Research Guides: A Women and Gender Studies Library Guide: Library research

discover content by topic

explore gender databases

Explore gender studies databases

Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window Gender Studies Database combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues and the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Internet are available. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. Several hundred links provide access to carefully selected and important websites. This database includes more than 921,000 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to the present
LGBT Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window LGBT Life provides indexing and abstracts for hundreds of scholarly and popular lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender publications, plus historically important primary sources, including books, magazines and newspapers.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research, with full text accessible via WVU Library subscriptions. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Links to library electronic resources are available to WVU students and faculty.

statistics and other quantitative data

Statista This link opens in a new window Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
West Virginia State Data Center/Business and Industry Data Center This link opens in a new window Thirty-one public agencies work together through a cooperative agreement with the U.S. Bureau of the Census to facilitate use and delivery of Census and other data to the public. Data is narrowed to West Virginia geographic areas.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window In-depth reports and analysis on political and social issues, each covering a single theme and providing solid background information, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each 13,000-word CQ Researcher report is a unique work, investigated and written by a seasoned journalist.
Roper iPoll This link opens in a new window Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.

other useful databases

Explore other useful databases

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research, with full text accessible via WVU Library subscriptions. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Links to library electronic resources are available to WVU students and faculty.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, primary sources, and high-quality images. It has an archive of more than 1,000 scholarly, interdisciplinary journals, with full coverage for all but the most current 3-5 years. Images are contributed by universities, museums, and community and private collections. JSTOR is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Offers a good starting point for research on nearly any topic, covering most areas of academic study and containing full text for 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals.
America History and Life This link opens in a new window Covers North American (US and Canadian) history from prehistory to the present, providing references to journal articles, books, dissertations and reviews. America: History and Life covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide, including all key English-language historical journals and selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Contains two million references and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in the field of psychology. Journal coverage, which spans from 1872 to the present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 35 languages. More than 60,000 records are added each year. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Examples of titles offered in PsycINFO include: Academic Medicine, Academic Psychiatry, Behavior Genetics, Behavioral Disorders, Journal of Abnormal Child Psychology, Journal of Applied Social Psychology, Journal of Behavioral Medicine, Journal of Psychiatry & Neuroscience, Journal of Psychology, Psychoanalytic Psychology, Psychological Assessment, Psychological Medicine, etc.
Art Abstracts This link opens in a new window Art Abstracts provides indexing and abstracts for 378 international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. This database covers a broad range of art topics such as advertising, archaeology, crafts, folk art, graphic arts, interior design, video, film, architecture and art history. Coverage for this database spans from 1984 to the present. Examples of publications indexed in Art Abstracts include: American Art, American Artist, Archaeology, Ceramics Monthly, Creative Review, Entertainment Design, Journal of Popular Film and Television, etc. Covers publications in many languages. Subject areas include art history, interior design, performance art, textiles, photography, graphics, architecture, and folk art.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window Communication Source is the most comprehensive resource on the market for communication research. Communication Source was developed from a merger of high-quality EBSCO databases, Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts (formerly published by Sage), and includes many unique sources not previously available in other databases. Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window Includes approximately 150,000 pages of women's letters and diaries from Colonial times to 1950, including 7,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts. The material is drawn from more than 1,000 sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings
PAIS International This link opens in a new window References to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window Project MUSE provides searchable, full text access to hundreds of academic journals and books. It covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
Public Health Database This link opens in a new window ProQuest Public Health is designed to be the starting point for public health information and research. It delivers core public health literature with centralized access to over 800 publications with over 500 in full-text and covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences and biological sciences to business.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.

news, newspapers, and fact checking

Newspapers

Access World News Research Collection (formerly America's News) This link opens in a new window This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface. Includes 26 resources from West Virginia.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers - Black Newspapers This link opens in a new window ProQuest Historical Newspapers-Black Newspapers includes 9 newspapers and offers primary source material for the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts. Newspapers included are: Chicago Defender, The Baltimore Afro-American, New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, Los Angeles Sentinel, Atlanta Daily World, The Norfolk Journal and Guide, The Philadelphia Tribune, and Cleveland Call and Post.
ProQuest International Newsstream This link opens in a new window International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. ProQuest International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
West Virginia Newspapers from Newsbank (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot) This link opens in a new window Includes the Dominion Post (Morgantown), Charleston Gazette, Charleston Daily Mail, Herald Dispatch (Huntington). Provided by the West Virginia Library Commission with funds from the WV State Legislature and the Library Services and Technology Act administered by the Institute of Library and Museum Services.

News databases
Many options to explore by geographic location and time period

archives and other primary sources

LGBTQ+, feminists, and women's rights archives and primary resources rich resources sharing narratives, voices, stories, and images to preserve history
Library of Congress Primary Sources The LoC's digital collections include photographs, prints, A/V, newspapers, and more.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window Includes approximately 150,000 pages of women's letters and diaries from Colonial times to 1950, including 7,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts. The material is drawn from more than 1,000 sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings

browse journals

Browse journals in these areas

where things live

Library materials are nested in containers

print materials are contained in shelves
shelves are contained in buildings

A Women and Gender Studies Library Guide

discover content by topic

EBSCO Discovery | Search articles, books, journals & more

explore gender databases

Explore gender studies databases

statistics and other quantitative data

other useful databases

Explore other useful databases

news, newspapers, and fact checking

Newspapers

Recommended news agencies online

archives and other primary sources

browse journals

Browse journals in these areas

browse streaming media

Browse films in these categories

where things live

Library materials are nested in containers

illustration of the arrangement of electronic formats and records of printed materials in library containers

Map showing location of books about gender and sexuality in the Downtown Library