Krause's Food and the Nutrition Care Process
A trusted classic for over 50 years, Krause''s Food and the Nutrition Care Process, 14th Edition presents the most cutting-edge and up-to-date dietetics content available in this ever-changing field. Nicknamed the "nutrition bible", students and practitioners alike turn to its current, comprehensive content, engaging pedagogy and design, and logical presentation of information. This new edition includes the 2015 Dietary Guidelines for Americans, more visuals, and highlighted Clinical Case Studies, Clinical Insights, and Clinical Applications boxes that help translate scientific knowledge into practical patient care. Written by nearly 50 nationally recognized writers, researchers, and practitioners, it covers nutrition assessment and intervention, the nutritional needs of individuals in different stages of the life cycle, nutrition for health and fitness, and medical nutrition therapy. Authored by clinical specialists, ensuring in-depth coverage with many practical and evidence-based recommendations. Sample Nutrition Diagnosis boxes present a problem, its etiology, and its signs and symptoms before concluding with a sample nutrition diagnosis, providing both students and practitioners with real-life scenarios they may encounter in practice. UNIQUE! Pathophysiology algorithms present the cause, pathophysiology, and medical nutrition management for a variety of disorders and conditions to help you provide optimal nutritional care. Chapters on nutrition in each of the life cycle phases, include: Nutrition in Pregnancy and Lactation Nutrition in Infancy Nutrition in Childhood Nutrition in Adolescence Nutrition in the Adult Years Nutrition in Aging Focus On boxes provide thought-provoking information on key concepts for well-rounded study and further discussion within the classroom. New Directions boxes point you toward additional research on emerging areas in nutrition therapy. Clinical Insight boxes expand on clinical information, highlight areas that may go unnoticed, and contain clinical resources for students and practitioners. Chapters on the nutritional care of the low-birth-weight and premature infant feature information on how to support their health, growth, and development. Useful websites direct you to online resources that relate to chapter topics. Key terms are defined at the beginning of each chapter and bolded within the text where they are discussed in more detail. NEW! The most up-to-date content throughout, including the 2015 Dietary Guidelines for Americans. NEW! Worksheets on how to calculate parenteral and enteral nutrition needs added to Chapter 14: Food and Nutrient Delivery: Nutrition Support Methods. NEW! Clinical Case Studies and Clinical Applications boxes help translate academic knowledge into practical patient care. NEW! The latest recommendations from the National Institutes of Health are discussed in Chapter 33: MNT for Cardiovascular Disease. NEW! Standards of Care recommendations incorporated throughout the book. NEW! Inflammation and the Pathophysiology of Chronic Disease chapter cross-references to diseases with inflammation in the MNT chapters. NEW! More visuals added to Chapter 6, Clinical: Water, Electrolytes, and Acid-Base Balance, to help convey key concepts. NEW! Nutrition and the Affordable Care Act, Human Milk Banking, and Vending Machine Labeling Law boxes highlight the latest information on these hot topics. NEW! The Anti-inflammatory Diet appendix details the disease-fighting potential of anti-inflammatory foods. EXPANDED! MNT for Psychiatric Conditions chapter includes the most up-to-date material on Parkinson''s disease and Alzheimer''s disease.
Nutrition and Diagnosis-Related Care
Prepare your students for effective practice with Nutrition and Diagnosis-Related Care, 8e. Written by well-known author and nutritionist Sylvia Escott-Stump, this best-selling book provides "need to know," condition-specific, evidence-based medical nutrition therapy information for more than 360 diseases and disorders in a unique monograph-style format that makes information easy to find. Revised and updated throughout, the Eighth Edition features new information on the treatment of inflammation through nutrition therapy; new and updated coverage of autism and neurodegenerative and neuropsychiatric disorders; timely information for the dietician working in a collaborative, interdisciplinary care setting.
Nutrition in the Prevention and Treatment of Disease
Medical Nutrition & Disease by The print books can be checked out from the Health Sciences Library.
