Scholarly Sources

for Sports and Adventure Media

Subject Specific Resources

Databases are collections of resources that are indexed and searchable. Subject-specific databases focus on a single academic discipline or a group of related disciplines. While they cover more specific topics within their subject area, they do not include the broad range of topics common to general databases.

Sports Sciences and Management Databases
Listing of Sports Sciences and Management databases that library subscribes to.

Sport Discus Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings on sports, physical education, outdoor recreation, physical activity, and leisure literature.
Sports Business Journal (SBJ) This link opens in a new window
Sports Business Journal’s weekly and daily content provides original reporting and news aggregation, plus newsletters, podcasts and video.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
CIOS (Communication Institute for Online Scholarship) This link opens in a new window
Research databases from CIOS support research and education in communications-related disciplines (human communication studies, speech communication, rhetoric, journalism, mass communication, etc.)
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
This business database provides full text for over 1,000 business publications. The rich collection of titles in Business Source Elite provides information dating back to 1985. More than 10,100 substantial company profiles from Datamonitor are also included.
ABI/Inform Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data, with international coverage that gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.

Interdisciplinary Resources

Sometimes topics we are discussing are not contained to one specific discipline. In this case you will want to use a database that contains articles from the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities. They are a great way to see who is talking about your topic and to expand your research.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Collection of authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications in both journals and books. Includes access to multimedia features, such as video, audio and supplementary spreadsheet files.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, primary sources, and high-quality images. It has an archive of more than 1,000 scholarly, interdisciplinary journals, with full coverage for all but the most current 3-5 years. Images are contributed by universities, museums, and community and private collections. JSTOR is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Online electronic books covering all academic disciplines.

Academic and Scholarly Journals

In addition to searching collections of resources, you can also browse and access articles through individual publications.

Browzine This link opens in a new window
Browzine Web allows your to browze WVU online journals by subject, or look up your favorite title. BrowZine can also help you create a personal virtual bookshelf of favorite journals.

Browzine | Sociology and Sports Publications
See all journals that library has access to under this subject heading.
Browzine | Media Studies Publications
See all journals that library has access to under this subject heading.

Journal of Sports Media by University of Nebraska Press
This journal focuses on the study and analysis of sports media, including television, radio, print, and digital platforms. It covers topics like sports journalism, broadcasting, and the impact of media on sports culture.
International Journal of Sport Communication by Human Kinetics
IJSC explores the communication and media aspects of sports, with a focus on how athletes, teams, and organizations use media to connect with fans and audiences.
Communication and Sport by SAGE
This interdisciplinary journal combines communication and sports studies, covering a wide range of topics such as sports journalism, social media, branding, and the cultural impact of sports in the media.
Journal of Sports Economics by SAGE
Publishes research related to the economics of sports broadcasting, advertising, and the financial aspects of sports media.