Welcome! You have made it to the Physician Assistant Studies program guide! If you have questions or comments, feel free to reach out to me directly, or use any of our Ask-a-Librarian services.
Clinically Oriented Anatomy by
The world's most trusted clinically focused anatomy text! Renowned for comprehensive coverage, the best-selling Clinically Oriented Anatomy guides students from initial anatomy and foundational science courses through clinical training and practice. The eighth edition reflects significant new information and updates and maintains the highest standards for scientific and clinical accuracy. Comprehensive updates reflect changes in the clinical application of anatomy as well as new imaging technologies, focusing on the anatomy that students need to know. Extensively revised "Clinical Blue Boxes" explore the practical applications of anatomy, and helpful icons distinguish the type of clinical information covered in each. Clinically relevant anatomy focuses on physical diagnosis, interpretation of diagnostic imaging, and understanding the anatomical basis of emergency medicine and general surgery. Insightfully rendered, anatomically accurate illustrations, with updates throughout , make this book an aesthetically rewarding learning resource. Combined with many photographs and medical images, these stunning visuals facilitate comprehension of anatomical concepts and retention of "mental images" of anatomical structures. New and updated medical imaging and integrated surface anatomy within each chapter demonstrates the relationship between anatomy, physical examination, and diagnosis. Expanded "Overview and Basic Concepts" chapter includes functional systemic anatomy summaries and introduces approaches to studying anatomy, terminology, imaging, and more. Inclusion of new sections describing the enteric nervous system (considered by some as a "second brain") and its unique role in the innervation of the digestive system gives students cutting-edge insight into this significant scientific discovery. A more realistic approach to the musculoskeletal system explores the action and use of muscles and muscle groups in daily activities, emphasizing gait and grip. "Bottom Line" boxes summarize information to facilitate ongoing review and underscore the big-picture viewpoint. Clinical Blue Box animations, case studies, and interactive multiple-choice questions online at thePoint.lww.com facilitate review and self-testing.
Health Care Ethics by
Provides students with tools to identify the problems in heath care. Health Care Ethics is aclear, accessible text/reference that explores the full range of contemporary issues in health care ethics from a practical wisdom approach. The authors present the fundamental concerns of modern medical ethics---autonomy, beneficence, justice, and confidentiality---and then provide analysis, cases, and insights from professional literature to discuss them. Throughout, the discussion starts with larger issues or concepts and principles and then focuses on specific problems or complications. Learning Goals Upon completing this book, readers will be able to: Identify the problems in health care ranging from end of life issues to testing and research. Develop a more well-rounded understanding of cultural traditions that are not a part of the mainstream discussion of American medical ethics. Analyze the various views on health care ethics.
Physician Assistants by
Incorporates the latest research and data. Discusses the impact of changes in the health care system on education and professional development. Covers all of the content for the introductory PA course. Explores the PA's role in primary, inpatient, and specialized care. Examines the legal basis of PA deployment and the economics of their utilization. Fulfills ARC-PA standards. Offers an extensive bibliography detailing the research sources on which the book is based.
Evidence Based Practice for Health Professionals by
Evidence Based Practice for Health Professionals is included in the 2015 edition of the essential collection of Doody's Core Titles. Evidence based practice (EBP) has become the standard in health care practice today. Evidence Based Practice for Health Professionals covers the fundamentals of applying medical evidence to clinical practice and discussing research findings with patients and fellow professionals. This essential text explains the basic concepts of EBP, its applications in health care, and how to interpret biostatistics and biomedical research. With examples derived from multiple health professions, Evidence Based Practice for Health Professionals teaches the skills needed to access and interpret research in order to successfully apply it to collaborative, patient-centered health care decisions. Students gain valuable practice with skill-building learning activities, such as explaining the evidence for treatments to patients, developing a standard of care, selecting a diagnostic tool, and designing community-based educational materials. Evidence-Based Practice for Health Professionals also helps prepare students to communicate knowledgeably with members of interprofessional healthcare teams as well as with pharmaceutical sales representatives. * Covers EBP fundamentals and their application to clinical practice * Teaches the skills needed to interpret medical research and apply it to patient care * Enables students to develop EBP skills with practical learning activities * Prepares students to communicate about medical evidence with patients and fellow professionals INSTRUCTOR RESOURCES * Instructor's Manual * PowerPoint Presentations * Test Bank * Handouts Student Resources: Companion Website* *Each new copy of the textbook includes an access code for the Companion Website. Please note electronic formats/eBooks do not include access to the Companion Website.
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by
Perform an accurate, efficient, and effective physical examination with confidence. Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking provides authoritative, step-by-step guidance on performing the patient interview and physical examination, applying clinical reasoning, shared decision-making, and other core assessment skills--all based on a firm understanding of clinical evidence. This highly regarded text includes fully illustrated, step-by-step techniques that outline the correct performance of the physical examination and an easy-to-follow two-column format featuring examination techniques on the left and abnormalities (clearly indicated in red) with differential diagnoses on the right. Bates' also includes a unit on special populations, covering special stages in the life cycle--infancy through adolescence, pregnancy, and aging. Clinical pearls , printed in blue, highlight key points throughout the text. Text boxes help readers quickly find important summaries of clinical conditions and tips for challenging examination techniques. Many new and updated photographs and illustrations support the text, and figures are now numbered for easy identification and reference. Rewritten chapter on evaluating clinical evidence clarifies key concepts to ensure student understanding. Revised and expanded chapter on the skin, hair, and nails includes new dermatology photographs and provides the framework for assessing common lesions and abnormalities. Updated behavior and mental status chapter now references DSM-5 . Significantly revised information on obesity and nutrition counseling; cardiovascular risk factor screening and new clinical guidelines; new screening guidelines for breast cancer, colon cancer, Papanicolau smears, and stroke risk factors; updated information on STIs; new geriatric assessment tools; and much more. New life cycle content , including an increased emphasis on cardiovascular health promotion and child development; updated pregnancy topics such as weight gain, substance abuse, and intimate partner violence; and new information on the older adult, including frailty, immunizations, cancer screening, cognitive decline and dementia screening, and a new algorithm for falls prevention. Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking is the #1 choice for complete, authoritative guidance on mastering every aspect of the all-important physical examination. Don't Miss These Additional Resources also Available for Purchase: Bates' Pocket Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking, Eighth Edition The Pocket Guide is an abbreviated version of the Bates' twelfth edition textbook, designed for portability and convenience at the bedside. Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination (www.batesvisualguide.com) Recently refilmed, these 18 volumes of examination videos (as well as 10 additional OSCEs) depict experienced clinicians conducting each of the regional examinations. The videos demonstrate visually the varying techniques of inspection, palpation, percussion, and auscultation in the regional examinations and special populations.