If you have trouble with the links for the e-books, try this method instead:
Braunwald's heart disease : a textbook of cardiovascular medicine
Brenner & Rector's The Kidney
Cardiology Secrets by
For more than 30 years, The Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Cardiology Secrets, 5th Edition, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, and an easy-to-read style - making reference and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - concise, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective - now with an improved organization that makes information even easier than ever to find. Written by global experts and thought leaders in cardiovascular disease. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. New dedicated sections on peripheral vascular and cerebrovascular disease, venous thromboembolic disease, and specific populations and conditions, plus a dedicated chapter on new direct oral anticoagulant agents. New chapters added on hypercoagulability states, specific valvular lesions, sleep apnea and the heart, heart disease in women, cardio-oncology, cardiac arrest, transcatheter aortic valve replacement (TAVR), carotid artery disease, and hemorrhagic stroke. Several hundred illustrations, figures, and flow diagrams - 100+ are new! Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Critical Care Medicine by
Now completely revised to bring you up to date with the latest advances in the field, Critical Care Medicine: Principles of Diagnosis and Management in the Adult, 5th Edition, delivers expert, practical guidance on virtually any clinical scenario you may encounter in the ICU. Designed for intensivists, critical care and pulmonology residents, fellows, practicing physicians, and nurse practitioners, this highly regarded text is clinically focused and easy to reference. Led by Drs. Joseph Parrillo and Phillip Dellinger, the 5th Edition introduces numerous new authors who lend a fresh perspective and contribute their expertise to that of hundreds of top authorities in the field. Includes new chapters on current applications of bedside ultrasound in the ICU, both diagnostic and procedural; mechanical assist devices; and extra-corporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO). Contains new administrative chapters that provide important information on performance improvement and quality, length of stay, operations, working with the Joint Commission, and more. Features new videos and images that provide visual guidance and clarify complex topics. Keeps you up to date with expanded chapters on echocardiography in the ICU and valvular heart disease, including TAVR. Includes separate chapters on mechanical ventilation of obstructive airway disease and acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS) - including the many recent changes in approach to positive end expiratory pressure setting in ARDS. Covers key topics such as patient-ventilator synchrony and non-invasive ventilation for treating chronic obstructive pulmonary disease patients with acute respiratory failure. Reflects the recent literature and guidance on amount of fluids, type of fluid, vasopressor selection, mean arterial pressure target, and decision on steroid use in septic shock. Provides questions and answers in every chapter, perfect for self-assessment and review. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Endocrine Secrets
GI/Liver Secrets Plus
Harriet Lane Handbook: a manual for pediatric house officers by 
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine
Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics
Nephrology Secrets
Pediatric Secrets
Sleisenger and Fordtran's Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease
Williams Textbook of Endocrinology by
Expertly bridging the gap between basic science and clinical information, Williams Textbook of Endocrinology, 14th Edition, brings together an outstanding collection of world-renowned authors to provide authoritative discussions of the full spectrum of adult and pediatric endocrine system disorders. New chapters and significant revisions throughout keep you up to date with recent advances in medications, therapies, clinical trials, and more. This essential reference is a must-have resource for endocrinologists, endocrine surgeons, gynecologists, internists, pediatricians, and other clinicians who need current, comprehensive coverage of this multifaceted field. Up to date with recent advances in medications, therapies, and clinical trials. Provides state-of-the-art coverage of diabetes, metabolic syndrome, metabolic bones disorders, obesity, thyroid disease, testicular disorders, newly defined adrenal disorders and much more - all designed to help you provide optimal care to every patient. Contains new chapters on Global Burden of Endocrine Disease, Navigation of Endocrine Guidelines, and Transgender Endocrinology. Includes significant updates to the Diabetes section, including a new chapter on Physiology of Insulin Secretion and greater coverage of Type 2 Diabetes. Presents current information in a highly illustrated, user-friendly format for quick reference. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
