Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is Graphic Design? by Juliette Cezzar
Graphic design, also known as communication design, is the art and practice of planning and projecting ideas and experiences with visual and textual content. The form of the communication can be physical or virtual, and may include images, words, or graphic forms. The experience can take place in an instant or over a long period of time. The work can happen at any scale, from the design of a single postage stamp to a national postal signage system, or from a company’s digital avatar to the sprawling and interlinked digital and physical content of an international newspaper. It can also be for any purpose, whether commercial, educational, cultural, or political.
Read more from AIGA...
Graphic Design Program
The graphic design program has been part of the School of Art and Design at WVU since 1973. We have graduated more than 400 students, most of whom have remained in this field and now are located in most major US cities and many abroad.
School of Art & Design
The School of Art & Design at West Virginia University is recognized as a leader in the education, creative development and scholarly evolvement of artists, designers, scholars, and teachers in the visual arts.
NEWS: Graphic Design Students Brand Tucker County
West Virginia University graphic design students are helping one of the most rural counties in the state make a name for itself as a popular business and tourism destination.
Find Resources @ WVU
Search WVU Libraries and Beyond
Resources by Type
Search WVU Art Databases
From Art Abstracts to Grove Art Online to JSTOR, WVU students and faculty have access to numerous electronic databases.
Shaw, Paul. "Decriminalizing Typography." Print 70, no. 2 (Summer2016 2016): 42-43. Education Research Complete, EBSCOhost
Malleable Thought: The Role of Craft Thinking in Practice-Led Graphic Design
Ings, Welby. "Malleable Thought: The Role of Craft Thinking in Practice-Led Graphic Design." International Journal Of Art & Design Education 34, no. 2 (June 2015): 180-191. Academic Search Alumni Edition, EBSCOhost
The Role of Mediocrity in Graphic Design
Heller, Steven. "The Role of Mediocrity in Graphic Design." Print 67, no. 6 (December 2013): 30-31. Education Research Complete, EBSCOhost
Visual Accessibility in Graphic Design: A Client–Designer Communication Failure
Cornish, Katie, Joy Goodman-Deane, Kai Ruggeri, and P. John Clarkson. 2015. "Visual Accessibility in Graphic Design: A Client-Designer Communication Failure". Design Studies. 40: 176-195.
Ways with Words; Digital typography
"Ways with Words; Digital Typography." The Economist Jun 28 2014: 52. ProQuest. Web.
Online Image Sources
Find images in library databases, Creative Commons/Public Domain, and search engines.
Browse books on the lower level of Evansdale Library in the following classifications:
N Visual Arts
NC Drawing, Design, & Illustration
NC845 - N915 Graphic Art Materials
NC950 - N996 Illustration
NC997 - NC1003 Commercial Art & Advertising
NC1800 - NC1850 Posters
NC1860 - NC1896 Greeting Cards, Book Jackets, Etc.
NE Print Media
NE1 - NE978 Printmaking & Engraving
NE1000 - NE1352 Wood Engraving
NE2250 - NE2570 Lithography
NK Decorative Arts
NK1160 - NK1590 Decoration & Ornament, Design
NK3375 - NK3496 Wallpapers
NK8800 - NK9505 Textiles
NX Arts in General
P99 Signs & Symbols
TS195 - TS198 Packaging
TT Handicrafts, Arts & Crafts
Z Library Science
Z116 - Z265 Book Design & Printing, Typography
A collection of nearly 500 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books provides a good starting point for research.
Complete subscription version includes atlas, dictionary, audio & video clips, images, and links to reviewed web sites.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical, business and literary sources.
Kanopy Streaming Video
Kanopy Streaming Video provides access to more than 8,500 videos from major educational film distributors and covers diverse subject areas including early film, humanities, arts, media, and business. Kanopy does not support older versions of Internet Explorer.
Log into Kanopy above and check out their Icons of 20th Century Design series.