Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian

National History Day Research Guide: Secondary and Tertiary Sources

Find your Local Library

Use the West Virginia Library Commission Library Directory Map to locate your local public library. Use the catalogue from your local library to search for books - ask your local librarian for help if you need it!

**Be sure to note if your local library is open during the COVID-19 pandemic. They may have limited hours or may only be doing curbside collection.**

Databases through the WVLC

Use the following websites to locate articles on your topic:

It's also a good idea to check what additional databases may be available through your local library.

Appalachian Materials

Peruse the Appalachian Bibliography for books and journal articles on Appalachia. The bibliography is organized by subject and will help guide you to secondary sources you can look for at your local library.

Online Appalachian encyclopedias

Appalachian English (dictionary)
http://artsandsciences.sc.edu/engl/dictionary/
Includes an online Dictionary of Southern Appalachian English, MP3 sound transcripts of native speakers, annotated bibliography, full-text articles, and links to other sites.

e-WV: The West Virginia Encyclopedia
http://www.wvencyclopedia.org/
Charleston: West Virginia Humanities Council, 2010--  .
Thousands of articles on WV’s people and places, history, arts, science and culture.

Encyclopedia of Alabama
http://www.encyclopediaofalabama.org
Birmingham: Alabama Humanities Foundation.

The New Georgia Encyclopedia
http://www.newgeorgiaencyclopedia.org/nge/Home.jsp.
Athens: Georgia Humanities Council and the University of Georgia Press.
“Articles, images, sound, and moving image material as well as links to other Web sites related to the history, culture, and life of the state.”  Includes a link to the Digital Library of Georgia [primary sources].

NCpedia
http://ncpedia.org.
Raleigh: State Library of North Carolina.
7,000 articles and 7,400 images. Browse by topic, location, image.

Ohio History Central: An Online Encyclopedia of Ohio History
http://www.ohiohistorycentral.org/
Columbus: Ohio Historical Society.
Indexed by location (Southeast Ohio), topic, media, time period, category.

Tennessee Encyclopedia of History and Culture
http://tennesseeencyclopedia.net
Knoxville: University of Tennessee Press.
Search by category, image gallery, media gallery, map gallery.

Encyclopedia Virginia
http://www.encyclopediavirginia.org
Charlottesville: Virginia Foundation for the Humanities.