Using the
Library

Library resources for researching your organization this includes using databases and the catalog to find secondary analysis and scholarship.

Catalog

The WVU Catalog searches most library resources in a single unified search, including books, articles, media and more. The catalog also manages your library loans and you can renew items and check dues dates when logged in.

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Library catalog for locating and accessing resources across multiple libraries. Best for finding items to request from another library.

Databases

Individual databases can either cover specific subjects or general resources. Think about the topic being covered in your committee and then select a database that is relevant to that subject.

WVU Databases
Complete list of WVU-restricted resources from the Library's website. Search subject databases for journal articles, company information and more.

Suggested Databases

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.
Legal Source (Discontinued) This link opens in a new window
The Libraries' subscription ended on Aug. 31, 2023. For assistance in identifying an alternative resource(s), please email researchservices@mail.wvu.edu.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Extensive collection of legal information, including international law resources.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
References to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration.
ABI/Inform Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data, with international coverage that gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business research database, providing full text for 8,800 periodicals, including 1,100 peer-reviewed publications, plus company profiles. Subjects covered include marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Data and Statistics

Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Statistics generated by US government organizations and reports.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
OECD iLibrary Statistics This link opens in a new window
Statistics from the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development, including key tables, searchable data sets, and fact books. All content prior to 2017 is available, and select content after 2017 is available through the "read online" option.
Roper iPoll This link opens in a new window
Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.