Research Guides: Engineering 101: Find Reliable Articles

Using Find It @ WVU

Use Find It @ WVU to retrieve the articles not in full text. This application is a button or link in the citation for each article.In the Find it @ WVU window, click on Article to see full text. Click on For Journal to search WorldCat for a print copy.

Google Scholar

On Campus subscribed journals can be accessed.

Databases & Indexes

Engineering Village--EiCompendex, Inspec, and GeoBase This link opens in a new window
START HERE FIRST
---------------------------------------------------
Has reliable information on: Paper Airplane Design, Aerodynamics, Flight Stability, Composite Materials & Joining Techniques. And much more...
Applied Science and Technology Source (Discontinued) This link opens in a new window
Has reliable information on: Paper Airplanes, Aerodynamics and Flight Stability
-----------------------------------------------
SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window
This portion of the SAE Mobilus references thousands of SAE Technical Papers and/or SAE Standards covering the latest advances and research in all areas of mobility engineering including ground vehicle, aerospace, off-highway, and manufacturing technology. Sample coverage includes fuels and lubricants, emissions, electronics, brakes, restraint systems, noise, engines, materials, lighting, and more. Your SAE service includes detailed summaries, complete documents in PDF, plus document storage and maintenance. Full-text access is from 1998 - present for technical papers, and 2007 - 2017 for journal content.
TRID - Transportation Research Information Services This link opens in a new window
TRID is a newly integrated database that combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre's International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers a good starting point for research on nearly any topic, covering most areas of academic study and containing full text for 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals.
AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
AccessEngineering is a redesign of the online engineering resource formerly known as McGraw-Hill's Digital Engineering Library. The new-user focused design enhances this online resource of engineering content, and will support all levels of scientific and technical research in the corporate, industrial, government and academic sectors.
OnePetro This link opens in a new window
OnePetro currently contains more than 80,000 documents, with more being added frequently. The number of documents is expected to grow as additional organizations choose to make their materials available through OnePetro. OnePetro is a multi-society effort that reflects participation of many organizations. The Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) is operating OnePetro on behalf of the participating organizations.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from high impact research journals from around the world.

Off campus access

To access the article databases, e-journals, and e-books from off-campus, use the following:

Username = WVU MyID
Password = WVU MyID Password

Engineering Librarian

Martin Dunlap

Email Me

Contact:

Po Box 6105

304-293-0314

Subjects: Engineering

Additional Resources

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of citations and full text from the Association for Computing Machinery journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings. It provides bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews and full text articles on computer science and information technology.
ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering. It also includes American Petroleum Institute (API) standards.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
Compendex is a bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research that covers all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The IEEE Xplore Digital Library provides a single source to almost a third of the world's current electrical engineering and computer science literature, granting unparalleled access to publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers(IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers(IEE).
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
INSPEC is a bibliographic information database covering the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology with more than seven million records taken from 3,500 technical and scientific journals and 1,500 conference proceedings. Coverage is from 1969 to present. The database is updated weekly.INSPEC is produced and maintained by the Institution of Electrical Engineers. It indexes journal articles, conference papers, books, technical reports, and dissertations in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, telecommunications, computers, control technology, and information technology. The database includes information since 1969 and is updated weekly.
OSTI Database This link opens in a new window
Access to free, publicly-available Office of Science and Technical Information Research & Development results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data information.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
This is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Collection of authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications in both journals and books. Includes access to multimedia features, such as video, audio and supplementary spreadsheet files.