Research Guides: History 302: Practicing History (Smart 2022): Newspapers and Magazines

Digitized Newspapers

Useful historical online newspapers include:

Full digital images of the New York Times, 1851-2014, and the Wall Street Journal, 1889-2000

A complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2003. Full-colour images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic of each week - all combine to offer a primary source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries

West Virginia Newspapers from Newsbank (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot) This link opens in a new window
Includes the Dominion Post (Morgantown), Charleston Gazette, Charleston Daily Mail, Herald Dispatch (Huntington). Provided by the West Virginia Library Commission with funds from the WV State Legislature and the Library Services and Technology Act administered by the Institute of Library and Museum Services.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
APS Online - American Periodical Series Online This link opens in a new window
APS Online contains full digital images of over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years-from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War II.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers - Black Newspapers This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers-Black Newspapers includes 9 newspapers and offers primary source material for the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts. Newspapers included are: Chicago Defender, The Baltimore Afro-American, New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, Los Angeles Sentinel, Atlanta Daily World, The Norfolk Journal and Guide, The Philadelphia Tribune, and Cleveland Call and Post.
CRL - Center for Research Libraries This link opens in a new window
CRL holdings include newspapers, journals, books, pamphlets, dissertations, archives, government publications, and other resources from all world regions. While these shared collections are largely paper and microform, CRL provides online access to a substantial and expanding body of digital materials. You can view a guide to CRL's collections from the Cooperative Africana Microform Project here: https://www.crl.edu/area-studies/camp/collections/guides
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Digital images of 500 periodicals, published from the 1680s to the 1930s, tracing the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through to the Victorian 'age of periodicals.'