Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian

Primary Source Collections

Welcome to the Primary Source Collections Guide

Welcome to the world of Primary Source Material! Within this research guide, you will find different types of primary source materials that you can use in your history papers or projects. This guide will allow you to navigate through our primary source collections and hopefully find the information you are looking for. 

The options for the different types of primary sources are along the left hand side of this guide, providing links to the databases and information about each database. 

The online collections may be accessed by WVU faculty, students and staff.  The Libraries also have extensive print, microfilm and archival collections of primary source materials.  They are not listed here.  For help with those materials, please contact me to discuss your research. 

Happy Researching!

Beginning Your Research

Struggling to pick out your topic or confused about a term in one of your documents? The history database section of our database collection not only covers primary sources, but includes secondary sources that you can use to aide in your research. The database listed below are primarily almanacs used to look up terms and information that might aide your research efforts.

Contact Us! Chat, text, or phone!



Request a Time for Individual Research Help
  • Need help with finding research topics, finding sources, or using citation systems like MLA or APA?
  • Get individualized research assistance with your research.
  • Request a time that fits with your schedule.
  • Librarians are generally available 8:30 AM – 5:00 PM.
  • Please note that we do not proofread papers nor help with writing difficulties.
Need Citation Help?