Statutes & Regulations

Statutory Codes

A statute is a law enacted by a legislature codified in the federal or state Codes.

Federal Legislation

ProQuest Congressional
Includes citations for bills, public laws, and Statutes at Large, and analytical abstracts of the documents. Also includes links to political parties and organizations, and news sources.
ProQuest Legislative Insight
Federal legislative histories that include researched compilations of digital full-text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws.

Federal Statutes (US Code)

HeinOnline | US Code
Full-text | 1995 - present
Nexis Uni | US Code
Full-text and Annotated History | 1992 - present

Federal Constitution

United States Constitution | HeinOnline
US Constitution along with scholarly commentaries and bibliographies

State Legislation

Nexis Uni
In advanced search using the Legal > Statutes and Legislation > US Legislation to search state codes and legislation. Use the jurisdiction filter to select single or multiple states.

Session Laws | HeinOnline
Contains state legislation enacted during a session of a legislature.
Coverage: 1861 - present
Election Legislation Database | NCSL
NCSL's Elections Legislation Database contains bills from all 50 states and the District of Columbia relating to the administration of elections.

State Statutes (Codes)

Nexis Uni
In advanced search using the Legal > Statutes and Legislation > US Statutory Codes to search state codes. Use the jurisdiction filter to select single or multiple states.

State Constitutions

Nexis Uni
In advanced search using the Legal > Statutes and Legislation > US Consitutions to search state constitutions. Use the jurisdiction filter to select single or multiple states.

Regulatory Codes

General and permanent rules that govern state or federal departments and agencies. Proposals for regulatory changes or additions are proposed in state and federal Register as rules. An accepted proposal is added to the state or federal Code of Regulations or Rules.

Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations

ProQuest Regulatory Insight
Federal administrative law histories beginning in 1936, organized by federal statute and Executive Order.

Federal Register | US
Official site for the Federal Register
Code of Federal Regulations | Nexis Uni
Codification of administrative rules and laws

State Register and Code of Regulations or Rules

Nexis Uni
In advanced search using the Legal > Administrative Codes and Regulation to search state registers and rules/regulations. Use the jurisdiction filter to select single or multiple states.

POLS 346 | The Electoral Process