Research Guides: HONR 204A: Communication &amp; Health Disparities: Getting Started

Best Bets

CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
A collection of nearly 500 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books provides a good starting point for research.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports and analysis on political and social issues, each covering a single theme and providing solid background information, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each 13,000-word CQ Researcher report is a unique work, investigated and written by a seasoned journalist.

Before conducting in-depth research, it is important to gather information you have about your topic and consider what you still need to know. This can include key populations, dates, terminology, and names of persons/entities involved in the public health disparity you’re studying. Reference tools like dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference databases are useful for this preliminary research phase.

Encyclopedias

The Gale encyclopedia of public health by Brigham Narins
ISBN: 9780028666709
Publication Date: 2020
Alphabetically arranged encyclopedia provides coverage of important public health concerns. Topics include diseases and conditions, health and wellness efforts, nutrition, ethics and law related topics and statistics, sanitation issues, and everyday environmental effects.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Health by Jerome O. Nriagu (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780444639523
Publication Date: 2019-08-22
There is ongoing revolution in governance, policies and intervention strategies aimed at evolving changes in health disparities, disease burden, trans-boundary transport and health hazards. This new edition reflects these realities, mapping new directions in the field that include how to minimize threats and develop new scientific paradigms that address emerging local, national and global environmental concerns.
Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior by Norman B. Anderson
ISBN: 9781452265483
Publication Date: 2004-01-21
Topics of the alphabetically arranged entries were chosen for their relevance to theories and methods, biopsychosocial interactions and basic behavioral and social processes, epidemiology of risk and protective factors, health promotion and disease prevention, treatment and rehabilitation, and policy and organizational issues.

HONR 204A: Communication & Health Disparities

Identify a Health Disparity with CQ Researcher

Best Bets

Credo Reference