Research Guides: Anthropology: Find Scholarly Articles

Best Bet

Anthrosource This link opens in a new window
A collection of journals from the American Anthropological Association.

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Research in sociology and related disciplines.
For more anthro. journals, go to change databases then add social science database.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Articles from high impact research journals in each field of the social sciences, with option for cited reference searching to trace scholarship. (Part of Web of Science)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The coverage for some titles extends back to the 18th century, making it useful as a source of primary documents for some topics.

Annual Review of Anthropology
Annual review articles give you an overview of the research that has been done on specific topics in anthropology. Use it to get a better understanding current research and to discover the most influential research articles published on your topic.

eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
The eHRAF World Cultures is an online cross-cultural database containing descriptive information on cultures and ethnic groups from around the world-- unique because each culture contains a variety of full-text source documents (books, articles, and dissertations) that have been indexed and organized according to HRAF's comprehensive culture and subject classification systems: the Outline of World Cultures (OWC), and the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM). These retrieval systems extend search capability well beyond keyword searching, allowing for precise culture and subject retrieval, even in a foreign language. As a multicultural database, eHRAF appeals to many academic disciplines in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, and any other area with an interest in cultural diversity.