Household Gods by
Household Gods, Bonnie Proudfoot's riveting first collection of poems, uses the lens of the speaker's life to explore both personal and universal questions: How are we shaped by place, by family, by our particular time on this earth? What is our responsibility to witness and to act? It will be no surprise to readers of Proudfoot's novel, Goshen Road, to find that setting plays a central role in these poems. This time, though, the primary setting is the poet's first place; we inhabit the apartments, streets, even rooftops of Queens, NY, alongside the people, many long dead, who occupy them.
Synthesis and Operability Strategies for Computer-Aided Modular Process Intensification by
Synthesis and Operability Strategies for Computer-Aided Modular Process intensification presents state-of-the-art methodological developments and real-world applications for computer-aided process modeling, optimization and control, with a particular interest on process intensification systems. Each chapter consists of basic principles, model formulation, solution algorithm, and step-by-step implementation guidance on key procedures. Sections cover an overview on the current status of process intensification technologies, including challenges and opportunities, detail process synthesis, design and optimization, the operation of intensified processes under uncertainty, and the integration of design, operability and control. Advanced operability analysis, inherent safety analysis, and model-based control strategies developed in the community of process systems engineering are also introduced to assess process operational performance at the early design stage.
Sport in the Iberian Peninsula by
This is the first book in English to offer an overview of the development of the sport industry in Spain and Portugal, examining the social, economic, cultural, and political impact sport has had in this region and on world sport more broadly. Drawing on sources in Spanish and Portuguese, the book presents important new perspectives and empirical material not previously available to English-speaking audiences. With a strong focus on management, development, economics, governance and law, set in a broader historical and socio-cultural context, the book explains the unique characteristics of the sport industry in the Iberian Peninsula. It takes a deep dive into Spanish and Portuguese football - in many ways the centre of gravity of Iberian sport - and into sport tourism, a hugely significant component of the broader economy of the region. The book also considers important emerging themes in Iberian sport, from the development of women's sport to the global profile of Cristiano Ronaldo and Rafael Nadal, and considers the wider influence of Iberian sport across the wider Hispanic diaspora. This is fascinating and illuminating reading for anybody with an interest in sport business and management, global sporting cultures, international business, or Hispanic or Latin American studies.
Atlas of the 2020 Elections by
The 2020 presidential election was one of the most historic, contested, and contentious in American history. Joe Biden was the oldest person elected president. Kamala Harris was the first female elected vice president and the first vice president of Black and Asian descent. The primaries, campaigns, and elections were held for the first time amid an international and national pandemic. Despite this, voter turnout was the highest in 120 years. Donald Trump was the first president in modern times who refused to concede, leading to numerous lawsuits over the election process and results, although election litigation and state officials found no evidence of large-scale voter fraud. Nevertheless, continued claims of a stolen election led to a riotous mob occupation of the US Capitol on January 6, 2021, in an attempt to overturn the Electoral College results. The Atlas of the 2020 Elections explains the results of the 2020 elections with a series of unique maps unleashing the illustrative power of cartography and the relevance of history and political geography. The contributors--a balanced mix of geographers, political scientists, and historians--provide a comprehensive examination of the election process from the primary campaigns through the general election and post-election events. In addition to the presidential election, the Atlas has full coverage of other important races, including congressional races, state races, and local and state referenda. Illustrated with more than 150 meticulously drawn full-color maps and numerous graphs and tables, the Atlas will be an essential reference and a fascinating resource for scholars, teachers, students, pundits, campaign staff, and political junkies alike, and for all who care about the American democratic process. er of cartography and the relevance of history and political geography. The contributors--a balanced mix of geographers, political scientists, and historians--provide a comprehensive examination of the election process from the primary