Skip to main content
Ask A Librarian

Religious Studies Research Guide: Library & Internet Books & Texts

This guide includes links to article databases with search tips, places to get help with research, and links to online primary religious texts.

Religious Text Online

Find Books

Primary Resources for Religious Studies

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1630-1800

37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides provide primary source documents on nearly every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America. Includes Music, Religion, Temperance, Witchcraft, Catechisms, Hieroglyphic Bibles, Hymnals, Hymns, Liturgical books, Prayer Books, Prayers, Psalters, Sermons and more.  

Early English Books Online

Years covered include 1475-1700. The collection includes works on religion and science. Primary documents provide information for the study of philosophy and theology. Try using Basic or Advanced Search and use the "Select from a List" option for best results.   

Eighteenth-Century Collections Online

138,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800, digitized and fully searchable. Limit to "Religion and Philosophy" in the "Subject Area" box to search over 39,000 items in this area.

Empire Online

Contains full text documents related to British imperialism. Select "Documents" then "Section IV: Religion & Empire" to browse titles in this area. You can also Search or "View Topics" such as Religion, Human Sacrifice, Catholicism, Sheea Muslims, and many more to find essays as well as primary documents.  

Harp Week (Harper's Weekly)

(1857-1912) America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper. After accepting the agreement, go to "Finding Aids", then "Topics" and "Religion" to access the categories within and index entries for religion.

Nineteenth-Century Masterfile

Primarily an index to 19th century periodicals, newspapers and government documents, including British Parliamentary debates. Full-text links are available for some articles and are indicated in the results. For an example, try a search for Hymns and then see "IV: Periodical Indexes with Full Text Links." 

View Lists of Library Books at WVU Under the Following Subject Headings

In the library search box:

  • select Books/Media
  • enter su:your topic
  • for example: su:Apocryphal Gospels

Sample topics:

Religion.

Religions.

Theology.

Bible.

Koran.

Apocryphal Gospels.

Talmud.