Broadening Participation in STEM by
U.S. students exit undergraduate science, technology, engineering, and mathematics programs at alarming rates. Less than 50 percent of the undergraduate students who enter STEM degree programs as aspiring freshmen complete degrees in these areas. This is especially true for minorities, whose departure from STEM degree programs is often twice the rate of others. Broadening Participation in STEM features chapters from developers of high impact educational practices and programs that have been effective at broadening the participation of underrepresented groups in the STEM disciplines. It explores strategies used with special populations of STEM aspirants including minority groups such as African Americans, Latino Americans, and Native Americans; persons from economically disadvantaged background; and persons with disabilities. This volume contributes to national knowledge of best practices in educating underrepresented students aspiring to STEM careers. This book provides campus-based faculty, administrators, and diversity professionals with a guide that can be used to develop programs designed to address specific student success and inclusion goals in STEM programs.
Critical Intersections in Contemporary Curriculum and Pedagogy by
"This volume offers a collection of scholarship that extends curricular conversations, crosses borders of praxis, and expands democratic, critical and aesthetic imaginaries- toward the ends of lending momentum to the ever-present and wide-open question: What is to be done-- in terms of curriculum and pedagogy-- in p-12 schools, in teacher education and other higher education contexts, in communities, as well as within our own lives as teachers, leaders and learners? These chapters represent perspectives from curriculum workers/teachers/scholars/activists across theoretical landscapes and spanning a diversity of positionalities within critical intersections of power and privilege as they relate to identity, culture and curriculum as well as to social justice, schools and society"--
Diversity and Inclusion in Higher Education and Societal Contexts by
Groundbreaking in its international, interdisciplinary, and multi-professional approach to diversity and inclusion in higher education, this volume puts theory in conversation with practice, articulates problems, and suggests deep-structured strategies from multiple perspectives including performed art, education, dis/ability studies, institutional as well as government policy, health humanities, history, jurisprudence, psychology, race and ethnicity studies, and semiotic theory. The authors--originating from Austria, Germany, Luxembourg, Trinidad, Turkey, and the US-- invite readers to join the conversation and sustain the work.
Diversity and Triumphs of Navigating the Terrain of Academe by
Many challenges are faced by under-represented groups in academia. Difficulties during the tenure process, prejudice stemming from affirmative action and higher levels of scrutiny than their colleagues are just a few tribulations experienced by faculty members from minority groups that have gone unnoticed and often ignored. The contributors of Diversity and Triumphs of Navigating the Terrain of Academe share these narratives and tell of how faculty navigate through situations such as microaggressions, racism and sexism. By taking an anecdotal approach, this volume captures the experiences of those who teach at institutions dominated by white males in the United States and abroad. This book is written as a treatise to dismantle the powers of discriminatory incubuses that have haunted institutions of higher learning, one narrative at a time. Some of these institutions are still making history in hiring its first person of color within its departments. Collectively, the contributors' experiences serve as instrumentalities that work together to initiate dialogue among current and future members of the professoriate, making this title an invaluable text for researchers and higher education administrators alike.
Fostering a Climate of Inclusion in the College Classroom by
This book examines inclusion teaching at the college and university level. It establishes the importance of the Humanities disciplines and the use of qualitative analysis as a means of understanding and encouraging democratic materials and classroom organization. The first section of the text provides two primers for those unfamiliar with pedagogical history and theory. These primers are designed to give basic information and sources for additional study. They trace pedagogical influences from foundationism, neoliberalism, conflict, and critical theories to critical race theory, Red pedagogy, and decolonization theories. The second half of the book focuses on strategies to assist those attempting classroom inclusion. These chapters are designed to assist with practical ways in which inclusion can be advanced as well as strategies to assist junior faculty in the navigation of the politics of inclusive education.
Negotiating Disability by
Disability is not always central to claims about diversity and inclusion in higher education, but should be. This collection reveals the pervasiveness of disability issues and considerations within many higher education populations and settings, from classrooms to physical environments to policy impacts on students, faculty, administrators, and staff. While disclosing one's disability and identifying shared experiences can engender moments of solidarity, the situation is always complicated by the intersecting factors of race and ethnicity, gender, sexuality, and class. With disability disclosure as a central point of departure, this collection of essays builds on scholarship that highlights the deeply rhetorical nature of disclosure and embodied movement, emphasizing disability disclosure as a complex calculus in which degrees of perceptibility are dependent on contexts, types of interactions that are unfolding, interlocutors' long- and short-term goals, disabilities, and disability experiences, and many other contingencies.
Reframing Campus Conflict by
Thisfully revised and updated second edition builds upon the original vision of thefirst, which was to give voice to diverse and inclusive perspectives,identities, and practices and to enact the principle that student conduct andconflict response must be based upon foundations of social justice andrestorative justice to disrupt and transform overly legalistic and escalatedmanagement applications in student conduct administration. The Spectrum Model(Schrage & Thompson, 2008) approach centers advocacy for inclusive conflictexcellence by expanding traditional adjudication pathways to include dialogue,conflict coaching, mediation, restorative practices, and shuttle diplomacy fora more robust and inclusive expression of conflict and conductpractices. In theintervening decade, this co-edited work has become more relevant than ever ascolleges and universities continue to be the targets of litigation, activists,lawmakers and public officials who have, for instance, changed the Title IXrules for responding to sexual misconduct. Civility, hate crimes, activism,immigration, nationalism, and free speech are all again on the forefront of challengesimpacting the current campus climate. New chapters cover these and other issues including the unprecedented COVID-19pandemic response and impact on equity and justice in higher education, andamplified calls for racial justice and police reform. The book is furtherenhanced by chapter case studies, summaries and questions for dialogue, toencourage further reflection by the reader and bolster the usefulness of thework as a textbook and campus training guide. The second edition is a must-have resource for broad stakeholders invested ininclusive conflict excellence and principled leadership in education in themidst of a shifting and increasingly polarized landscape. This includes legalcounsel, higher education presidents, senior student affairs administrators andfaculty leadership as well as student conduct practitioners across conductboards, hearing and appeal officers, residential and organizational staffengaged in student facing campus climate work. Reframing Campus Conflictfurther offers transferable content that supports inclusive conflict excellenceinquiry and application in graduate programs, K-12, special education and humanresource management practices. This book is for all educators, administrators,practitioners and leaders committed to engaging campus conflict work throughthe inclusive lenses of social, restorative, transformative and proceduraljustice. This is also available as a set with Student Conduct Practice, Second Edition.