campaigns through the general election and post-election events. In addition to the presidential election, the Atlas has full coverage of other important races, including congressional races, state races, and local and state referenda. Illustrated with more than 150 meticulously drawn full-color maps and numerous graphs and tables, the Atlas will be an essential reference and a fascinating resource for scholars, teachers, students, pundits, campaign staff, and political junkies alike, and for all who care about the American democratic process.er of cartography and the relevance of history and political geography. The contributors--a balanced mix of geographers, political scientists, and historians--provide a comprehensive examination of the election process from the primary campaigns through the general election and post-election events. In addition to the presidential election, the Atlas has full coverage of other important races, including congressional races, state races, and local and state referenda. Illustrated with more than 150 meticulously drawn full-color maps and numerous graphs and tables, the Atlas will be an essential reference and a fascinating resource for scholars, teachers, students, pundits, campaign staff, and political junkies alike, and for all who care about the American democratic process.er of cartography and the relevance of history and political geography. The contributors--a balanced mix of geographers, political scientists, and historians--provide a comprehensive examination of the election process from the primary campaigns through the general election and post-election events. In addition to the presidential election, the Atlas has full coverage of other important races, including congressional races, state races, and local and state referenda. Illustrated with more than 150 meticulously drawn full-color maps and numerous graphs and tables, the Atlas will be an essential reference and a fascinating resource for scholars, teachers, students, pundits, campaign staff, and political junkies alike, and for all who care about the American democratic process.om the primary campaigns through the general election and post-election events. In addition to the presidential election, the Atlas has full coverage of other important races, including congressional races, state races, and local and state referenda. Illustrated with more than 150 meticulously drawn full-color maps and numerous graphs and tables, the Atlas will be an essential reference and a fascinating resource for scholars, teachers, students, pundits, campaign staff, and political junkies alike, and for all who care about the American democratic process.
Bacilli in Agrobiotechnology by
The third volume of the series 'Bacilli and Agrobiotechnology' is comprised of 25 chapters that bring a unique perspective to the readers about Bacillus-mediated biotic and abiotic plant stress tolerance, bioremediation and bioprospecting. These chapters are prepared by the leading scientists of global repute. The negative impacts of agrochemicals such as chemical fertilizers and pesticides on human health and environment are paramount. Bacillus and allied genera of beneficial plant-associated microbes are presenting beacon of hope to the farmers, plant scientists and stewards of environment. Several chapters of this volume focus on the induction of various signaling pathways in plants by Bacillus spp. to alleviate biotic and abiotic stresses impacted by global climate change Agricultural lands contaminated with heavy metals affect the ecological food chain starting from crop cultivation. How the toxic effects of trace metals originating from industrial effluents and agrochemicals can be remediated? This book addresses how to overcome these issues by applying elite strains of Bacillus. Bioprospecting is a systematic and organized search for conversion of bioresources to industrially important products by utilizing microbe-derived metabolites. This volume is enriched by including the bioprospecting aspects mediated by Bacillus spp. with novel insights.
Standard of Living by
This anthology honors the life and work of American economist John E. Murray, whose work on the evolution of the standard of living spanned multiple disciplines. Publishing extensively in the areas of the history of healthcare and health insurance, labor markets, religion, and family-related issues from education to orphanages, fertility, and marriage, Murray was much more than an economic historian and his influence can be felt across the wider scholarly community. Written by Murray's academic collaborators, mentors, and mentees, this collection of essays covers topics such as the effect of the 1918 influenza pandemic on U.S. life insurance holdings, the relationship between rapid economic growth and type 2 diabetes, and the economics of the early church. This volume will be of use to scholars and students interested in economic history, cliometrics, labor economics, and American and European history, as well as the history of religion.
