Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Literacy and Reading Websites
International Literacy Association
Founded as the International Reading Association (IRA), the International Literacy Association (ILA) has worked to enhance literacy instuction through research and professional development for more than 60 years.
Literacy Research Association
The Literacy Research Association is a non-profit professional organization, comprised of individuals who share an interest in advancing literacy theory, research, and practice. We are a community that engages in research and dialogue pertaining to literacy and related topics. We support the professional development of emerging and established scholars. We advocate research-informed improvements in education. We seek engagement with high-quality research and discussions of important theoretical, methodological, practice and policy issues.
Association of Literacy Educators and Researchers
Goals of the Association of Literacy Educators and Researchers:
To stimulate the self-development and professional growth of teachers and reading specialists at all educational levels.
To encourage the continuing improvement of college and university curricula and encourage preparation programs for teachers and reading specialists.
To encourage the continuing improvement of administrative, clinical, diagnostic, and instructional practices related to the learning process
Welcome to Evansdale Library
Literacy and Reading Quick Search
Browzine Web allows your to browze WVU online journals by subject, or look up your favorite title. BrowZine can also help you create a personal virtual bookshelf of favorite journals.
Literacy and Reading Journals
Journal of Research in Reading
Journal of Research in Reading is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal published by Wiley-Blackwell on behalf of the UKLA. The journal was established in 1978. The Journal of Research in Reading publishes papers on topics such as the history and development of literacy, policy and strategy for literacy, and the learning, teaching and use of literacy in different contexts. This research encompasses fields such as anthropology, cultural studies, education, language and linguistics and philosophy among others.
The Reading Teacher is a peer-reviewed academic journal published six times per year by Wiley-Blackwell. The Reading Teacher is one of three journals published on behalf of the International Literacy Association. It covers practical teaching ideas, research, and professional development for teachers of children up to age 12.
Literacy Research and Instruction
Literacy Research and Instruction is an international refereed professional journal that publishes articles addressing research and instruction in reading education and allied literacy fields.
Handbook of Research on Reading Comprehension, Second Edition by
Publication Date: 2016-12-30
This esteemed reference work and professional resource, now substantially revised, integrates classic and cutting-edge research on how children and adolescents make meaning from text. The comprehension tasks and challenges facing students at different grade levels are explored, with attention to multiple text types and reading purposes.
Handbook of Writing Research, Second Edition by
Publication Date: 2015-10-12
The definitive reference in the field, this volume synthesizes current knowledge on writing development and instruction at all grade levels. Prominent scholars examine numerous facets of writing from sociocultural, cognitive, linguistic, neuroscience, and new literacy/technological perspectives. The volume reviews the evidence base for widely used instructional approaches, including those targeting particular components of writing. Issues in teaching specific populations--including students with disabilities and English learners--are addressed. Innovative research methods and analytic tools are clearly explained, and key directions for future investigation identified.
Handbook of Research on Literacy and Diversity by
Publication Date: 2009-04-14
This is the first research handbook to address all dimensions of diversity that have an impact on literacy achievement. Leading experts examine how teaching and learning intersect with cultural and language differences and socioeconomic disparities in today's increasingly diverse schools and communities. The volume weaves compelling research findings together with theory, policy considerations, and discussions of exemplary instructional practices. It offers fresh perspectives on such topics as family literacy, multiliteracies, drawing on cultural resources in the classroom, factors that promote success in high-poverty schools, equity issues, and ways to teach specific literacy skills. The concluding section provides crucial recommendations for teacher preparation and professional development.
Research Design by
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2017-04-07
This user-friendly book provides a step-by-step guide to using the five major approaches to research design: quantitative, qualitative, mixed methods, arts-based, and community-based participatory research. Chapters on each approach follow a unique format--they present a template for a research proposal and explain in detail how to conceptualize and fill in every section. Terminology commonly used within each approach is identified, and key moments of ethical decision making are flagged. Interdisciplinary research examples draw on current events and social justice topics. Unique coverage includes hot topics: replication studies and data sharing, tailoring proposals to different audiences, and more. The book also includes a general introduction to social research; an in-depth, practical discussion of ethics; and a chapter on how to begin a research study, from planning a topic to developing a research question via a literature review. Pedagogical Features *Multiple "Review Stops" in each chapter--quick quizzes with answer keys. *End-of-chapter writing exercises, research activities, and suggested resources. *Bold-face key terms and an end-of-book glossary. *Boxed tips from experts in the respective approaches. *Supplemental PowerPoint slides for instructors using the book in a class. Winner (Third Place)--American Journal of Nursing Book of the Year Award, Nursing Research Category
Handbook of Reading Research, Volume III by
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2014-04-08
In Volume III, as in Volumes I and II, the classic topics of reading are included--from vocabulary and comprehension to reading instruction in the classroom--and, in addition, each contributor was asked to include a brief history that chronicles the legacies within each of the volume's many topics. However, on the whole, Volume III is not about tradition. Rather, it explores the verges of reading research between the time Volume II was published in 1991 and the research conducted after this date. The editors identified two broad themes as representing the myriad of verges that have emerged since Volumes I and II were published: (1) broadening the definition of reading, and (2) broadening the reading research program. The particulars of these new themes and topics are addressed.
Literacy and Reading Websites
Reading Hall of Fame
The Reading Hall of Fame was established in 1973. Its purpose is to contribute, from the collective experiences of its members, to further improvement in reading instruction in such ways as the following:
- presenting co-sponsored meetings at the annual meetings of related organizations;
- disseminating the information from the papers presented in such meetings through ERIC and/or publications of related organizations;
indicating needed research, and trends of the past that hold promise for the future;
- facing current issues in reading, and discussing them in open forum suggesting possible solutions.
National Council of Teachers of English
The National Council of Teachers of English is devoted to improving the teaching and learning of English and the language arts at all levels of education.