Search for and view individual journals
Scholarly articles may provide access to data used in the creation of the article. This data can often be found on the journals website or in data repositories such as Harvard Dataverse.
These databases contain scholarly (peer-reviewed) and popular articles, reports, and grey literature from publication in the legal and political science disciplines. Since they are discipline-specific, there is often a lot of authoritative and well cited information on the topic. However, the peer-review process takes time. You also need to be mindful of what type of source you have retrieved - policy papers, reports, and grey literature should be evaluated carefully.
Law reviews or law journals are the primary forum for legal and policy scholarship in the U.S. academic legal community.
Sometimes topics we are discussing are not contained to one specific discipline. In this case you will want to use a database that contains articles from the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities. They are a great way to see who is talking about your topic and to expand your research.
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, primary sources, and high-quality images. It has an archive of more than 1,000 scholarly, interdisciplinary journals, with full coverage for all but the most current 3-5 years. Images are contributed by universities, museums, and community and private collections. JSTOR is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