Slavery and the University by
Slavery and the University is the first edited collection of scholarly essays devoted solely to the histories and legacies of this subject on North American campuses and in their Atlantic contexts. Gathering together contributions from scholars, activists, and administrators, the volume combines two broad bodies of work: (1) historically based interdisciplinary research on the presence of slavery at higher education institutions in terms of the development of proslavery and antislavery thought and the use of slave labor; and (2) analysis on the ways in which the legacies of slavery in institutions of higher education continued in the post-Civil War era to the present day. The collection features broadly themed essays on issues of religion, economy, and the regional slave trade of the Caribbean. It also includes case studies of slavery's influence on specific institutions, such as Princeton University, Harvard University, Oberlin College, Emory University, and the University of Alabama. Though the roots of Slavery and the University stem from a 2011 conference at Emory University, the collection extends outward to incorporate recent findings. As such, it offers a roadmap to one of the most exciting developments in the field of U.S. slavery studies and to ways of thinking about racial diversity in the history and current practices of higher education.
Strategies for Facilitating Inclusive Campuses in Higher Education by
Higher education institutions continue to encounter an increasingly complex set of issues regarding equity, diversity and inclusion on university campuses. Many institutions are striving to find creative solutions to eliminate access, participation, and achievement barriers as well as practices that impede retention and graduation rates. This volume provides educators with a global understanding of the successes and challenges associated with facilitating inclusive campuses in higher education amidst the growing diversity of students by providing evidence-based strategies and ideas for implementing equity and inclusion at higher education institutions around the world. By addressing challenges experienced at a cross-cultural level, this book is an invaluable resource for educators and higher education practitioners alike.
Strategies for Supporting Inclusion and Diversity in the Academy by
This book explores tried and tested strategies that support student and faculty engagement and inclusion in the academy. These strategies are anchored by a brief exploration of the history and effect/s of exclusion and deprivilege in higher education. However, while many publications exploring academic inequality focus on the causes and impacts of structural, psychological and cultural exclusion based on racism, sexism, classism and ableism, they rarely engage in interventions to expose and combat such de/privilege. Capturing examples of inclusive practices that are as diverse as student and faculty populations, these strategies can be easily translated and employed by organisations, collectives and individuals to recognise and combat social and academic exclusion within higher education environments.
Toward Information Justice by
This book presents a theory of information justice that subsumes the question of control and relates it to other issues that influence just social outcomes. ​Data does not exist by nature. Bureaucratic societies must provide standardized inputs for governing algorithms, a problem that can be understood as one of legibility. This requires, though, converting what we know about social objects and actions into data, narrowing the many possible representations of the objects to a definitive one using a series of translations. Information thus exists within a nexus of problems, data, models, and actions that the social actors constructing the data bring to it. This opens information to analysis from social and moral perspectives, while the scientistic view leaves us blind to the gains from such analysis--especially to the ways that embedded values and assumptions promote injustice. Toward Information Justice answers a key question for the 21st Century: how can an information-driven society be just? Many of those concerned with the ethics of data focus on control over data, and argue that if data is only controlled by the right people then just outcomes will emerge. There are serious problems with this control metaparadigm, however, especially related to the initial creation of data and prerequisites for its use. This text is suitable for academics in the fields of information ethics, political theory, philosophy of technology, and science and technology studies, as well as policy professionals who rely on data to reach increasingly problematic conclusions about courses of action.​
Universities, Inclusive Development and Social Innovation by
This book examines the ways in which universities can play a crucial role in inclusive development, social innovation and social entrepreneurship. It aims to prove the importance of inclusive development and inclusive innovation on economic growth and demonstrate the ways in which universities can be pioneers in this area through initiatives in social responsibility and social innovation. For example, providing access to a university education without discrimination of race, gender, income status, or other factors would help to diminish the increasing income differentials currently being experienced in many countries, especially in the developing world. The research and studies included in this book provide insight into possible actions that can be taken by universities and public and private shareholders in inclusive development, social innovation, social entrepreneurship and overall regional economic and social development. Innovation is currently considered to be the most important and dynamic factor explaining growth and development. At the same time, the traditional view considering innovation as having to be commercialized at any price is being challenged. Lately, there has been growing interest in innovation in the public sector, particularly with respect to social innovations designed to reduce income inequality. To address these concepts, constant exchange of ideas and information between research groups became necessary. UniDev (Universities in Development - the Evolving Role of Academic Institutions in Innovation Systems and Development) is an international research group with researchers in twelve countries interested in the role of universities in development. This book features the results of research performed by eleven research groups from UniDev country communities, presenting in-depth and comparative case studies from universities around the world, including Latin America, Northern and Eastern Europe, and sub-Saharan Africa. This title will be of interest to students, academics, researchers, and policy makers interested in the role of universities in development, social innovation and social entrepreneurship.
