Research Guides: Health Informatics and Information Management : Finding Resources

Good Places to Get Started

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's gateway to MEDLINE, a National Library of Medicine bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,200 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete is a major research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature, with more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1982. The database provides full text for more than 1,300 nursing & allied health journals indexed in CINAHL.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including the Database of Systematic Reviews, the Database of Reviews of Effectiveness, and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.
Clinical Key This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine that supports clinical decisions by making it easier to find and apply relevant knowledge. The database contains over 1,100 medical reference books and over 600 e-journals, in addition to drug monographs, guidelines, and patient education materials.
UpToDate (Restricted to HSC campus only. No remote access) This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is a point-of-care tool that synthesizes knowledge for clinicians and patients. The resource covers more than 7,400 topics in 13 medical specialties and includes more than 76,000 pages of text, graphics, links to Medline abstracts, more than 254,000 references, and a drug database.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers a good starting point for research on nearly any topic, covering most areas of academic study and containing full text for 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Consumer Health Complete is a portal for consumer health care information. The database provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information. Consumers can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles. (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research, with full text accessible via WVU Library subscriptions. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Links to library electronic resources are available to WVU students and faculty.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Contains two million references and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in the field of psychology. Journal coverage, which spans from 1872 to the present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 35 languages. More than 60,000 records are added each year. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Examples of titles offered in PsycINFO include: Academic Medicine, Academic Psychiatry, Behavior Genetics, Behavioral Disorders, Journal of Abnormal Child Psychology, Journal of Applied Social Psychology, Journal of Behavioral Medicine, Journal of Psychiatry & Neuroscience, Journal of Psychology, Psychoanalytic Psychology, Psychological Assessment, Psychological Medicine, etc.
SafetyLit This link opens in a new window
SafetyLit is a free service of the Center for Injury Prevention Policy and Practice at San Diego State University, in collaboration with the World Health Organization. It is an injury prevention literature update and archive.

This database provides abstracts of reports from researchers who work in the more than 30 professional disciplines relevant to preventing unintentional injuries, violence, and self-harm. Among these are anthropology, economics, education, engineering specialties, ergonomics and human factors, health and medicine, law and law enforcement, psychology, sociology, and other fields.
The SafetyLit database contains current and backfile article abstracts from 6,285 active scholarly journals, and abstracts from the backfiles of 2,671 additional "inactive" journals.
The database contains article abstracts from 3,763 journals that are not included in PubMed/MEDLINE.

Statistical Abstracts of the U.S.
Provides comprehensive summary of statistics on these major topics: Population, Health, Education, Crime, Environment, Government, Human Services, Labor Force, Income, Prices, Business, Science, Agriculture, Energy, Construction, Manufacturing, Trade, Transportation, Information and Communication, Finance, and Arts. The source notes can be used to find more detailed tables and machine-readable datasets.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from high impact research journals from around the world.

Census Data
Demographic and economic datasets from surveys completed, compiled, and disseminated by the US census bureau.
City Health Dashboard
Created by the NYU Grossman School of Medicine Department of Population Health, City Health Dashboard provides multi-year data, visualizations, and accessible data through API that assess health and the drivers of health equity at the city level.
County Health Rankings & Roadmaps (CHR&R)
The CHR&R provides health data on counties within the U.S. Users can compare data of counties across the country or various counties within the same state.
DATA.GOV
Government repository that collects and disseminates data sets collected and disseminated by the government.
Dryad
An open data publishing platform and community.
Harvard Dataverse
Data repository hosted by Harvard University. Datasets covered from various disciplines including health sciences.
HealthData.gov
Data on topics relating to environmental health, medical devices, Medicare & Medicaid, social services, community and mental health, and substance abuse.
Keiser Family Foundation State Health Facts
Run by the Keiser Family Foundation, it is a project that provides more than 800 up-to-date health indicators at the state level can be mapped, ranked, and downloaded. It is free to use and kept up to date with health data for all 50 states and the District of Columbia.
MedlinePlus Health Statistics
Gives a basic overview of health statistics, related issues, and where to find various health data statistics on the web.
MIT Critical Data
Created and maintained by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Critical Data houses two open source health dataset sharing platforms.
National Environmental Public Health Tracking
Run by the CDC, this website provides information from a national network of integrated health and environmental data that drive actions to improve community health. The Tracking Program is run through a cooperative agreement with the CDC and state participation is optional.
National Neighborhood Data Archive (NaNDA)
NaNDA run by the University of Michigan Institute for Social Research, is a publicly available data archive containing measures of the physical, economic, demographic, and social environment at multiple levels of spatial scale (i.e. zip code area, county). Data dates back to 2000.
NIH-Supported Data Sharing Resources
List of repositories that are hosting research supported by NIH funding.
Open Science Framework
Open source platform promoting collaboration and data sharing. Explore data or store your own.
Qualitative Data Repository (QDR)
Qualitative and multi-method research datasets hosted by Syracuse University.
Rural Health Information Hub RHIhub
RBHhub, formerly known as the Rural Assistance Center is funded by the Federal Office of Rural Health Policy. The website provides data, information, and other resources on rural health populations.
Social Detriments of Health (SDOH)
Data and visualizations on SDOH conditions such as where people are born, live, learn, play, work, religious practices, and age that affect a wide range of health, functioning, and quality-of-life outcomes and risks. It is part of the Healthy People 2030 project within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion.
Social Explorer
Demographic research tools that allow for data analysis and mapping.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Summary of statistics from U.S. government agencies.
Google Dataset Search
Search engine for datasets. Using a simple keyword search, you can discover datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the web.

Helpful Journals

Health Information Managemen t Journal	Perspectives in Health Information Management
JAMIA and JAMIA Open	MIS Quarterly
AMIA Annual Symposium Proceedings Archive	Applied Clinical Informatics
BMC Medical Informatics Decision Making	European Journal of Information Systems
CIN: Computers Informatics Nursing	International Journal of Medical Informatics
Journal of Biomedical Informatics	Journal of Medical Systems

Utilize your Organizations!

AMIA: American Medical Informatics Association

Connect with peers through programs, webinars, conferences, and more

ACDIS: Association of clinical Documentation Integrity Specialists

Take advantage of different learning opportunities through forums, The ACDIS Podcast, and local chapter opportunities

HFMA: Healthcare Financial Management Association

Get information on managed care, upcoming trends, survey reports, and certifications beyond your degree

IMIA: International Medical Informatics Association

Resources for training and more outside US organizations