The Crisis of Multilateral Legal Order by
Multilateralism has served as a foundation for international cooperation over the past several decades. Championed after the Second World War by the United States and Western Europe, it expanded into a broader global system of governance with the end of the Cold War. Lately, an increasing number of States appear to be disappointed with the existing multilateral arrangements, both at the level of norms and that of institutions. The great powers see unilateral and bilateral strategies, which maximize their political leverage rather than diluting it in multilateral fora, as more effective ways for controlling the course of international affairs. The signs of the crisis have been visible for some time - but recent crises indicate an acceleration of the on-going disintegration of the multilateral system, such as Brexit, growing resistance on the part of States to international monitoring of compliance and the radical change in the US foreign policy during the presidency of Donald Trump which saw the US withdraw from several multilateral agreements (e.g. the Iran Nuclear Deal and the Paris Agreement), leave some international organizations or bodies (e.g. the United Nations Human Rights Council or the World Health Organization) or paralyze some others (e.g. the World Trade Organization (WTO)). Tackling the debate surrounding the crisis of multilateralism and the related transformation of the underlying international legal order, The Crisis of Multilateral Legal Order analyzes selected aspects of the current crisis from the perspective of public international law to identify the nature of the crisis, its dynamics, and implications.
An Introduction to Behavioral Endocrinology, Sixth Edition by
The market-leading text, An Introduction to Behavioral Endocrinology, Sixth Edition provides an updated, integrated presentation of the study of hormone-behavior-brain interactions. Maintaining a comparative approach, the text explores the endocrine mechanisms that have evolved in both human and nonhuman animals to solve common problems in survival and reproduction. The text describes interactions among hormones, brain, and behavior from a historical perspective, emphasizing connections among key theories and tracing the emergence of important hypotheses. The book is organized around the conceptual theme that hormones affect behavior by influencing one or more of three "components" of behaving animals--input mechanisms (such as sensory or perceptual processes), the central processing mechanisms of the nervous system (either directly, or by affecting its development or structure), and output mechanisms (such as effectors or peripheral structures). Despite increased coverage of molecular and cellular approaches, the book strives for accessibility for non-biological science students. An Introduction to Behavioral Endocrinology, Sixth Edition, is appropriate for upper-level undergraduate and graduate courses in psychology, biology, anthropology, or zoology. It contains several important pedagogical features: *Learning objectives are set out at the beginning of each chapter and now include 3 multiple choice questions per objective in the enhanced ebook. *Learning Activity in each chapter (new to this edition) *Key terms are defined in the margins throughout the text. *The text is richly illustrated with color photographs and drawings. *Chapter-end summaries restate important points. *Discussion questions and suggested further readings are also included in each chapter. *The text contains nearly 2,400 references to the literature in behavioral endocrinology. RESOURCES For Students As with previous editions, the book is accompanied by animations, video, web links, sound files, a complete glossary, and graphics--accessible via Oxford Learning Link--to aid in understanding the material in the text. This edition will also include an enhanced ebook. For Instructors -The Instructor's Resource Library includes electronic versions of all the textbook's figures and tables. All images are provided as both high- and low-resolution JPEGs, formatted and optimized for excellent legibility when projected. All figures and tables are also provided in ready-to-use PowerPoint presentations. -The Test Bank includes multiple-choice, short-answer, and essay questions for each chapter of the textbook. Prepared by the author, these questions are a helpful resource that can greatly speed the process of preparing exams and quizzes for the course.
