Research Guides: English 272: Modernist Literature: Group Poetry Presentation Resources

1a) First World War Poetry Archive

One person will investigate the poet and poem using the First World War Digital Poetry Archive.

First World War Poetry Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
"The First World War Poetry Digital Archive is an online repository of over 7000 items of text, images, audio, and video for teaching, learning, and research. The heart of the archive consists of collections of highly valued primary material from major poets of the period. This is supplemented by a comprehensive range of multimedia artefacts from the Imperial War Museum."

1b) Magill On Literature / Literature Resource Center

One person will find a secondary source of information on the poem using an academic database such as MagillOnLiterature or Literature Resource Center.

Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
MagillOnLiterature (Discontinued) This link opens in a new window
Provides plot summaries, author biographies, book reviews, and critical analyses of frequently studied works of literature

1c) Peer-reviewed Journal Article (MLAIB)

One person will find a secondary source of information on the poem in a scholarly, peer-reviewed, academic journal article.

To search for articles:

Choose Advanced Search
Choose the Peer-Reviewed (Scholarly) box to retrieve peer-reviewed articles.
Choose the Full Text box or Find it @ WVU to retrieve articles available online.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Literature, language, linguistics, folklore references from the Modern Language Association. Includes references to journal articles, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Although full text is not included in the MLA Bibliography, the Find it @ WVU service provides links to full text from other databases when available.

1d) Find books using WorldCat

One person will find a scholarly, peer-reviewed book on the poet that references the poem.

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Library catalog for locating and accessing resources across multiple libraries. Best for finding items to request from another library.

How to Find Books: Charts and Maps

How to Cite Your Sources

How to cite your sources in MLA
Check the tabs for the source you need to cite using Modern Language Association (MLA) Style. Confused? Have a question? Please use the Ask a Librarian chat box!

Ask Kelly!

Questions? Get answers!

Email: kdiamond@wvu.edu

Phone: (304) 293-0332

Downtown Campus Library
Reference Suite: 1004I