Election Data Resources

The ANES series is one of the premier sources for data on voting behavior and political attitudes.
Date Range | 1948 - present

The Campaign Expenditures in the United States series is made available by the Federal Election Commission (FEC) through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).
Date Range | 1981 - 2002

The dataset tracks the evolution of electoral sentiment over the campaign cycle.
Date Range | 1944 - 2000

This data collection contains the transcripts of United States presidential and vice presidential televised debates of the twentieth century.
Date Range | 1960 - 1996

This collection contains county-level returns for elections to the United States presidency and to the United States House of Representatives.
Date Range | 1840 -1972

ICPSR's holdings of historical election data consists of several discrete datasets that contain county- and state-level returns for all elections to the offices of president, governor, United States senator, and United States representative.
Date Range | 1788 - 1990

Pre-election polling on major issues.
Date Range | 1976 - 2016

Demographic information on presidential elections.
Date Range | 1976 - 2016

Exit days polls
Date Range | 1972 to 2018

Approval rating by president.
Date Range | 1937 - present

Discover what the U.S. public thinks about key election issues and how this compares to 2016.

Collection of academic publications and series from Congressional Quarterly.

Statistical compilation of data on the presidency. All the tables are available in spreadsheet format. Topics include Presidential selection, elections, public appearances, public opinion, presidential organization and the Executive Branch, Presidents in war and diplomacy, Presidential policymaking, Congressional relations, and the Presidency and the Judiciary.

Statistics on elections and political parties, public opinion and voting, the media, the three branches of U.S. government, foreign, military, social and economic policy, and much more.

Thorough, extensive in scope, and meticulously researched, America Votes includes official, state-certified election returns and key data by county and by district for the House, Senate, and gubernatorial elections. Link goes to 2017-2018 edition. See Read next section for additional volumes.
Date Range | 2011 - present

Thoroughly revised and infused with new data, analysis, and discussion of issues relating to elections through 2015, the Guide will include chapters on: Analysis of the campaigns for presidency, from the primaries through the general election Data on the candidates, winners/losers, and election returns Details on congressional and gubernatorial contests from the primaries through the general elections supplemented with vast historical data.
Date Range | 1776 - 2015

Voter turnout statistics for general and primary elections for presidential, congressional, and state gubernatorial races.
Date Range | 1788 - 2009

Electoral history of African American voters from the Colonial era to the present. Includes both essays analyzing data collections and historical context as well as numerous tables on African American voting, registration, turnout, and other measures both nationally and in various states.

State-level returns for presidential elections.
Date Range | 1976 - 2016

County-level returns for presidential elections
Date Range | 2000 - 2016

Popular site of U.S. election data that provides tables, graphs, and maps for presidential (1789-present), senatorial (1990+), and gubernatorial (1990+) elections.

Election returns by state and precinct.
Date Range | 2000 - present

Searchable collection of early American election returns, including elections for state House and Senate, governor, sheriffs, commissioners, city councils, mayors, and much more. Narrow by state, year, office, jurisdiction, party, and election type. Full datasets for each state can also be downloaded.
Date Range | 1787 - 1825