Consider putting a welcome or introduction box on the front page if you think your users would need that information.
Keep related content on one page if possible: for example, all content about finding books would be on one page
Use images to not only catch your user’s eye but also to enhance content or instruction. Be mindful of copyright.
Proofread text carefully
Include links to other relevant LibGuides
Important content to include in a LibGuide:
links to databases and credible web resources
relevant E-books or reference books from the catalog
instructions or demonstration of resources
information on citing sources
profile or contact information for liaison librarian
Good Practices: Updating Content
Check for bad links frequently and make corrections
Springshare provides a Link Checker under "Tools" on the yellow toolbar
FYI: the LinkChecker only updates once a week so even if you've fixed everything, it will still show them as broken until the following week.
Check for updates to sources. Note: links to subscription databases are automatically updated.
If you have a “What’s New” box, make sure you refresh the content.
Delete Guides no longer in use.
Check your LibGuide links from off campus to make sure that they are working.
Good Practices: Databases
In LibGuides v.2, databases are copied from a central index. This ensures database links are always up to date. To add, just search for your title.
Use Link and Database modules for database or web links instead of HTML/Rich Text. The built-in Link Checker can check these modules for broken links, which makes it easier to keep everything up to date.
List sources by importance, or another method that will benefit the LibGuide’s audience. Users will assume that the first source will be the most useful; therefore don't automatically arrange sources alphabetically.
If a database name doesn’t indicate its content, include a brief description: for example, CINAHL (Nursing and Allied Health). If you want a different description than the default, write your own in the "Custom Description" box.
Database and website links should have brief annotations explaining what they are.
Include text, boxes, or links to instruction or demonstrations for databases.
What to Avoid
Too much text in boxes
Long lists of databases, links, and so forth: make use of formatting options like bullets, lists, headings, and so forth.
Only one box on a page.
Sub-pages: they are not easily visible to the user. If you want to use sub-pages, please use the Left-Nav guide layout.
Library-speak:Write in a conversational, jargon-free style that will be easily understood by a wide range of readers.