Guide to Clinical Documentation by
Learning objectives in each chapter to help you recognize important concepts at the beginning of the chapter, and reinforce what is summarized at the end of each chapter Coverage of -problem-oriented medical records, patients with multiple complaints or multiple conditions Hands-on, problem-based exercises Worksheets at the end of each chapter Examples of "good" and "bad" documentation for evaluation Real-life case studies that illustrate the potential consequences of poor or inaccurate documentation. Explanations of use and terminology of ICD-10-CM codes in billing Boxes highlighting medicolegal considerations.
Essentials of Pathophysiology by
Prepare your students for their future careers with Essentials of Pathophysiology: Concepts of Altered Health States, 4/e. This clear, readable, and student-friendly text delivers "need to know" disease content, along with the essential foundation in science that nursing, physician assistant, pharmacology, advanced health science, and medical students need to succeed in their future careers. Approaching the topic as an exploration of pathophysiology, the book relates normal body functioning to the physiologic changes that occur as a result of disease and provides concise yet complete coverage of how the body works. The Fourth Edition builds on the book''s extremely successful art program and the "Understanding" feature and incorporates summary concept boxes after each section. In addition, an expanded, robust, and flexible suite of supplements, including a Study Guide, over 40 advanced 3-D animations, PrepU, and Lippincott''s CoursePoint , provide students with all the tools they need to succeed. Student Resources: Learning Objectives for each chapter provide an outline of key content that must be mastered. Journal Articles by chapter, updated for this edition, offer access to current research available in LWW journals. Concepts in Action Animations for every chapter help students master key topics. New! More than 40 Advanced, 3-D Narrated Animations help students master complex pathophysiological concepts. A Spanish-English Audio Glossary provides terms and phrases for communicating with patients in Spanish. Monographs of the most commonly prescribed drugs provide up-to-date information. 600 NCLEX-style Review Questions help students improve their test-taking skills and prepare for the NCLEX. A Dosage Calculations Question & Review Question Bank gives students practice in math skills and calculating drug dosages and reinforce key topics of the course. Instructor Resources: PowerPoint presentations make it easy for you to integrate the textbook with your students'' classroom experience, via either handouts or slide shows. Guided Lecture Notes walk you through the chapters, objective by objective, and provide corresponding PowerPoint numbers. Discussion Topics (and suggested answers) can be used as a conversation starter or in online discussion boards. Assignments (and suggested answers) include group, written, clinical, and Web assignments. Case Studies (with related questions and suggested answers) give your students an opportunity to apply their knowledge to a client case similar to what they will encounter in practice. Journal Articles, updated for this edition, offer access to research available in LWW journals. Answers to Review Exercises in the Book are provided for your convenience. Pre-Lecture Quizzes (and answers) are quick, knowledge-based assessments that allow you to check students'' reading. Learning Objectives for each chapter allow you to assess your students'' mastery of key skills. A QSEN Map demonstrates how the text supports QSEN competencies and their relationship to excellent clinical practice. A Sample Syllabus provides guidance for structuring your course. Concepts in Action Animations and Advanced 3-D Narrated Animations are provided to enhance your lectures. To further support your course, the Fourth Edition is accompanied by a Study Guide, PrepU , and new to this edition, Lippincott CoursePoint, a digital curriculum solution that integrates adaptive learning powered by PrepU with access to personalized, perfectly timed remediation built on trusted content. Each product in the suite can be purchased separately or packaged with the main text.
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The most up-to-date, comprehensive, and authoritative pharmacology text in health medicine--enhanced by a new full-color illustrations A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Organized to reflect the syllabi in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, Fourteenth Edition covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. Selection of the subject matter and order of its presentation are based on the authors' many years' experience in teaching this material to thousands of medical, pharmacy, dental, podiatry, nursing, and other health science students. To be as clinically relevant as possible, the book includes sections that specifically address the clinical choice and use of drugs in patients and the monitoring of their effects, and case studies that introduce clinical problems in many chapters. Presented in full color and enhanced by more than three hundred illustrations (many new to this edition), Basic & Clinical Pharmacology features numerous summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information. * Student-acclaimed summary tables conclude each chapter * Everything students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice * Strong emphasis on drug groups and prototypes * NEW! 100 new drug tables * Includes 330 full-color illustrations, case studies, and chapter-ending summary tables * Organized to reflect the syllabi of pharmacology courses * Descriptions of important new drugs
The PA's Complete Guide to Prescribing Drug Therapy 2018 by 
Genetics and Genomics in Medicine by
Genetics and Genomics in Medicineis a new textbook written for undergraduate students, graduate students, and medical researchers that explains the science behind the uses of genetics and genomics in medicine today. Rather than focusing narrowly on rare inherited and chromosomal disorders, it is a comprehensive and integrated account of how genetics and genomics affect the whole spectrum of human health and disease. DNA technologies are explained, with emphasis on the modern techniques that have revolutionized the use of genetic information in medicine and are indicating the role of genetics in common diseases. Epigenetics and non-coding RNA are covered in-depth as are genetic approaches to treatment and prevention, including pharmacogenomics, genetic testing, and personalized medicine. Cancers are essentially genetic diseases and are given a dedicated chapter that includes new insights into its molecular basis and approaches to its detection gained from cancer genomics. Specific topics, including multiple examples of clinical disorders, molecular mechanisms, and technological advances, are profiled in boxes throughout the text.
