Standards

These are the standards to consider when creating and maintaining your guides.

• Tab Naming Convention:
  • Use Title Case when naming tabs for consistency.
• Guide Naming Conventions
  • Please follow the naming conventions and type listed in the naming convention box.
• External Links Behavior:
  • Retain the default setting: All external links should open in new windows in LibGuides. Do not alter this setting.
• Friendly URLs:
  • Assign friendly URLs to all LibGuides, enhancing accessibility. For instance, use http://libguides.wvu.edu/english102.
• Subject Assignment:
  • Ensure appropriate subjects are assigned to your LibGuide.
• Credit for Borrowed Content:
  • If you borrow substantial content or replicate another LibGuide, provide credit to the original creator.
• Enhance Consistency with Common Assets:
  • Duplicate common assets, like Ask-a-Librarian, to ensure consistency and user familiarity. Refer to the instructions in the Common Assets tab for guidance on incorporating assets into your guide.
• Ensure Brand Consistency:
  • Refer to the WVU Brand Guide for color codes and maintain consistency.

Profile Box Guidelines

Design Tips

1. Text Moderation:

   • Avoid overloading your box with excessive text.

2. Widget Reusability:

   • Whenever possible, reuse widgets instead of creating new boxes.

3. Module Selection:

   • Use Link and Database modules for web links or databases instead of HTML/Rich Text.
   • The built-in Link Checker can identify broken links, facilitating easy maintenance.

4. Link and Database Lists:

   • Discourage lengthy lists of links and databases for a cleaner look.

5. Page Structure:

   • Avoid creating pages with only one box for improved organization.

6. Subpage Consideration:

   • Refrain from using subpages as they can complicate navigation.

Guide Type Conventions

Subject Guide

Definition: a guide for a degree-seeking academic department, clinical department, research center, or subject at West Virginia University or other specific patron group that the WVU Libraries serve which provides general guidance and/or resources necessary for performing research in the subject area. 

• Nomenclature: name of the subject only. Do not include additional language in the name of the guide, including words like guide or research guide. 

  • Example: Psychology 

• Description: starting point for your research in . Use this guide to locate resources for your field of study. 

• Tag Suggestions: name of subject 

Course Guide 

Definition: a guide that provides guidance and/or resources to support teaching and research needs of a credit-bearing course at West Virginia University. 

• Nomenclature: Course Code: Name of Course (as it appears in STAR) 
  • Example: POLS 345: Electoral Systems and Parties 
• Description: Guidance and resources for students in [Course Code: Name of Course] during the [Fall/Spring] semester of [Year].  
• Tag Suggestions: course code with section code, semester, year, course instructor name 

Citation Guide  

Definition: A guide that provides guidance and/or resources on citation styles or formats, citation managers, and library instruction or services related to citation. 

• Nomenclature: name of citation style or citation manager. If possible, refrain from using guide, subject guide, or research guide in the name of the guide. 
• Types of guides: Citation Guides, Citation Managers, Workshop Instruction
• Description: This guide is designed to provide [guidance, resources, information] on [topic, tool, etc.] 
• Tag Suggestions: name of citation style, name of citation manager 

Other Guide 

Definition: A guide that provides guidance and/or resources on a topic, tool, workshop, collection or research area that is not generally considered to be an academic department, program, or credit-bearing course   

• Nomenclature: name of service or collection. If possible, refrain from using guide, subject guide, or research guide in the name of the guide. 
• Types of guides: Digitization Lab, Student Lounge, Native American Collections at the WVRHC, , Workshop Instruction
• Description: This guide is designed to provide [guidance, resources, information] on [topic, tool, collection, etc.] 
• Tag Suggestions: name of service or collection, location of service or collection