Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases of Note
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
This is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years.
To use the invisible web to get to feminist scholarship, in part you need licensed databases. The links below will take you to a description of the contents and scope of the database so you can see how far back they go and what they cover. From there click on Connect to the Database and check it out. There's more than scholarship included several of them. Grassroots publications are important in Women's Studies inquiry and research too. Here are the databases I recommend for starters:
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Gender Studies Database combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues and the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Internet are available. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. Several hundred links provide access to carefully selected and important websites. This database includes more than 921,000 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to the present
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides searchable, full text access to hundreds of academic journals and books. It covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Special Issues of Periodicals
Meta Sites for Women's Studies
There are two amazing women creating accessibility to feminist information of all kinds by managing meta-websites to support women's studies. One is a librarian at the University of Wisconsin and the other is a retired faculty member from the University of Maryland Baltimore. I reccommend that you keep your eye on the work of both women by visiting these sites to see all that they offer. You won't be sorry. Feminist theory is one of many, many issues they highlight for researchers.
Phyllis Holman Weisbard http://womenst.library.wisc.edu/
Dr. Joan Korenman http://userpages.umbc.edu/~korenman/wmst/links.html
In the 2008 Horizon Report, there is an excellent introduction to data mash-ups and the article lists many interesting examples.
Experimenting with Search Engines
Feminist theory as a phrase can of course be Googled. Some interesting sites for browsing do come up. But sometimes other search engines can be helpful too. http://Yippy.com for example.Yippy sorts search results on the left side into groupings of a subject such as books, blogs, radical feminists, and gender politics to name a few.By clicking on these you cann look around at focussed results and this can sometimes provide helpful options.
Site of Special Note
Deveoped by reference librarian Kelly Diamond of the WVUL Downtown Campus Libraries, this site leads to many relevant information sources on sexuality and gender studies.