Forest and Biomass Harvest and Logistics by
This book explains forest and woody biomass harvest, harvesting machines, systems, logistics, supply chain management, best management practices, harvest scheduling and carbon sequestration. It also covers applications of harvesting principles in forest and biomass management practices. The book provides an in-depth understanding of functions and applications of current and future harvesting technologies, the unique characteristics of harvesting machine with respect to cost, productivity, and environmental impacts. Special features include harvest machine illustrations and images of field operations, tabular presentations of filed studies of forest operations and detailed modelling processes for forest and biomass harvest logistics and supply chain management. Specifically, the book is designed for students, researchers, educators, and practitioners in the field of forest and biomass harvest and logistics. The book's contents have been tested in teaching as the Harvesting Forest Product class for undergraduates and graduates in the Division of Forestry and Natural Resources at West Virginia University since 2000. The information contained in this book is a robust reference resource for students who would be future forest and biomass managers, timber contractors, entrepreneurs, researchers, and educators in the fields of forest and biomass operations, engineering, and resource management.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Neuroendocrine and Autonomic Systems by
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Neuroendocrine and Autonomic Systems provides an up-to-date survey of the wide range of scholarship being conducted on these two systems in the field of neuroendocrinology. The Encyclopedia includes more than 50 articles--each approximately 8,000 words in length--that provide thorough overviews of a diverse set of topics in neuroendocrine regulation, neuroimmunology, behavioral neuroendocrinology, autonomic regulation, stress, thirst and water balance, regulation of food intake, and biological rhythms and sleep, among many others. All authors were commissioned specifically for the Encyclopedia, and all articles received blind peer reviews. The articles provide critical and synthetic examinations, as well as the history, progress, direction, and debates about research on a given topic, surveying developments and different perspectives, and discussing important contributors and contributions. The Encyclopedia offers coverage of core and emerging areas of research to provide readers a reliable source of specialist information on topics not discussed in existing reference works. As such, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Neuroendocrine and Autonomic Systems represents a unique contribution to scholarship in neuroendocrinology and will be a standard reference for researchers, students, and professionals in the field.
The Coal Trap by
Between 2009 and 2019, West Virginian politicians aligned themselves with the interests of the coal industry to the substantial detriment of the citizens and economy of the state. Despite the undeniable low-carbon transformation that was occurring in the energy industry in the US during this period, state political leaders doubled down on coal. Rather than provide the leadership necessary to manage the transition of the state's economic drivers away from fossil fuels, they largely blamed the demise of the coal industry on the federal government. At every turn, the interests of the coal industry were placed above the economic and environmental health of West Virginians. James Van Nostrand tells the story of why West Virginia now faces overwhelming obstacles to competing in the economic marketplace of the twenty-first century. The book serves as a warning of how a fair energy transition can be derailed by political failure.
Photography in Social Work and Social Change by
Photography is taking on an ever-stronger role and prominence in social work practice and research. An increasing number of projects and articles utilize or describe photography as a method for practice, or present research on applied photographic methods. Photography in Social Work and Social Change provides a comprehensive overview of photography in these areas. It features original applied content, state-of-the-art case examples, and user-friendly guides to introduce readers to the theory, methods, ethics, technical aspects, and cultural considerations of this practice. It bridges theory and knowledge with applications that can be replicated by students, practitioners, and researchers. With step-by-step guidelines, this book will be the go-to resource for anyone interested in photography in social work.
Solving Social Dilemmas by
An original account of the role of ethical dispositions in the development of prosperous commercial societies In Solving Social Dilemmas, Roger Congleton provides an explanation for the rise of prosperous commercial societies. Congleton argues that an endless series of social, economic, and political dilemmas have to be solved or ameliorated to sustain social and economic progress and suggests that the most plausible solutions involve internalized rules of conduct. Previous foundational texts suggest that institutions often emerge to address social dilemmas, but Congleton focuses on a solution that is arguably prior to formal institutions: the internalization of principles and rules of conduct that directly affect individual behavior and thereby group outcomes. Supported by an intellectual and analytical history of the emergence of commercial societies in the West, the book uses elementary game theory to review a few dozen social, economic, and political dilemmas that need to be solved if prosperous societies are to emerge. It shows that ethical dispositions are likely to play important roles in solutions to all the problems examined-and arguably many more. Congleton does not claim that commercial networks result from ethical as opposed to unethical behavior, but that some ethical systems include rules that support the development of extended market networks, specialization, and innovation. As evidence the book traces how the increasing support of commerce in ethical theories in the seventeenth, eighteenth, and nineteenth centuries helped launch "the great acceleration" and the emergence of the first truly commercial societies. By combining substantive theoretical work with analysis of centuries of ethical writings, Solving Social Dilemmas reveals that commercial societies have moral foundations.
