Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach by
The most comprehensive text available on the use of evidence-based medication therapies for optimal patient outcomes.
Drug Information a Guide for Pharmacists 6/e by
The guide pharmacists and students turn to first for cutting-edge coverage of drug information The goal of Drug Information: A Guide for Pharmacists, Sixth Edition is to teach students and practitioners how to effectively research, interpret, evaluate, collate, and disseminate drug information in the most efficient and effective manner possible. Updated to reflect the realities of today's practice, the book also addresses important issues such as the legal and ethical considerations of providing drug information. Drug Information: A Guide for Pharmacists begins by introducing the concept of drug information, including its history, and provides details on the various places drug information specialists may find employment. This is followed by information on how to answer a question, from the process of gathering necessary background information through determining the actual informational need, to answering the question. The chapter on drug information resources includes descriptions of the most commonly used references and contains new information on apps available to practitioners. As with past editions, practical examples are also provided. The Sixth Edition has been updated throughout, with chapters from previous editions rearranged to make the subject flow better. This edition is also enhanced by the addition of new chapters on journal clubs and counterfeit drugs/drug shortages. In addition, coverage of Policy Development, Project Design and Implementation has been greatly expanded.
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology 14E by
The most up-to-date, comprehensive, and authoritative pharmacology text in health medicine--enhanced by a new full-color illustrations Organized to reflect the syllabi in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, Fourteenth Edition covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. Selection of the subject matter and order of its presentation are based on the authors' many years' experience in teaching this material to thousands of medical, pharmacy, dental, podiatry, nursing, and other health science students. To be as clinically relevant as possible, the book includes sections that specifically address the clinical choice and use of drugs in patients and the monitoring of their effects, and case studies that introduce clinical problems in many chapters. Presented in full color and enhanced by more than three hundred illustrations (many new to this edition), Basic & Clinical Pharmacology features numerous summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information. * Student-acclaimed summary tables conclude each chapter * Everything students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice * Strong emphasis on drug groups and prototypes * NEW! 100 new drug tables * Includes 330 full-color illustrations, case studies, and chapter-ending summary tables * Organized to reflect the syllabi of pharmacology courses * Descriptions of important new drugs
Casarett and Doull's Toxicology: the Basic Science of Poisons, Eighth Edition by
The most complete, trusted reference text covering the full span of medical toxicology "NOW IN FULL COLOR " A Doody's Core Title ESSENTIAL PURCHASE "This reference stands alone as the basic text in the field of toxicology. This authoritative reference is written by many distinguished professionals in the field, and offers clear, concise descriptions of the key concepts in toxicology. It is extensive and complete, covering a broad range of topics in sufficient detail. Both as a reference and as an educational tool, this book exceeds its goal of serving as a reference for toxicologists, other scientists, and students of the discipline. 3 Stars."--"Doody's Review Service" (reviewing prior edition) Long established as the gold standard in the field, "Casarett & Doull's Toxicology" equips you with an unsurpassed understanding of modern toxicology, including the principles, concepts, mechanisms, and modes of thought that are the foundation of the discipline. The new seventh edition features is updated throughout and includes many new contributors and new content on chemical terrorism.
Clinical Pharmacology by
A thorough knowledge of pharmacological and therapeutic principles is vital if drugs are to be used safely and effectively for increasingly informed patients. Those who clearly understand how drugs get into the body, how they produce their effects, what happens to them in the body, and how evidence of their therapeutic effect is assessed, will choose drugs more skilfully, and use them more safely and successfully than those who do not. Now in a fully revised 11th edition, Clinical Pharmacology is essential reading for undergraduate medical students, junior doctors and anyone concerned with evidence-based drug therapy. Introductory first three sections cover general principles of clinical pharmacology; five subsequent sections cover drug treatment of disease, organised by body system Retains the highly approachable style set by the original author, Professor Laurence and appreciated by generations of readers Emphasis throughout is on evidence-based and safe drug prescribing The International Advisory Board ensures content reflects the needs of the developing world.
