Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for Course Readings
Magazine Articles: Primary Sources
Get historical magazine articles.
APS Online contains full digital images of over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years-from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War II (1940).
Accessible Archives also offers primary source material from 18th and 19th century periodicals.
Newspaper Articles: Primary Sources
Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles
Get peer-reviewed journal articles
MLA International Bibliography and other databases relevant to your research: Academic Search Complete and America: History and Life
ProjectMuse has full-text scholarly articles from many journals in the humanities
JSTOR has full-text scholarly articles from journals in many disciplines.
Other Sources for Primary Documents
Search other databases for primary sources, magazine and newspaper articles sources.
- Civil War: Antebellum to Reconstruction, 1843-1877
Primary source documents for research into the American Civil War - provides access to more than 150 newspapers
- Oxford African American Studies Center (NOTE Five Users at a Time)
A collection of scholarship, including 8,000 articles and primary source documents, focusing on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.