Endocrine Diseases in Pregnancy and the Postpartum Period by
This book delivers comprehensive explanations of normal hormonal physiology during pregnancy and descriptions of the hormonal pathology associated with various endocrine disease states. In addition, it serves as a relevant and synoptic resource for the clinical management of endocrine disorders in pregnancy and the prepartum and postpartum periods. Evaluation and management of endocrine disorders including, but not limited to, diabetes mellitus, thyroid disease, and various endocrine tumors are discussed. It provides readers with a detailed overview in a compact and easy-to-read format. This book serves as essential reading for Endocrinology fellows and Obstetrics and Gynecology residents. KEY FEATURES Explains normal physiology of pregnancy in addition to the physiology, evaluation, and management of endocrine diseases in pregnancy and in the prepartum and postpartum periods Explores from a clinical standpoint with practical applications; useful for students, residents, fellows, mid-level providers, and practicing physicians Discusses special considerations and emerging topics including pregnancy in transgender men, obesity and metabolism, and endocrine emergencies
Design Thinking in the Middle Grades by
Too often, mathematics and science are taught in isolation from each other and from meaningful problems that matter to students. This book draws on the authors' experiences with teacher colleagues, including time spent in their classrooms co-developing and refining lessons. The core of their approach is to encourage learners to pursue solutions to everyday challenges through design-based learning cycles. Students use mathematical modeling to describe or summarize a phenomenon, predict which potential solutions may be successful, and/or to test actual performance against predictions. The authors emphasize connecting grade-appropriate science and math content standards and integrating literacy with evidence-based argument through design briefs and presentations. Teachers will learn how to support productive struggle and structure group learning that promotes equity, while teaching in the classroom or virtually as needed. The middle grades are a pivotal time to engage the next generation so that they are prepared to solve tomorrow's challenges. Classroom teachers, preservice educators, and faculty in teacher education programs can use Design Thinking in the Middle Grades as a foundational text for math, science, and integrated STEM teaching.
Skating on Thin Ice by
Skating on Thin Iceexposes the culture of toxic masculinity in professional hockey and suggests how sport and society can change the narrative on sexual assault and violence. Why is it that professional sports, and notably hockey, remain a bastion for rape culture and violence against women? What are the conditions that allow a culture of toxic masculinity to persist despite awakenings elsewhere in society? What is the path forward, and how do we make officials, coaches, and athletes accountable? Drawing on decades of award-winning sociological research and sports journalism, Walter S. DeKeseredy, Martin D. Schwartz, and veteran sportswriter Stu Cowan find answers to these questions in Skating on Thin Ice. The book examines the abusive, misogynistic, racist, and homophobic behaviors found in professional hockey and explains the larger societal forces that perpetuate and legitimate these harms. Confirming a recent federal government inquiry into Hockey Canada's handling of sexual assault allegations, the book reveals that young men enter the NHL and other revenue-generating hockey leagues already trained and primed to treat women as objects - and often to commit violent acts against them. Rooted in the authors' work in the sports world as well as their work with activists and governments, Skating on Thin Icedoesn't just highlight the problem of hockey and rape culture, it also provides collaborative solutions for fixing it.
Challenges in Classical Liberalism by
This book examines contemporary policy debates from opposing perspectives. It considers seven key topics in today's society: land use, education, international trade, health insurance, technological change, and recreational alcohol and drugs. Two scholars with differing viewpoints discuss each topic, one working in the classical liberal tradition and the other advocating slower, incremental societal change. While classical liberalism historically presents a vision of society comprised of free and responsible individuals, this book shows the importance of considering the nuances of this vision today. Beyond theoretical regulation vs. de-regulation debates, the book highlights challenges for classical liberals by considering how dynamism and creative destruction may disrupt communities, leading to worse outcomes for some groups. This edited volume aims to deepen understanding of this challenge to a free society and partake in and encourage civil intellectual discourse and debate. It willinterest students and scholars from various fields, including economics, political science, public health, and environmental studies.