Human Development and Performance Throughout the Lifespan by
Human Development & Performance Throughout the Lifespan, 2nd Edition is ideal for occupational therapy, physical therapy, and other rehabilitation disciplines. It provides a broad, occupation-based viewpoint of development and performance throughout all life stages with an emphasis on the factors that influence daily participation and optimal performance of desired daily life tasks. The authors use a life course conceptual model as an organizational foundation for clinical reasoning to help readers understand how to implement the activity- and participation-based goals and outcomes for therapy. Written by an occupational therapist and a physical therapist, the book incorporates chapters by leading experts in human development, giving users cutting-edge information and a wide range of perspectives. By integrating information from the International Classification of Function and Disability (ICF) with a developmental life-task perspective, the book gives both newcomers and experienced professionals an essential, contemporary frame of reference.
Essential Clinical Procedures by
Written by foremost experts in the field, the 3rd Edition of Essential Clinical Procedures presents the latest common diagnostic and treatment-related procedures that you need to know as a physician assistant! Clear and concise, this medical reference book leads you step-by-step through over 70 techniques commonly seen in primary care and specialist settings, equipping you to deliver the best and safest care to your patients. Visualize procedures and other important concepts clearly through over 300 high-quality illustrations. Ensure the safe execution of procedures with a focus on patient preparation and the proper use of instruments, as well as highlighted warnings to alert you to potential dangers that can occur when performing various treatments. Be fully prepared for any situation with guidance on the possible complications, rationales, and precautions behind many common procedures. Understand the ins and outs of nonprocedural issues, including informed consent, standard precautions, patient education, and procedure documentation. Get all the hands-on guidance you need to provide safe and effective care to your patients with Essential Clinical Procedures! Understand the "must-know" aspects of the most commonly seen conditions with a systematic presentation featuring consistent headings and supporting color images. Quickly access core information through high-yield margin notes and consistent formatting across all chapters. Stay abreast of the latest procedures with a brand-new chapter and images on Reduction of the Shoulder/Finger Subluxations, plus many other updates throughout. Access the fully searchable text online at www.expertconsult.com!
Orthopaedics for Physician Assistants by
The first reference of its kind designed specifically for PAs, Orthopaedics for Physician Assistants is a comprehensive, portable handbook that helps you master orthopaedic physical examination and history taking, imaging interpretation and diagnosis, and treatment strategies - essential knowledge that directly affects your patient care. Authors Sara Rynders and Jennifer Hart present precisely the diagnostic and procedural information you need with this easy-to-use, PA-focused orthopaedic resource! Learn how to interpret and correlate lab and diagnostic procedures, reach an accurate diagnosis, formulate effective treatment plans, and implement therapeutic strategies. Quickly grasp pertinent information with brief, bulleted text enhanced with clear diagrams and images. Easily follow the guidelines for each procedure thanks to consistent headings in each chapter and a handy outline format. See how to perform 14 key joint injections with online videos demonstrating elbow joint injection, knee joint injection, medial epicondyle injection, subacromial injection, digital block, and more. Access the entire text and illustrations online at www.expertconsult.com.
Andreoli and Carpenter's Cecil Essentials of Medicine by
Students, residents, and instructors swear by Andreoli and Carpenter's Cecil Essentials of Medicine because it presents just the right amount of information, just the right way. This updated edition has been revised to provide the most current, easy-to-digest review of internal medicine. Comprehensive yet concise, it focuses on the high-yield core knowledge important to those established in or just entering the field. Excellent images and photographs vividly illustrate the appearance and clinical features of disease. Full-color design makes absorbing and retaining information as effortless as possible. Highlights the core principles of medicine and how they apply to patient care. Focused revision reduces the number of pages from the previous edition, providing more high-yield core information in an accessible format. Clear, concise writing style facilitates comprehension, while new figures, tables, and end-of-chapter references enhance readability and retention. Consistent format provides clarity. Each section describes key physiology and biochemistry, followed by comprehensive accounts of the diseases of the organ system or field covered in the chapters. Brand-new chapters on Thrombosis and Head and Neck Infections ensure coverage of the topics most relevant to each reader's needs. Student Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience includes web-only extras, additional figures and tables, clinical photos, radiologic images, video procedures, imaging studies, and audio recordings, in addition to the fully searchable text and all of the images from the book. Your purchase entitles you to access the web site until the next edition is published, or until the current edition is no longer offered for sale by Elsevier, whichever occurs first. Elsevier reserves the right to offer a suitable replacement product (such as a downloadable or CD-ROM-based electronic version) should online access to the web site be discontinued.
Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2018 by
The #1 annually updated general medical text - enabling you to put the latest research into practice CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment is the most comprehensive, reliable, and timely reference available to answer common questions that arise in everyday clinical practice. Readers will find authoritative, evidence-based coverage of more than 1,000 diseases and disorders along with a concise, yet thorough synopsis of diagnosis and treatment. Written in a clear, easy-to-read style, this trusted classic covers all aspects of outpatient and inpatient care, and also includes discussion of new developments and breakthroughs in medicine. Presented in full color, CMDT covers every aspect of general medicine, with an emphasis on prevention and cost-effective strategies. * The only text with an annual review of the advances made in HIV treatment * Detailed overview of other primary care topics, from gynecology, orthopedics and dermatology to ophthalmology, psychiatry, and neurology * Many decision-speeding diagnostic and treatment algorithms and tables * The perfect balance of clinical practice and research evidence to optimize patient care * New chapter on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender Health
