Research Guides: School of Medicine Faculty Library Services: Research Resources

Research Resources

The Health Sciences Library provides access to many research resources. Through the library you have an extensive access to databases and journals across the health sciences, interlibrary loan, and tools to help you along the way. On this page, you will find information on how to use library resources and a sampling of databases available to you to use.

Sample of Databases

Below is a sample of databases available for you to use. For a complete list of Health Science databases click here.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's gateway to MEDLINE, a National Library of Medicine bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,200 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete is a major research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature, with more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1982. The database provides full text for more than 1,300 nursing & allied health journals indexed in CINAHL.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including the Database of Systematic Reviews, the Database of Reviews of Effectiveness, and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.
UpToDate (Restricted to HSC campus only. No remote access) This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is a point-of-care tool that synthesizes knowledge for clinicians and patients. The resource covers more than 7,400 topics in 13 medical specialties and includes more than 76,000 pages of text, graphics, links to Medline abstracts, more than 254,000 references, and a drug database.

Um, I got a Log-in Prompt?

From off-campus locations, you will be prompted to enter a username and password when you select a resource. If you have both WVU and WVU Medicine credentials, you will need to use your WVU login.

Username: WVUID username (usually the same as the MIX username).
Password: WVUID password

Check here for help with WVUID.

Tools to Use

BrowZine

BrowZine Web allows your to browze WVU online journals by subject, or look up your favorite title. BrowZine can also help you create a personal virtual bookshelf of favorite journal

LibKey Nomad

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that provides single click access to library content from publisher websites, PubMed, Wikipedia and more. Simply install it via the Libkey website, click on the extension, select West Virginia University as the institution and you are all set. For further instruction check out the LibKey Nomad research guide.

InterLibrary Loan

ILLiad is our InterLibrary Loan system. WVU Libraries is part of a university library consortium that allows WVU students, faculty, and staff to request and receive articles from publications the library does not subscribe to.

Citation Managers

Citation Manager Software helps you:

Collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources (This is your personal database)
Automatically create citations using a variety of referencing styles
Effortlessly build bibliographies to properly cite the information that you use
Save and organize articles in PDF format, graphs, images, or other files in your research

WVU supports three difference citation managers:

Zotero

EndNote Basic

Side by Side Comparison

Need a poster printed?

Need to print a poster for a conference presentation? The library has you covered. Find out more about poster printing.