aspects United States. Gays in higher education United States. Gay college students United States. Lesbian college students United States. |