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. MASTER MODERN MEDICINE! Introducing the Landmark Twentieth Edition of the Global Icon of Internal Medicine The definitive guide to internal medicine is more essential than ever with the latest in disease mechanisms, updated clinical trial results and recommended guidelines, state-of-the art radiographic images, therapeutic approaches and specific treatments, hundreds of demonstrative full-color drawings, and practical clinical decision trees and algorithms A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Recognized by healthcare professionals worldwide as the leading authority on applied pathophysiology and clinical medicine, Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine gives you the informational foundation you need to provide the best patient care possible. Essential for practice and education, the landmark 20th Edition features: Thoroughly revised content--covering the many new breakthroughs and advances in clinical medicine that have occurred since the last edition of Harrison's. Chapters on acute and chronic hepatitis, management of diabetes, immune-based therapies in cancer, multiple sclerosis, cardiovascular disease, HIV, and many more, deliver the very latest information on disease mechanisms, diagnostic options, and the specific treatment guidance you need to provide optimal patient care. State-of-the-art coverage of disease mechanisms: Harrison's focuses on pathophysiology with rigor, and with the goal of linking disease mechanisms to treatments. Improved understanding of how diseases develop and progress not only promotes better decision-making and higher value care, but also makes for fascinating reading and improved retention. Harrison's summarizes important new basic science developments, such as the role of mitochondria in programmed and necrotic cell death, the immune system's role in cancer development and treatment, the impact of telomere shortening in the aging and disease processes, and the role of the microbiome in health and disease. Understanding the role of inflammation in cardiovascular disease, the precise mechanisms of immune deficiency in HIV/AIDS, prions and misfolded proteins in neurodegenerative diseases, and obesity as a predisposition to diabetes are just a few examples of how this edition provides essential pathophysiology information for health professionals. All-new sections covering a wide range of new and emerging areas of vital interest to all healthcare professionals. New sections include: Sex and Gender-based Issues in Medicine; Obesity, Diabetes Mellitus, and Metabolic Syndrome; and Consultative Medicine-- Plus, a new Part covering cutting-edge topics in research and clinical medicine includes great new chapters on the role of Epigenetics in Health and Disease, Behavioral Strategies to Improve Health, Genomics and Infectious Diseases, Emerging Neuro-Therapeutic Technologies, and Telomere Function in Health and Disease, and Network System Medicine. Important and timely new chapters--such as Promoting Good Health, LGBT Health, Systems of Healthcare, Approach to Medical Consultation, Pharmacogenomics, Antimicrobial Resistance, Worldwide Changes in Patterns of Infectious Diseases, Neuromyelitis Optica, and more--offer the very latest, definitive perspectives on must-know topics in medical education and practice. Updated clinical guidelines, expert opinions, and treatment approaches from renowned editors and authors contribute to the accuracy and immediacy of the text material and present a clear blueprint for optimizing patien
Imaging for the Health Care Practitoner by
A complete sourcebook of diagnostic imaging for the health care practitioner Imaging for the Health Care Professional offers authoritative, engagingly written coverage of common imaging modalities and their use in evaluating, monitoring, and treating the injuries most often encountered by health care professionals. The concise, clinically focused content focuses on what is most important to patient management and education. You will find a complete review of radiography, CT, MRI, and ultrasound, along with more than 360 state-of-the-art images that depict injuries and the healing process. The authors take you through both advantages and limitations of each modality in the rehabilitation setting as well as the screening and evaluation process. Armed with the expert insights found within this book, you will gain a meaningful frame of reference from which to discuss the results of these tests with patients. Features · The book opens with a valuable Primer on Imaging for the Health Care Practitioner which discusses essential topics such as how to order imaging and communicate the results, how to read images, and medico legal considerations · Each regional or systems chapter explains the special applications unique to that body part and how clinicians can select for optimal clinical decision making and includes case studies that demonstrate real-world application of concepts · Clinical pearls reinforce key points in each chapter · The text is supplemented by additional on-line information targeted specifically for instructors to assist in imaging education
Grant's Dissector by
Grant's Dissector , Sixteenth Edition , now revised to meet the needs of today's gross anatomy dissection courses, remains the go-to guide for dissection in the anatomy lab. This classic manual provides step-by-step dissection procedures with the instruction and anatomical detail you need to recognize important relationships revealed through dissection. Each chapter is consistently organized beginning with a "Dissection Overview," followed by detailed "Dissection Instructions," and concluding with a "Dissection Follow-up." The Dissection Overview provides a blueprint of what you will accomplish during the dissection session, and includes relevant surface anatomy as well as concise coverage of osteology. Dissection Instructions offer a logical sequence and numbered steps for the dissection. The Dissection Follow-up emphasizes important features of the dissection and encourages you to reflect on and synthesize the information. Newly revised for easy-to-follow consistency throughout every chapter. Dissection Overviews now include numbered, step-by-step instructions to guide you through relevant surface anatomy and osteology. Each step in the Dissection Instructions has been carefully reworded to clarify and improve the dissection experience. More than 30 new summary tables provide an excellent review resource and make the dissection steps more task-oriented and concise. Dissection Follow-up sections now contain a numbered list of tasks to perform following the dissection. Revised abdominal wall and head dissection instructions offer effective new approaches to these complex anatomical regions. More than 100 modified or brand-new illustrations throughout. Conveniently cross-referenced to Grant's Atlas of Anatomy and three other unique atlases for appropriate illustrations of each anatomical area. Clinical Correlation boxes are integrated into instructions and provide context for health care practice.
Cognitive Behavioural Therapy by
A Practical Guide to Mental and Emotional Freedom! Take action now and download this book for a limited time discount! Feeling lost about how to effectively treat disturbing intrusive thoughts? You're not alone! This book contains brilliant advice from a former sufferer of anxiety, depression, and intrusive thoughts. Inspired by compassion, this book is a gift to fellow casualties of negative thought patterns, destructive behaviors, self-loathers, and those wishing freedom from persistent demons. Only by meeting our demons face-to-face can we hope to prevail and achieve inner peace. Happiness is a trainable, attainable skill! The most proven method for successfully treating mental suffering is CBT. However, there are also complimentary practices coming from Buddhist and Stoic philosophy. This book equips you with the most effective techniques for overcoming depression, anxiety, and intrusive thoughts. These are long-term solutions that have stood the test of time and scientific rigor. Self-compassion is at the heart of CBT. Take a chance on this book today! Exactly What You Will Learn... How To... Understand What Makes Your Mind Tick See The Link Between Spirituality and Self-Help Confront Anxiety Head-On! Challenge Unhelpful, Intrusive Thoughts Build a Better Relationship with Yourself Break Bad Habits and Enjoy Life! Optimal Life Management + BONUS Workbook! One-Click for a Healthier, Happier Mind! Full 30-Day 100% Money Back Guarantee. (That's How Confident We Are!) [100% Extra FREE: 10,000+ Words in Your New and Improved 2nd Edition!] Do you need immediate support with Intrusive Thoughts? :) Check out this excellent (free) resource: https://www.intrusivethoughts.org Tags: Training, Techniques, Course, Self-Help, Online, Books, Anxiety, Depression, Cure, Insomnia, Phobias, Intrusive Thoughts, CBT, Cognitive Behavioural Therapy, Your Stress-Free Life.
