History 200: Practicing History - African Environmental History

For the abstract and more information about these collections, follow the link to the collection finding aid. Search for additional collections in the Center's Guide to Archives and Manuscripts. 

A&M 3424, Bonnie McKeown, Activist. Papers

• Inclusive dates: 1979-2000
• Extent: 7 ft. 6 in. (six record cartons, one oversize folder

A&M 3223, Linda Cooper, Environmentalist. Canaan Valley Papers

• Inclusive dates: 1945-1995
• Extent: 27 ft. 11 in. (22 records cartons, 15 in.; 1 document case, 5 in.)

A&M 3623, Linda Cooper, Environmentalist. Records of Citizens for Responsible Wind Power

• Inclusive dates: 1999-2008 Bulk dates: 1999-2008
• Extent: 10 ft. 9 in. (9 record cartons)

A&M 1164, Ken Hechler. Interview Transcript (Political advocacy)

• Inclusive dates: 1985
• Extent: 1 in.

A&M 2425, Richards C. Austin, Compiler. Research Papers (Environmental Theology)

• Inclusive dates: 1967-68
• Extent: 1 folder

A&M 2334, Dale Hagedorn, Compiler (Union Carbide)

• Inclusive dates: ca. 1968-1971
• Extent: 1 folder

A&M 3653, West Virginia Highlands Conservancy. David Elkinton Research Papers

• Inclusive dates: 1969-2007
• Extent: 5 ft. (4 records cartons, 15 in. each)

A&M 3646, Milton Cohen Papers (Multi-issue activist)

• Inclusive dates: 1946-2006 Bulk dates: 1946-2000
• Extent: 10 ft. 3 in. (10 records cartons, 1 flat storage box)

A&M 3163, Daniel Hale, Physician and Conservationist. Papers

• Inclusive dates: 1953-1975
• Extent: 2 ft. 1 in. (5 document cases, 5 in. each)

A&M 3162, Maurice Brooks, Biology Professor. Papers (Conservation; Birds)

• Inclusive dates: 1922-1973
• Extent: 2 ft. 4 in. (5 document cases, 5 in. each); (1 small flat storage box, 3 in.)

For the abstract and more information about these collections, follow the link to the collection finding aid. Search for additional collections in the Center's Guide to Archives and Manuscripts. 

A&M 2618, Peoples Appalachian Research Collective. Papers regarding Strip Mining

• Inclusive dates: 1968-1973
• Extent: 10 in. (2 document cases, 5 in. each)

A&M 3072, Soil Conservation Society of America, West Virginia Chapter. Records

• Inclusive dates: 1946-1965
• Extent: 7 1/2 in. (1 document case, 5 in.); (1 document case, 2 1/2 in.)

A&M 2781, Canaan Valley Alliance. Records

• Inclusive dates: 1979-1984
• Extent: 2 ft. 4 in. (4 document cases, 5 in. each); (1 large flat storage box, 3 in. each); (1 large flat storage box, 5 in.)

A&M 2883 West Virginia Student Public Interest Research Group (WV-SPIRG). Records

• Inclusive dates: 1972-1974 and undated
• Extent: 1/2 in. (1 folder)

A&M 3282, West Virginia Highlands Conservancy. Records

• Inclusive dates: 1967-1996
• Extent: 8 ft. 9 in. (7 records cartons, 15 in. each)

A&M 3923, West Virginia Highlands Conservancy. Legal Records Regarding Otter Creek Drainage Case

• Inclusive dates: ca. 1969-1971
• Extent: 1 ft. 8 in. (1 record carton, 15 in.); (1 document case, 5 in.)

A&M 3965, Monongalia County GreenSpace Coalition. Records

• Inclusive dates: ca. 1990-2005
• Extent: 6 ft. (6 cartons; poster boards)

A&M 3701, National Audubon Society. Mountaineer Chapter. Records

• Inclusive dates: 1970-2013
• Extent: 2 ft. 6 in. (2 record cartons, 15 in. ea.)

A&M 3854, West Virginians for a Non-Nuclear Future. Records

• Inclusive dates: 1979
• Extent: 1/2 in. (2 folders)

For the abstract and more information about these collections, follow the link to the collection finding aid. Search for additional collections in the Center's Guide to Archives and Manuscripts. 

A&M 3320, Kanwaha Valley. Chemical Industry. Publications and Videos

• Inclusive dates: 1979-1994
• Extent: 1 ft. 3 in. (1 records carton, 15 in.)

A&M 1822, Carbide and Carbon Chemicals Corporation. Scrapbooks

• Inclusive dates: 1907-1943
• Extent: 1 reel of microfilm (5 vols.)

A&M 2380, International Association of Machinists, Local 598. Papers

• Inclusive dates: 1965-1975
• Extent: 10 in. (2 document cases, 5 in. each)

A&M 2690, Ohio River Data. Scrapbook

• Inclusive dates: 1945-1960
• Extent: 1/2 in. (1 unboxed scrapbook, 1/2 in.); 1 reel of microfilm

A&M 3684, Sulfur Dioxide Emission Regulation in West Virginia. Position Statements and Testimony

• Inclusive dates: 1977
• Extent: 1/4 in. (1 folder)

A&M 2328, Stickle, Paul W. Logging in the Mountains of West Virginia

• Inclusive dates: ca. 1923
• Extent: 1 in.

A&M 414 Rauch, Henry, Geology Professor. West Virginia Surface Mine Board Case Files

• Inclusive dates: 1979-2008
• Extent: 56 ft. 3 in. (45 record cartons, 15 in. each)

The WVRHC holds numerous records of coal companies. If you are interested in a specific company or disaster, search for their Archives & Manuscripts in the Center’s Guide to Archives and Manuscripts. 

Remember that state agency reports such as the West Virginia Department of Mines as well as transcripts of legislative hearings like those of the Buffalo Creek flood are primary sources that are located among the Center's book collection.  Find them by searching the library catalog.