History Research Guide

37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides provide primary source documents on nearly every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft.

138,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800, digitized and fully searchable. ECCO includes every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.

A wide range of resources for genealogical and historical research, including United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more.

Historical documents collections, most never before available before on the Internet, relating to the Revolutionary War, Civil War, WWI, WWII, U S Presidents, historical newspapers and naturalization documents.

The Libraries' subscription ended on 07/31/2023. For assistance in identifying an alternative resource(s), please email researchservices@mail.wvu.edu.

The Libraries' subscription ended on July 1, 2023. For assistance in identifying an alternative resource(s), please email researchservices@mail.wvu.edu. .

Original documents, primary source material, essays, and biographical information related to empire studies, with an emphasis on the British Empire.

Primary source material from 18th and 19th century periodicals, particularly useful for civil war and genealogical research. Includes: Godey`s Lady`s Book, The Pennsylvania Gazette, The Charleston Mercury, The New York Herald, Richmond Enquirer, 19th Century African American Newspapers, The 19th Century American County Histories to 1900, The Pennsylvania Newspaper Record: Delaware County, The Industrial Revolution in Delaware County /w Vital Statistics, The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue: Chester County.

APS Online contains full digital images of over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years-from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War II.

Digital images of 500 periodicals, published from the 1680s to the 1930s, tracing the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through to the Victorian 'age of periodicals.'

A complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2003. New full-colour images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic of each week - all combine to offer a primary source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries.

The Libraries' subscription ended on July 1, 2023. We suggest Harper's Weekly (partial serials index), an open access index of historical Harper’s Weekly, courtesy of the Penn Libraries at the University of Pennsylvania, as an alternative resource. This serial archive offers partial digital access to persistent holdings of complete issues of Harper's Weekly, an important 19th century political and social magazine, published from 1858-1870.
For additional assistance in identifying an alternative resource(s), please email researchservices@mail.wvu.edu.

Historic reports, documents and journals of the US Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes. Digitization is on-going. When complete, coverage will extend through 1980.