Motivational Interviewing by
This bestselling work for professionals and students is the authoritative presentation of motivational interviewing (MI), the powerful approach to facilitating change. The book elucidates the four processes of MI--engaging, focusing, evoking, and planning--and vividly demonstrates what they look like in action. A wealth of vignettes and interview examples illustrate the "dos and don'ts" of successful implementation in diverse contexts. Highly accessible, the book is infused with respect and compassion for clients. The companion Web page provides additional helpful resources, including reflection questions, an extended bibliography, and annotated case material. This book is in the Applications of Motivational Interviewing series, edited by Stephen Rollnick, William R. Miller, and Theresa B. Moyers. New to This Edition: *Reflects major advances in understanding and teaching MI. *Fully restructured around the new four-process model. *Additional case examples and counseling situations. *Reviews the growing evidence base and covers ways to assess MI fidelity. Pedagogical Features Include: *Online reflection questions and annotated cases, ideal for classroom discussion. *Key points at the end of each chapter. *Engaging boxes with special topics and personal reflections. *Extended bibliography and quick-reference glossary.
Epidemiology 101 by
Designed to fulfill the four essential learning outcomes of Liberal Education and America's Promise (LEAP)--a campaign of the Association of American Colleges and Universities (AACU*)--Epidemiology 101 meets the needs of instructors teaching an overview or introductory course in epidemiology.Using a clear, cohesive writing style, Epidemiology 101 covers the basics of infectious disease epidemiology, environmental epidemiology, molecular epidemiology, and psychosocial/behavioral epidemiology. Numerous tables and charts throughout the text capture the reader's interest and enhance learning.
Andreoli and Carpenter's Cecil essentials of medicine by
Students, residents, and instructors swear by Andreoli and Carpenter's Cecil Essentials of Medicine because it presents just the right amount of information, just the right way. This updated edition has been revised to provide the most current, easy-to-digest review of internal medicine. Comprehensive yet concise, it focuses on the high-yield core knowledge important to those established in or just entering the field.
Beckmann and Ling's Obstetrics and Gynecology by
Published in collaboration with the American College of Obstetrics and Gynecology, this highly respected resource provides the foundational knowledge medical students need to complete an Ob/Gyn rotation, pass national standardized exams, and competently care for women in clinical practice. Fully compliant with the College's guidelines, treatment recommendations, and committee opinions, the text also aligns with the Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics' educational objectives, upon which most clerkship evaluations and final exams are based. Six comprehensive units cover all essential information on General Obstetrics and Gynecology; Obstetrics, Medical and Surgical Disorders in Pregnancy; Gynecology, Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility ; and Gynecologic Oncology and Uterine Leiomyoma . In-depth updates throughout capture the current state of the field, including new minimally invasive and robotic gynecologic procedures, an expanded discussion of patient safety, many new ultrasound images, and much more. Concise, eminently readable chapters - with abundant headings and subheadings, lists, boxes, and tables - make key clinical concepts easy to understand and remember. Chapter-opening and -closing case studies demonstrate clinical applications of the material. A rich full-color art program of illustrations, photos, and imaging examples depicts the anatomy and clinical presentation of both normal and pathologic conditions. Clinical "pearls" highlight specific issues encountered in gynecologic and obstetric practice. Helpful appendices include the latest versions of the Well-Woman Care: Assessments and Recommendations by Age Group , the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists Antepartum Record and Postpartum Form, and the Edinburgh Postpartum Depression Scale . A comprehensive image bank makes it easy for instructors to use the book's outstanding visuals in the classroom.
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine by
"Harrison's is intended for learners throughout their careers. For students, Part 1, Chapter 1 begins with an overview of "The Practice of Medicine". In this introductory chapter, the editors continue the tradition of orienting clinicians to the science and the art of medicine, emphasizing the values of our profession while incorporating new advances in technology, science, and clinical care. Part 2, "Cardinal Manifestations and Presentation of Diseases" is a signature feature of Harrison's. These chapters eloquently describe how patients present with common clinical conditions, such as headache, fever, cough, palpitations, or anemia, and provide an overview of typical symptoms, physical findings, and differential diagnosis. Mastery of these topics prepares students for subsequent chapters on specific diseases they will encounter in courses on pathophysiology and in clinical clerkships"--
Mosby's Manual of Diagnostic and Laboratory Tests by
Writing care plans, understanding and performing tests, and interpreting test results is made easier with Mosby's Manual of Diagnostic and Laboratory Tests, 6th Edition. This essential resource provides clear, concise overage of over 700 of the most commonly performed diagnostic and laboratory tests. Valuable in academic and clinical settings alike, it is beloved for its full-color design, user-friendly organization, and illustrations that help clarify keep concepts. Updated and streamlined content with new tests ensures you have the most relevant information. A new Diagnostic Testing for the Most Common Diseases section highlights the integration of medical testing as it relates to the top diseases or clinical syndromes. Tests are presented comprehensively and consistently, in a sequence that best simulates priorities in clinical practice. UNIQUE! Clinical Priorities boxes emphasize priorities and procedure considerations specific to understanding and performing tests. UNIQUE! Test Results and Clinical Significance sections describe the significance of the test findings and discuss the pathophysiology of the disease process and how it relates to the test result. UNIQUE! Home Care Responsibilities boxes focus on post-test factors for consideration. UNIQUE! Related Tests sections list additional tests related to the main test - including tests that provide similar information, confirmatory information, and other tests used to evaluate the same organ, disease process, or symptom complex. UNIQUE! Critical Values sections indicate test values of particular significance. UNIQUE! Icons indicate drugs that increase or decrease test values and patient teaching priorities. Age-Related Concerns boxes address pediatric and geriatric priorities. NEW and UPDATED! New tests have been added and outdated tests have been removed to reflect current best practices. NEW! A Diagnostic Testing for the Most Common Diseases section highlights the integration of medical testing as it relates to the top diseases or clinical syndromes.
Rapid Interpretation of EKG's by
The reader's rapid assimilation of medical concepts is the key to the continuing success of this best-selling book. A caption explains the concept illustrated on each page, and a few simple sentences reinforce the concept with interactive (programmed) learning, which links to the following page. Dr Dubin's light and entertaining style, known world-wide, makes learning enjoyable. Practice twelve-lead tracings at the end establish self-confidence, and summarised reference sheets with examples (designed to be copied) provide an excellent review. Most recently updated in February 2006.
Jonas and Kovner's Health Care Delivery in the United States by
This fully updated and revised 12th edition of the highly acclaimed textbook on health care delivery provides graduate and undergraduate students with a comprehensive survey of health care in the United States with topics ranging from the organization of care, the politics surrounding health care in the United States, to population health and vulnerable populations, health care costs and value, health care financing, and health information technology. Chapters provide thorough coverage of the rapid changes that are reshaping our system and the extent of our nation's achievement of health care value and the Triple Aim: better health and better care at a lower cost. With an emphasis on population health and public health, this text includes a timely focus on how social and physical environments influence health outcomes. Prominent scholars, practitioners, and educators within public health, population health, health policy, healthcare management, medical care, and nursing present the most up-to-date evidence-based information on social and behavioral determinants of health and health equity, immigrant health, health care workforce challenges, preventive medicine, innovative approaches to control health care costs, initiatives to achieve high quality and value-based care, and much more. Designed for graduate and advanced undergraduate students of health care management and administration, nursing, and public health, the text addresses all complex core issues surrounding our health care system and health policy, such as the challenges to health care delivery, the organization and politics of care, and comparative health systems. Organized in a readable and accessible format, contributors provide an in-depth and objective appraisal of why and how we organize health care the way we do, the enormous impact of health-related behaviors on the structure, function, and cost of the health care delivery system, and other emerging and recurrent issues in health policy, health care management, and public health. The 12th edition features the contributions of such luminaries as former editor Anthony R. Kovner, Michael K. Gusmano, Carolyn M. Clancy, Marc N. Gourevitch, Joanne Spetz, James Morone, Karen DeSalvo, and Christy Harris Lemak, among others. Chapters include audio chapter summaries with discussion of newsworthy topics, learning objectives, discussion questions, case exercises, and new charts and tables with concrete health care data. Included for instructors are an Instructor's Manual, PowerPoint slides, Syllabus, Test Bank, Image Bank, supplemental e-chapter on A Visual Overview of Health Care Delivery, access to an annual ACA update and health policy changes, extra cases and syllabus specifically for nurses, and a transition guide bridging the 11th and 12th editions. Key Features: Three completely revised chapters on the politics of health care, vulnerable populations, and health information technologyExpanded coverage on population health and population health management, health equity, influences of social determinants on health behavior and outcomes, health education planning, health workforce challenges, national and regional quality improvement initiatives and moreRevised e-Chapter providing A Visual Overview of Health Care Delivery and Image Bank for the 12th EditionAccess to Springer Publishing Company's annual ACA updateAudio podcasts provide summaries for each chapter with real-world context of topics featured in the newsNew appendix with overview of U.S. Government Public Health AgenciesAccess to fully searchable ebook, including extra e-chapters and student ancillaries on Springer Publishing ConnectFull Instructor Packet including Instructor's Manual, Test Bank, PowerPoint slides, Image Bank, and Case Exercises for Nursing Instructors
The American Health Care Paradox by
Foreword by Harvey V. Fineberg, President of the Institute of Medicine For decades, experts have puzzled over why the US spends more on health care but suffers poorer outcomes than other industrialized nations. Now Elizabeth H. Bradley and Lauren A. Taylor marshal extensive research, including a comparative study of health care data from thirty countries, and get to the root of this paradox: We've left out of our tally the most impactful expenditures countries make to improve the health of their populations--investments in social services. In The American Health Care Paradox, Bradley and Taylor illuminate how narrow definitions of "health care," archaic divisions in the distribution of health and social services, and our allergy to government programs combine to create needless suffering in individual lives, even as health care spending continues to soar. They show us how and why the US health care "system" developed as it did; examine the constraints on, and possibilities for, reform; and profile inspiring new initiatives from around the world. Offering a unique and clarifying perspective on the problems the Affordable Care Act won't solve, this book also points a new way forward.
Nolte's the Human Brain by
Popular for its highly visual and easy-to-follow approach, Nolte's The Human Brain helps demystify the complexities of the gross anatomy of the brain, spinal cord and brainstem. A clear writing style, interesting examples and visual cues bring this extremely complicated subject to life and more understandable. Get the depth of coverage you need with discussions on all key topics in functional neuroanatomy and neuroscience, giving you well-rounded coverage of this complex subject. Zero in on the key information you need to know with highly templated, concise chapters that reinforce and expand your knowledge. Develop a thorough, clinically relevant understanding through clinical examples providing a real-life perspective. Gain a greater understanding of every concept through a glossary of key terms that elucidates every part of the text; 3-dimensional brain. Acquaint yourself with the very latest advancements in the field with many illustrations using the most current neuroimaging techniques, reflecting recent developments and changes in understanding. Keep up with the latest knowledge in neural plasticity including formation, modification, and repair of connections, with coverage of learning and memory, as well as the coming revolution in ways to fix damaged nervous systems, trophic factors, stem cells, and more. NEW! Gauge your mastery of the material and build confidence with over 100 multiple choice questions that provide effective chapter review and quick practice for your exams. Student Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, references, and videos from the book on a variety of devices.
Neuroanatomy by
Neuroanatomy Atlas in Clinical Context is unique in integrating clinical information, correlations, and terminology with neuroanatomical concepts. It provides everything students need to not only master the anatomy of the central nervous system, but also understand its clinical relevance - ensuring preparedness for exams and clinical rotations. This authoritative approach, combined with salutary features such as full-color stained sections, extensive cranial nerve cross-referencing, and systems neurobiology coverage, sustains the legacy of this legendary teaching and learning tool. Emphasizes neuroscience information, concepts, and images that collectively constitute a comprehensive, clinically oriented overview of systems neurobiology Offers clear explanations, hundreds of review questions, and supplemental online resources that provide a sound anatomical basis for integrating neurobiological and clinical information Features an abundance of updated and expanded clinical content throughout all chapters to reflect the latest neuroscience knowledge Expands Clinical Syndromes of the Central Nervous System chapter to include a new section featuring Stroke Syndromes Introduces numerous new MRI, CT, MRA, and MRV images, as well as updated full-color photographs and artwork, to bring the content to life like never before Uses contemporary clinical and basic science terminology in its proper context Integrates detailed and richly illustrated coverage of neuroanatomy with neuroscience and clinical concepts, allowing students to understand the material's clinical context and relevance Offers a wealth of neuroimaging examples, clinical photographs, and full-color artwork that vividly demonstrate how neuroanatomy presents in clinical practice Features the masterful teaching of Duane E. Haines, PhD, FAAAS, FAAA, a widely respected and accomplished educator who has helped generations of students master neuroanatomy and neuroscience eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
Cultural Diversity in Health and Illness by
For courses in Community/Public Health Nursing, Transcultural Nursing, and CEUs Promotes a mindfulness of the dimensions and complexities involved in caring for people from diverse cultural backgrounds. The ninth edition of Cultural Diversity in Health and Illness examines a given health care consumer's intangible cultural heritage, diverse HEALTH beliefs and practices, the relevant issues within the modern health care system, and the impact of the demographic changes that exist within North America and globally. (HEALTH = the balance of the person, both within one's being- physical, mental, and spiritual-and in the outside world-natural, communal, and metaphysical. Terms such as HEALTH are written this way to emphasize their holistic meaning.) It features rich illustrated examples of traditional HEALTH beliefs and practices among selected populations. An emphasis on the influences of recent social, political, and demographic changes helps to explore the issues and perceptions of health and illness today, while introductory and capstone chapters help place material within perspective.
Teaching Strategies for Health Education and Health Promotion by
Intended for a multidisciplinary team of providers, Teaching Strategies for Health Care and Health establishes a foundation of how, why, what, and when people of all ages learn and how learning can positively affect a patient, a family, and a diverse community's ability to understand, manage, prevent and live well with their illness. Designed to give health professionals the tools they need to provide total patient care, this unique resource presents a foundation as well as a selection of tools and teaching methodologies to promote health and prevention of illness. Unique to this resource are experience driven case studies demonstrating both successful and unsuccessful cases, helping health care professionals identify best practices to preserve and repeat, as well as analyze why unsuccessful efforts might have failed and how those cases could be handled differently.
Hazzard's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The gold-standard text on the diagnosis and treatment of disorders affecting the elderly - completely updated with a new full-color presentation A Doody's Core Title for 2019! The definitive treatise on the subject of geriatrics, this comprehensive text combines gerontology principles with clinical geriatrics, offering a uniquely holistic approach to this ever-expanding area of medicine. Written by some of the world's most respected geriatricians, Hazzard's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, Seventh Edition presents up-to-date, evidence-based information in a rich new full-color design. Unmatched as a textbook, this classic is also valuable to fellows in geriatric medicine. Hazzards's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, Seventh Edition is logically divided into five parts: Principles of Gerontology, Principles of Geriatrics, Geriatric Syndromes, Principles of Palliative Medicine, and Organ Systems and Diseases. Within its pages, you will find balanced, authoritative coverage of every essential topic - from evaluation and management to nutrition and palliative medicine. Here's why the Seventh Edition is the best edition ever: * NEW full-color design with hundreds of color photographs * NEW chapters: Quality of Care in Older Adults, Common Non-Pain Symptoms in Older Adults, Strategies of Effective Communication Around Advanced Illness, Palliative Medicine in the Continuum of Care Including Hospice, Coagulation Disorders, and Plasma Cell Disorders * MORE chapters on Palliative Medicine * NEW Learning Objectives and Key Points added to each chapter * MORE tables, drawings, and clinical algorithms * EVIDENCE-BASED through the use of the latest clinical practice guidelines , references to systemic reviews, and critically appraised topics * UPDATED to reflect the most current clinical breakthroughs and advances for managing older adults in various settings
Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics by
Part of the highly regarded Nelson family of pediatric references, Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics, 8th Edition, is a concise, focused resource for medical students, pediatric residents, PAs, and nurse practitioners. Ideal for pediatric residencies, clerkships, and exams, this 8th Edition offers a readable, full-color format; high-yield, targeted chapters; and new features that make it even more user-friendly for today's in-training professionals or practitioners. Focuses on the core knowledge you need to know, while also providing complete coverage of recent advances in pediatrics. Coverage includes normal childhood growth and development, as well as the diagnosis, management, and prevention of common pediatric diseases and disorders. Includes new Pearls for Practitioners bullets at the end of each section, providing key clinical points and treatment information. Features well written, high-yield coverage throughout, following COMSEP curriculum guidelines relevant to your pediatric clerkship or rotation. Uses a full-color format with images and numerous new tables throughout, so you can easily visualize complex information. Provides real-world insights from chapter authors who are also Clerkship Directors, helping you gain the knowledge and skills necessary to succeed both in caring for patients and in preparing for clerkship or in-service examinations. Includes Student Consult access which features the full contents of the book, now integrated with select decision-making algorithms from Pediatric Decision-Making Strategies by Pomeranz et al. (ISBN: 978-0-323-29854-4), online at Student Consult.
