Research Guides: English 346: American Literature 1800-1865: Primary Sources

Finding Primary Sources

APS Online - American Periodical Series Online This link opens in a new window
APS Online contains full digital images of over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years-from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War II.
Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Primary source material from 18th and 19th century periodicals, particularly useful for civil war and genealogical research. Includes: Godey`s Lady`s Book, The Pennsylvania Gazette, The Charleston Mercury, The New York Herald, Richmond Enquirer, 19th Century African American Newspapers, The 19th Century American County Histories to 1900, The Pennsylvania Newspaper Record: Delaware County, The Industrial Revolution in Delaware County /w Vital Statistics, The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue: Chester County.
ProQuest Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window
The Libraries' subscription to this resource will end on Aug. 31, 2023. For assistance in identifying an alternative resource(s), please email researchservices@mail.wvu.edu.
Searchable digital images of the New York Times, 1851- 2014.

Slavery and Abolition, 1789-1887
Chronicles African-American experiences during the 19th century. Most titles are related to slavery and abolition, including titles such as the Freedmen's Record, Genius of Universal Emancipation, the Liberator, the Massachusetts Abolitionist, the Mirror of Liberty, and the National Crisis: An Antidote to Abolition Fanaticism, Treason and Sham Philanthropy.
Open Library by the Internet Archive
Open Library is an online project intended to create "one web page for every book ever published".
more...less...
Open Library is a project of the Internet Archive, a nonprofit organization. Open Library provides online digital copies in multiple formats, created from images of many public domain, out-of-print, and in-print books.

HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.