Log-in required
Authentication via IP address
Free source from the web
The following databases cover rural topics or topics highly relevant for rural America, including agriculture, economic development, the environment and natural resources, education, public health, Indigenous studies, political science, sociology, history, demography, and statistics. For a complete list of interdisciplinary databases available via WVU Libraries, visit: https://databases.lib.wvu.edu/
Includes thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data, with international coverage that gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
AgEcon Search
AGRIS is an international information system for the agricultural sciences and technology. It was created by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) in 1974, to facilitate information exchange and to bring together world literature dealing with all aspects of agriculture.
The AGRICOLA (Agricultural Online Access) database contains bibliographic records of materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions in the agricultural and related sciences. Ninety percent of the records describe journal articles and book chapters, and the remaining ten percent describe monographs, series, microforms, audiovisuals, maps, and other types of materials.
AGRIS is an international information system for the agricultural sciences and technology. It was created by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) in 1974, to facilitate information exchange and to bring together world literature dealing with all aspects of agriculture.
America History and Life
Covers North American history from prehistory to the present, providing references to journal articles, books, dissertations and reviews. America: History and Life covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide, including all key English-language historical journals and selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals.
Chronicling America provides free access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, supported by the National Endowment for the Humanities and permanently maintained at the Library of Congress. Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Users can also access the list of digitized newspapers from West Virginia.
Coverage of the people, elections, legislation, and controversies in the US Congress from 1945-2008, providing in-depth review and analysis of legislation and policy for each year, organized by policy area. Comprehensive roll call votes for all major legislation.
All EBSCOhost databases, cross-searchable, providing coverage for journal articles and other information in academic disciplines. Databases included are described on the database selection page. Many include links to full text of the articles indexed.
Education Source is a full-text research database designed for education students, professionals and policymakers. It provides full text, indexing and abstracts for thousands of education journals, books and education-related conference papers.
Indexes research on the earth sciences, including geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation. Geobase covers thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, book series and conference proceedings
Scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering human impact on the environment, including the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
The FAO Forestry Department maintains an array of online databases where information covering various aspects of forestry is stored for analysis and further dissemination.
Extensive collection of legal information including the largest collection of law review articles, historical resources, and coverage of state, federal, and international resources.
American Indian Histories and Cultures features a wide range of materials including:Manuscripts (treaties, speeches, petitions, diaries, travel journals, ledger books, Artwork (illustrations, sketches, watercolours, oil paintings, American Indian art), American Indian Newspapers covering the 1960s to 1990s, Rare Printed Books, Photographs, and Maps.
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, primary sources, and high-quality images. It has an archive of more than 1,000 scholarly, interdisciplinary journals, with full coverage for all but the most current 3-5 years. Images are contributed by universities, museums, and community and private collections. JSTOR is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
ProQuest Legislative Insight is a federal legislative history service that makes available thoroughly researched compilations of digital full-text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws.
ProQuest Public Health is designed to be the starting point for public health information and research. It delivers core public health literature with centralized access to over 800 publications with over 500 in full-text and covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences and biological sciences to business.
A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects, linking over 100,000 pages of SAGE's book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.
The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 384,300 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 315,000 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat PDF format.
ProQuest's Sociology Database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies. It includes hundreds of full-text scholarly journals, as well as dissertations and other sources.
Current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Provides comprehensive summary of statistics on these major topics: Population, Health, Education, Crime, Environment, Government, Human Services, Labor Force, Income, Prices, Business, Science, Agriculture, Energy, Construction, Manufacturing, Trade, Transportation, Information and Communication, Finance, and Arts. The source notes can be used to find more detailed tables and machine-readable datasets.