Current Diagnosis & Treatment Family Medicine by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Provide continuous, comprehensive care of patients throughout their lifetimes with this evidence-based guide A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Organized according to the developmental lifespan, beginning with childhood and adolescence and progressing through adulthood and senior years Evidence-based recommendations Conservative and pharmacologic therapies Complementary and alternative therapies when relevant Suggestions for collaborations with other healthcare providers Attention to the mental and behavioral health of patients as solitary as well as comorbid conditions Recognition of impact of illness on the family Patient education information End-of-life issues AN EASY-TO-USE GUIDE TO THE DIAGNOSIS, TREATMENT, AND MANAGEMENT of the full range of clinical conditions seen in primary care NEW CHAPTERS on prenatal care, tick-borne infections, diagnosis and management of tuberculosis, HIV diagnosis and management, and PTSD/TBI Great for USMLE Step 3 review, board certification, and maintenance or recertification Essential for primary care trainees, practicing physicians, advanced practice nurses, and physician assistants
Current Diagnosis and Treatment Pediatrics by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A concise, yet comprehensive source of current information on the medical problems of children --- from birth through adolescence A Doody's Core Title for 2019! * A practical, up-to-date well-referenced guide to the diagnosis and treatment of the most commonly seen medical conditions in children * Excellent coverage of The Council on Medical Student Education in Pediatrics (COMSEP) curriculum used in pediatric clerkship * 46 chapters cover a wide range of topics, including neonatal medicine, child development and behavior, emergency and critical care medicine, and diagnosis and treatment of specific disorders according to major problems, etiologies, and organ systems * A wealth of tables and figures provide quick access to important information, such as acute and critical care procedures in the delivery room, the office, the emergency room, and the critical care unit; anti-infective agents, drug dosages, immunization schedules, differential diagnoses, and developmental disorders * Includes detailed descriptions of diseases as well as diagnostic and therapeutic procedures * Complete with handy guide to normal laboratory values * Presented in the consistent, easy-to-follow CURRENT format * Valuable to medical students, pediatric residents, pediatricians, family practitioners, nurses, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and other healthcare providers who work with infants, children, and adolescents * Authors are practicing pediatricians to ensure that each chapter reflects the needs and realities of day-to-day practice
Current Diagnosis and Treatment by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Practical, up-to-date, and ready-to-apply coverage of more than 1,000 diseases and disorders A Doody's Core Title for 2017! For more than 70 years, professors, students, and clinicians have trusted LANGE for high-quality, current, concise medical information in a convenient, affordable, portable format. Whether for coursework, clerkships, USMLE prep, specialty board review, or patient care, there's a LANGE book that guarantees success. CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Obstetrics & Gynecology, 11e is a concise, yet comprehensive textbook on the medical and surgical management of obstetrics and gynecology. It succinctly covers more than 1,000 diseases and disorders,the latest screening guidelines, and underlying pathophysiology when relevant. The eleventh edition is enriched by contributions from more than 85 world-renowned contributors Thoroughly reviews all of obstetrics and gynecology Focuses on the practical aspects of clinical diagnosis and patient management Covers pathophysiology when relevant to diagnosis and treatment Emphasizes disease prevention and evidence-based medicine Includes more than 500 anatomic drawings, image studies, and diagrams Completely updated to reflect the latest research and advances Consistent presentation includes Clinical Findings, Diagnosis, Treatment, and Complications and Prognosis Quick-access design facilitates use at the point of care Updated to include the latest screening and management guidelines
Essentials of General Surgery by
For nearly 25 years, medical students and faculty alike have chosen E ssentials of General Surgery and its companion textbook, Essentials of Surgical Specialties, for authoritative coverage of surgical information that every physician in training should know. The Fifth Edition incorporates current research from the field; new sample questions, answers, and rationales; and new tables and algorithms. A new art program presents concepts and images--including an Appendix with 50 burn images--in full color for optimal learning and retention. Why is this textbook so popular? - With its overview of anatomy, physiology, and coverage of pertinent complications for each case, the text prepares students for the NBME shelf exam for surgery, as well as residency training. - The authors--all of whom are practicing surgeons--carefully manage the depth and breadth of content so that each section can be reasonably read and thoroughly understood by third- and fourth-year students. - Organized by systems, the text features a closing section on surgical procedures to orient students to some of the most common cases seen on a general surgery rotation. With your purchase of the text, you'll receive access to: Interactive question bank with answer explanations · Fully searchable eBook · Bonus chapters on ethics and surgical procedures · Image Bank
Behavioral Medicine by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The #1 guide to behavioral issues in medicine Thorough, practical discussion of the full scope of the physician-patient relationship The goal of Behavioral Medicine is to help practitioners and students understand the interplay between psychological, physical, social and cultural issues of patients. Within its pages you will find real-world coverage of behavioral and interactional issues that occur between provider and patient in everyday clinical practice. You will learn how to deliver bad news, how to conduct an effective patient interview, how to care for patients at the end of life, how to clinically manage common mental and behavioral issues in medical patients, the principles of medical professionalism, motivating behavior change, and much more. As the leading text on the subject, this trusted classic delivers the most definitive, practical overview of the behavioral, clinical, and social contexts of the physician-patient relationship. The book is case based to reinforce learning through real-world examples, focusing on issues that commonly arise in everyday medical practice and training. One of the significant elements of Behavioral Medicine is the recognition that the wellbeing of physicians and other health professionals is critically important to caring for patients. Enhanced by new and updated content throughout, Behavioral Medicine provides insight and information not available anywhere else for those who seek to provide comprehensive high-quality care for patients. And it does so in a way that acknowledges patients as people who have problems that often go far beyond the reach of traditional medical care.
CURRENT Diagnosis and Treatment Emergency Medicine, Eighth Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. An instant-access guide to the diagnosis, treatment, and management of the conditions most likely to present in the emergency department A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Essential for anyone practicing in an emergency department or acute care setting, this new edition of CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Emergency Medicine strikes the perfect balance between brevity and clinical necessity. It delivers exactly the amount of information needed for quick diagnosis, effective treatment, and improved outcomes - no more, no less. Every chapter of this edition has been updated to reflect the latest breakthroughs and developments, and the book is filled with high-quality illustrations designed to clarify difficult concepts. FEATURES: * Strikes the perfect balance between brevity and clinical necessity, delivering exactly the amount of information needed for quick diagnosis, effective treatment, and improved outcomes * Emphasizes the immediate management of life-threatening problems, then covers the evaluation and treatment of specific disorders * Priority-based and problem-oriented organization encompasses all aspects of emergency medicine, including common emergencies, trauma, and neonatal and pediatric emergencies * Extensive at-a-glance algorithms facilitate rapid decision making * Comprehensive tables of drugs commonly used in the ED
Human Physiology by
Organized around the central theme of homeostasis--how the body meets changing demands while maintaining the internal constancy necessary for all cells and organs to function--HUMAN PHYSIOLOGY helps you appreciate the integrated functioning of the human body. Author Lauralee Sherwood uses clear, straightforward language, analogies, and frequent references to everyday experiences to help you learn and relate to physiology concepts. The vibrant art program and empowering digital resources--including robust 3D animations and rich homework problems --enable you to visualize important concepts and processes. By focusing on the core principles and sharing enthusiasm for the subject matter, Sherwood helps you develop a solid foundation for future courses and careers in the health profession.
In some cases you may have to rent, purchase, or borrow a text. Feel free to search E-ZBorrow for a text to see if you can borrow it from another library for free.
