Research Guides: English 496: English Capstone: Find Journal Articles

EbscoHost is a collection of databases containing newspaper, magazine, book, and journal citations and articles; many articles are full-text.

* Link goes to MLA International Bibliography basic search. You can add other relevant databases.

* Use Advanced Search.

* Choose the Peer-Reviewed (Scholarly) box to retrieve peer-reviewed articles

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Literature, language, linguistics, folklore references from the Modern Language Association. Includes references to journal articles, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Although full text is not included in the MLA Bibliography, the Find it @ WVU service provides links to full text from other databases when available.

* For best results, use the Advanced Search

* To retrieve only articles, not reviews, make sure you click on the box next to Articles.

* Narrow results by date

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, primary sources, and high-quality images. It has an archive of more than 1,000 scholarly, interdisciplinary journals, with full coverage for all but the most current 3-5 years. Images are contributed by universities, museums, and community and private collections. JSTOR is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

ProjectMuse has full-text scholarly articles from many journals in the humanities.

* Choose the Advanced Search link

* Click on Journals/ Articles from the side menu

* Narrow results by date

Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides searchable, full text access to hundreds of academic journals and books. It covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.

Literature Resource Center has full-text scholarly articles from many journals in the humanities as well as biographical information about authors.

* Choose the Advanced Search link

* Enter search terms and click Peer-Reviewed Journals under More Options

Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text literary criticism and reviews and author biographical information on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

Journals

Identifying relevant journals is a good way to help narrow your search. Use the MLA Directory of Periodicals to do so.

MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
The MLA Directory of Periodicals offers detailed information on over 5,500 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography. The detailed entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines.