Research Guides: Communication Studies: Find Measures & Methods

PsycTESTS

APA PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
PsycTESTS provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, and other assessments as well as descriptive and citation information for each instrument. It contains resources that span the full breadth of testing in psychological research, including neuropsychological tests, personality assessments, skills and proficiency tests, measures of addiction, IQ and aptitude scales and instruments, and more.

Watch a 1 min. video on how to use PsycTESTS

Databases used to find unpublished tests

APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
To find tests, use the advanced search, type a broad keyword into the search box, then select the kind of test you need from the classification codes menu (e.g. "clinical psychology testing" or "developmental scales & inventories").

Unpublished tests are non-commercial (not for profit) and can often be found by searching journal databases. Here are the most commonly used databases:

ERIC (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window
To find tests, use the advanced search, type a broad keyword into the search box, then select "tests/questionnaires" from the publication type menu.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
To find tests, type a broad keyword in the search box, then select both "questionnaire/scale" and "research instrument" from the publication type menu.

More test databases

Note: Test databases will give you information about a test and lead you to the author or owner of a test instrument. They do not contain full-text test instruments.

ETS Test Link (Educational Testing Service Test Collection)
An online searchable index of education related tests.

Commercial Tests vs. Unpublished Tests

A commercial test is one that has been copyrighted. Researchers who want to use it must purchase the instrument and scoring guide from the publisher.

An unpublished test is one that has not been copyrighted. The instruments are often available for free use with permission from the author.

Need to find a copy of an unpublished test?

Tips for finding copies of unpublished tests

Guides for finding and using tests

Guides to using the MMY and Tests in Print from the Buros Institute