Research and teaching with digitized archives

Content related to the 2021 American Indian Boarding School Workshop on this page includes

• selected reporting on Indian Boarding Schools in 2021
• teaching and learning ideas and definitions informing my teaching (+  lesson plan for this session)
• Native American related collections at the West Virginia and Regional History Center (links out)

Selected current news coverage of Native American Boarding Schools from a mix of Native news sources and national/multinational news agencies and media groups, named beneath each article link. 

Andragogy

The adult learning theory of Malcolm Knowles INFOGRAPHIC

Backward instructional design

1. Identify desired results
2. Include options for accessibility
3. Determine acceptable evidence
4. Design learning experiences and instruction

Beginner's mind

Shoshin in Zen Buddhism means the open mind of a beginner 

Close reading

A disciplined and thorough examination of a small passage of text 

Cultural iceberg

Looking beneath the material trappings of culture, Edward T. Hall, 1976, model from Beyond Culture

Culturally relevant pedagogy

A model focused on multiple aspects of student achievement and supporting students' cultural identities, calling for students to develop critical perspectives and challenge societal inequalities (video on K-12 with CRP and primary sources)

Deep reading

A deliberate examination and active thinking through of a text 

Digital divide

Disparity between those with and without internet access

Essential questions

Essential Questions by Jay McTighe and Grant Wiggins

Feminist evaluation

Flexible ways of thinking about and approaches to evaluation at Better Evaluation

Information privilege 

Access to information based on status, affiliation, or power 

Lateral reading

"The act of verifying what you're reading as you're reading it." ~ Terry Heick in This Is The Future And Reading Is Different Than You Remember

Media literacy concepts and questions

Five (5) key questions and core concepts of media literacy

Media literacy concepts and questions - simplified and applicable to many materials such as images, videos, text, artifacts, treaties, government documents:

• Who made this?
• What is the agenda of the maker?
• What techniques used reflect the agenda (to convince me to believe the message)? 
• What is not shown, who is left out?
• How many other people see this differently? 
• Who benefits?
• Who has power?
• How might these (photographs or other material) be used to exploit the subjects and create dependency?
• What are the benefits? What is the cost? From whose perspective?

Modifications for learners

• Reading comprehension
• Verbal expression
• Written expression
• Sight and hearing
• Emotional regulation / anxiety / anger

Open access

Open Access resources are freely accessible to anyone with internet access

Open education

Open Educational Resources Commons

Open pedagogy

Open Pedagogy Notebook 

Open science

Center for Open Science 

Ungrading

• Ungrading: an FAQ
• Ungrading: Why Rating Students Undermines Learning (and What to Do Instead) by Susan D. Blum (Editor), Alfie Kohn (Foreword)

Universal design for learning

Guidelines and framework from CAST 

Vocabulary and descriptive terms

Questions

• What perspectives can you use to investigate this word and its use? 
• What are the word origins of the term? How do they change over time? 
• Are there other ways of thinking that this term disregards? 
• What are the related terms? 

Keywords

Warrior, Robert. Indian. In the hybrid print and digital book Keywords for American Cultural Studies, Third Edition, keywords outside the Library of Congress controlled vocabulary are explored in detail. 

• Classroom use 
• Syllabi and assignments

American Indian Boarding School Archives Session Outline and Lesson Plan:
Research and Teaching with Digital Archives

 

Outline

This learning activity provides the opportunity to add to our teaching and research toolkits

• Exploring digitized archives and primary source sets 
  • sharing on ideaboardz 
    • what was left out that you know about to share
    • new ideas you encountered or had and want to explore more (on fire)
    • practical questions (may have an answer)
    • essential questions (may be open ended and circled back to)
• Exploring teaching tools, methods, and practices  
  • sharing on ideaboardz 
    • what was left out that you know about to share
    • new ideas you encountered or had and want to explore more (on fire)
    • practical questions (may have an answer)
    • essential questions (may be open ended and circled back to
• Takeaways discussion

Lesson Plan

Students

What are the academic, social, physical, personal, and emotional needs of my students?

• Adult learners, acknowledge the challenge of confronting a history and legacy of atrocities and genocide, know who else is in the room and why they are here, what do they want to get from today? 
• This acknowledgement is important for you to share with students when you teach with this content.
• Adult learners, phrase this as a question - they do the work, they own their learning.
  • method: observe, reflect, question
  • goal: build a learning community

Assessment - questions on event assessment survey 

Strategies:

Which teaching strategies will best facilitate my students' learning?

• Independent exploration, choice, share expertise and analysis
• share the media literacy concepts and questions - applying these to a photo, can be adjusted for other materials such as artifacts or treaties:
  • Who made this?
  • What is not shown, who is left out?
  • Why did they make it? What is their agenda?
  • What methods, materials, or techniques did they use to get my attention or convince me?

Materials

What materials and human resources do I need for the lesson to be successful?

• Free materials with open access
• Tech support from Library Systems

Texts

• Units from the Library of Congress and and Dickinson
• Library Guide with more places to explore (what other sources do they discover and share? - add them to the Libguide)

Worksheets for notes

• Library of Congress Primary Source Analysis Tool handout 
  • provide a visual note taking handout and pen

Media

• Overview video (Adobe Spark)
• Library of Congress YouTube video Analyzing a Primary Source  
• Photos from the Library of Congress, lesson plans 

Technology

• Library computers
• Tech support
• Guest logins
• Headphones

Procedures and timeline

Steps of the lesson

• 5 m Before/Introduction
  • welcome
  • acknowledge people
  • content warning and support

• 5 m During/Development
  • What will you do?
    • show
      • library guide
      • overview video
      • LOC primary source tool video 
      • distribute handout and business card
      • ideaboardz functionality 
    • assign content and time on task
    • keep time and be available for questions
  • What will students do? Include your teaching strategies, management strategies and transitions
    • step one
      • follow introduction and ask questions
    • step two
      • choose a teaching tool or a digitized archive to analyze
      • skim each of the lists and decide
    • step three  
      • spend time with the resource and make notes, based on the prompts, on the Primary Source Analysis worksheet
    • step four
      • go to the IdeaBoardz for the source type they selected and share their discoveries
      • balance time between teaching sources and content sources according to their interests 
      • facilitated discussion (any overlap in the teaching resources outcomes and the digitized collection outcomes?)
  • Closure: How will you bring closure to the lesson?
    • 5 min closing remarks, summarize, thank, what's next? 
      • express thanks for time, attention, and sharing
      • invite them to share resources to add to the guide
      • share what is next
        • the guide will be weeded of specific event content and openly shared
        • the classroom and computers will stay open and available until the next session if they want to use them for any reason
        • session assessment will be included in one workshop assessment form