Research Guides: Economics: Working Papers

Working Papers

Working papers allow access to the latest research without the delay caused by a lengthy publishing process of academic journals. The field of economics has a strong tradition of working paper exchange. Working papers are produced:

by researchers at universities to be later published in books, journals, or presented at conferences, and
by governmental bodies, NGOs, research centers and professional organizations, such as the Federal Reserve System, the World Bank, the National Bureau of Economic Research, etc.

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) This link opens in a new window
WVU subscription. Full-text access to NBER research papers including titles from the Working Papers, Technical Working Papers, and Development of the American Economy series.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) This link opens in a new window
The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 384,300 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 315,000 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat PDF format.

Research Papers in Economics (RePEc)
A collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 68 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in economics. The heart of the project is a decentralized database of working papers, journal articles and software components.
EconPapers
Part of RePEc.
IDEAS: Economics and Finance Research
Hosted by the University of Connecticut, the Internet Documents in Economics Access Services (IDEAS) database contains over 700,000 citations, including links to working papers, articles, chapters, and books. A RePEc database.