Advances in Microwave-Assisted Heterogeneous Catalysis by
Historically the field of heterogeneous catalysis has focused on the design and optimisation of the catalytic materials. However, as these optimisations start to reach diminishing returns, attention has turned to non-conventional means for improving reaction conditions such as the use of ultrasound, plasma, electromagnetic heating and microwave heating. Microwave-assisted catalysis has been demonstrated to be useful in a wide range of applications including ammonia synthesis, desulfurization and production of chemicals from biomass. Advances in Microwave-assisted Heterogeneous Catalysis begins with the basics of microwave heating and the role of microwaves in heterogeneous catalysis. It goes on to cover the mechanisms of microwave specific reaction rate enhancement, microwave-assisted synthesis of porous, nonporous and supported metal catalysts, microwave augmented reactor technology and microwave-induced catalysis. The application of microwave-assisted heterogeneous catalysis in various fields of energy conversion, environmental remediation, and bulk and specialty chemicals synthesis are also discussed, making this a great reference for anyone involved in catalysis research.
Toward Sustainable Communities, Fifth Edition by
The go-to guide for sustainable community development, from the neighborhood to the regional level Fully revised and updated, Toward Sustainable Communities is the definitive guide to the why, the what, and most importantly, the how of creating resilient, healthy, equitable, and prosperous places. This fifth edition introduces the innovative Community Capital Compass as a powerful tool for maximizing the environmental, economic, and social benefits of complex community and regional decisions, and has been completely revamped to serve readers in the US, Canada, and abroad. Those seeking a comprehensive approach to sustainable community planning and development from the neighborhood to the regional level will benefit from: An expanded Community Capital framework that organizes community resources into eight interrelated forms of capital The Community Capital Compass process for navigating complex situations involving everything from municipal services and land-use planning to housing and climate change Elaboration of collaborative governance, community mobilization, public engagement, capacity building, infrastructure, policymaking, and promising practices A companion website featuring case studies, profiles, online resources, interactive tools, videos, and more. Packed with concrete, proven strategies, this "living book" is the go-to guide for sustainable community development. Toward Sustainable Communities is essential reading for current and aspiring professionals, practitioners, policymakers, educators, purpose-driven organizations, engaged citizens, and anyone concerned about their communities and a sustainable future.
Displacing Territory by
Displacing Territory explores the core concepts of territory and belonging--and humanizes refugees in the process. Based on fieldwork with Palestinian and Syrian refugees in Jordan, Displacing Territory explores how the lived realities of refugees are deeply affected by their imaginings of what constitutes territory and their sense of belonging to different places and territories. Karen Culcasi shows how these individual conceptualizations about territory don't always fit the Western-centric division of the world into states and territories, thus revealing alternative or subordinated forms and scales of territory. She also argues that disproportionate attention to "refugee crises" in the Global North has diverted focus from other parts of the world that bear the responsibility of protecting the majority of the world's refugees. By focusing on Jordan, a Global South state that hosts the world's second-largest number of refugees per capita, this book provides insights to consider alternate ways to handle the situation of refugees elsewhere. In the process, Culcasi brings the reader into refugees' diverse realities through their own words, inherently arguing against the tendency of many people in the Global North to see refugees as aberrant, burdensome, or threatening.
Dimensions of the Fantastic by
Not to be confused with fantasy or the supernatural, the fantastic is in actuality its own beast and perhaps the most deeply frightening of all narrative modes. From Dracula and Nightmare on Elm Street, to Carrie and Them, the fantastic has become an ideal vehicle to denounce deep cultural dysfunctions that affect not only the way we understand reality, but also how we construct it. This work studies the various dimensions of the fantastic mode, examining the influences of iconic authors such as H.P. Lovecraft and Jean Ray, and addressing key narrations such as Guy de Maupasasant's The Horla and Jordan Peele's Get Out. It explains why the fantastic is not about ghosts or monsters, but about the incomprehensible sides of our own reality, and the terrifying unknown.
