Research Guides: WGST 449: Women's Movements Since 1960: Finding Primary Sources

Primary Sources

Eight Centuries This link opens in a new window
Eight Centuries is a comprehensive database aggregating vast scholarly indexes to journals, newspapers, books, documents, artwork, and images. This growing database contains 27,408,426 discrete links to primary source historical documents.

AM Explorer This link opens in a new window
AM Explorer contains hundreds of thousands of primary source documents from 88 unique collections. Themes include area studies, cultural studies, empire and globalism, ethnic studies, gender and sexuality, history, politics, literature, theatre, war and conflict. Content ranges from medieval times to the present.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Discover primary sources from 7 digital archive collections including Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, the Times Digital Archive and 19th Century British Newspapers. Special tools for analysis include term frequency and term cluster.
LGBT Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
LGBT Life provides indexing and abstracts for hundreds of scholarly and popular lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender publications, plus historically important primary sources, including books, magazines and newspapers.

Digital Transgender Archive
The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. The DTA uses the term transgender to refer to a broad and inclusive range of non-normative gender practices
Internet Women's History Sourcebook
This sourcebook attempts to present online documents and secondary discussions which reflect the various ways of looking at the history of women within broadly defined historical periods and areas.
Lesbian Herstory Archives Digital Collections
The Lesbian Herstory Archives exists to gather, preserve and provide access to records of Lesbian lives and activities.
Library of Congress Women's History Collections
Digitized materials from the Library of Congress related to various aspects of women's history (mostly US).
Women's Liberation Movement Print Culture
Manifestos, speeches, essays, and other materials documenting various aspects of the Women's Movement in the United States in the 1960s and 1970s.