Research Guides: HIST 463: U.S. Diplomatic History To 1941: Find Primary Sources

Primary Source Collections - Library Access Required

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 150 newspapers, including major titles from every region of the U.S. Coverage throughout the Civil War and into the critical postwar period.
American State Papers, 1789-1838 This link opens in a new window
Contains legislative and executive documents of the first 14 U.S. Congresses and extensive coverage of the major events that helped to shape the Early Republic.
Fold3 This link opens in a new window
Historical documents collections, most never before available before on the Internet, relating to the Revolutionary War, Civil War, WWI, WWII, U S Presidents, historical newspapers and naturalization documents.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive compilation of declassified documents from the executive branch. The types of materials include intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, and domestic surveillance and military reports.
American Indian Histories and Culture This link opens in a new window
American Indian Histories and Cultures features a wide range of materials including:Manuscripts (treaties, speeches, petitions, diaries, travel journals, ledger books, Artwork (illustrations, sketches, watercolours, oil paintings, American Indian art), American Indian Newspapers covering the 1960s to 1990s, Rare Printed Books, Photographs,and Maps.

Digital Public Library of America
Central repository for millions of digitized archival, library, and museum collections across the United States. Resource has a filtering system by Subject and Time Period for easy exploration of various subcollections.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
LOC's digital collection consists of over 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture.
The American Presidency Project
Contains online copies of major addresses, reports, press conferences, and other documents, including streaming media files, for all administrations.
Avalon Project
includes documents relating to US history, especially foreign relations.
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
The Foreign Relations of the United States series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The series, which is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian, began in 1861 and now comprises more than 450 individual volumes. The volumes published over the last two decades increasingly contain declassified records from all the foreign affairs agencies.
Internet Modern History Sourcebook
The Internet History Sourcebooks Project of Fordham University is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use. Includes a collection on "America as a World Leader to 1990".