Food Microbiology Laboratory for the Food Science Student by
This book is designed to give students an understanding of the role of microorganisms in food processing and preservation; the relation of microorganisms to food spoilage, foodborne illness, and intoxication; general food processing and quality control; the role of microorganisms in health promotion; and federal food processing regulations. The listed laboratory exercises are aimed to provide a hands-on-opportunity for the student to practice and observe the principles of food microbiology. Students will be able to familiarize themselves with the techniques used to research, regulate, prevent, and control the microorganisms in food and understand the function of beneficial microorganism during food manufacturing process. The second edition add 5 new chapters including "Chapter 10 -Thermal inactivation of Escherichia coli O157:H7 in mechanically tenderized beef steaks and color measurements", "Chapter 11-Evaluate antimicrobial activity of chlorine water on apples and measurement of free chlorine concentrations", "Chapter 12-Evaluate cross-contamination of Salmonella on tomatoes in wash water using most probable number (MPN) technique", "Chapter 15-DNA extraction and purity determination of foodborne pathogens", and "Chapter 16-Practice of multiplex PCR to identify bacteria in bacterial solutions". It also includes new lab work flowcharts for Gram-staining and endospore-staining technology in Chapter 1, pour plating and spread plating in Chapter 3, Enterotube II in Chapter 9, and Kirby Beau test procedure in Chapter 20. It includes a new sample of syllabus with the hybrid teaching of both lecture and lab sections in one course, which will assist junior faculty/instructors to develop similar lecture and lab courses.
Engaging Faculty in Group-Level Change for Institutional Transformation by
Diversifying the academic faculty remains an elusive goal marked by slow and uneven progress. This book describes an effective model for institutional transformation which is uniquely grounded in group-level processes. Efforts at institutional transformation continue to center individual actors. This is evident in the proliferation of programs that train individuals on implicit bias, search strategies, and other diversity and inclusion-based content as solutions for inequities in academia. Acknowledging the value of these approaches, this book adds a new focus: group-level processes. It unifies research on gender and racial inequity with concepts from social psychological theories of group dynamics to present a model of change centered on professional adult learners, including faculty and academic staff. The book details the implementation of group-level processes based on insights from the learning sciences, higher education leadership, communication studies, and group facilitation to instill norms for a more equitable and inclusive institution. Drawing on quantitative and qualitative data to illustrate the impact of group-level initiatives, the book offers recommendations to enable the application of this model in higher education contexts. This book will be of interest to researchers and graduate students studying institutional transformation, academic social justice leadership, and faculty professional development and to those interested in integrating justice and equity into team science, translational research, and other trans-, inter-, and multi-disciplinary fields.
Rooted in Belonging by
Most practitioners and scholars agree that critical and reflective early childhood and elementary teachers are foundational for children's holistic growth and development. Yet current policies focused on elevating testing and performativity are contributing to student and teacher anxiety and alienation. This book offers a counternarrative to neoliberal standardized preservice teacher development and assessment processes. The author examines how a cohort of teacher educators worked alongside their preservice teachers--both groups predominately White and female--to redesign their teacher education program. Sherfinski reveals how the narrative portfolio, an inquiry-based alternative to accreditation and standards-based assessments, was designed to locally document, resist, and disrupt the status quo. The narrative portfolio speaks back to standardized preservice teacher assessments by providing spaces for teacher candidates to demonstrate their knowledge of theory and practice as enacted in the natural settings of school and community. Rooted in Belonging shows why humanizing, democratic, place-based practices should be at the forefront of teacher education. Book Features: Provides a rare portrait of equity-based teacher education at the confluence of place-based approaches, student diversity, and teacher education. Grapples with tough issues such as how the shared Whiteness of preservice teachers and children and their families play out alongside their differences. Explores how educators negotiate deep ideological differences while still preparing teachers for critical work. Examines how the current political climate around Black Lives Matters, the 2020 presidential election, and the COVID-19 pandemic contribute to the challenges of working in communities. Discusses how race, space, time, and settler colonialism shape the work of preservice teachers and their teacher educators. Shares action research and teacher leadership assignments, critical thinking and planning exercises, personal reflections, and preservice teachers' narrative portfolio artifacts.
