Research Guides: Communication Studies: Find Articles

Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Communication Source is the most comprehensive resource on the market for communication research. Communication Source was developed from a merger of high-quality EBSCO databases, Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts (formerly published by Sage), and includes many unique sources not previously available in other databases. Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.

Other Useful Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers a good starting point for research on nearly any topic, covering most areas of academic study and containing full text for 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Search for academic articles from psychology and related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
A good place to look for articles on communication topics related to business such as leadership and Org Comm.
ComAbstracts This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database of article and book abstracts from the scholarly literature of the communication field.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete is an online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A good place to find media studies articles and film criticism
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
A good general database that also helps you track how many times an article has been cited and who is citing it.

You can use Google scholar to find and access some (but not all) academic articles from WVU Libraries subscriptions

If you are at an on-campus computer just look for the “Find it @WVU” link next to the article title in your search results.

If you are off-campus you will need to go to the preferences link at the top of the Google Scholar search page and select WVU as your library.