COUN 485 Research Guide: Home

AccessPharmacy is a comprehensive online resource for pharmacy education. It includes several full-text books, case studies, interactive questions and answers, and functional calculators, as well as news relevant to the field of Pharmacy.

CINAHL Complete is a major research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature, with more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1982. The database provides full text for more than 1,300 nursing & allied health journals indexed in CINAHL.

A collection of nearly 500 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books provides a good starting point for research.

Education Source is a full-text research database designed for education students, professionals and policymakers. It provides full text, indexing and abstracts for thousands of education journals, books and education-related conference papers. Coverage spans all levels of education and includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.

Scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research, with full text accessible via WVU Library subscriptions. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Links to library electronic resources are available to WVU students and faculty.

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Included are citations from Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, PREMEDLINE, AIDSLINE, BIOETHICSLINE, and HealthSTAR.

Full text articles covering general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research. The database contains more than 34,000 searchable full text articles from 43 journals published by the American Psychological Association and 8 from allied organizations. It contains all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each of the 51 journals. Examples of titles offered in PsycARTICLES include: American Psychologist, Behavioral Neuroscience, Canadian Psychology, Developmental Psychology, Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, Psychoanalytic Psychology, Psychotherapy: Theory/Research/Practice/Training, etc. Coverage spans from 1987 to the present.

Contains two million references and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in the field of psychology. Journal coverage, which spans from 1872 to the present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 35 languages. More than 60,000 records are added each year. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Examples of titles offered in PsycINFO include: Academic Medicine, Academic Psychiatry, Behavior Genetics, Behavioral Disorders, Journal of Abnormal Child Psychology, Journal of Applied Social Psychology, Journal of Behavioral Medicine, Journal of Psychiatry & Neuroscience, Journal of Psychology, Psychoanalytic Psychology, Psychological Assessment, Psychological Medicine, etc.

Provides indexing for current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from high impact research journals from around the world.

Counseling and Therapy in Video is a multi-part online collection that addresses this need by providing more than 1,000 hours of training videos, reenactments, and footage of actual therapy sessions. These recorded counseling sessions, conducted by practitioners worldwide, provide an opportunity to view expert therapists at work and learn intricacies of behavior, tone, facial expression, and body language that define successful counseling experiences.

Kanopy Streaming Video provides access to more than 8,500 videos from major educational film distributors and covers diverse subject areas including early film, humanities, arts, media, and business. Kanopy does not support older versions of Internet Explorer.