Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian

Animal Law: West Virginia Legal Research

West Virginia state primary sources useful for animal law-related practice including legislative, judicial, and administrative law. The general public can access the included sources via free web links provided.

I. West Virginia Legislative Law

West Virginia Code

An unofficial version of the West Virginia state code provided on the West Virginia legislature website.

West Virginia Code Chapter 7 Article 10 Humane Officers

Article 10 includes statutory provisions such as the following:

  • §7-10-3. Cruel treatment of animal drawing or in vehicle; custody and care thereof by humane officers.
  • §7-10-4. Custody and care of animals abandoned, neglected or cruelly treated; hearing; bonds; liability for costs; liens; exclusions.
  • §7-10-4a. Reporting of animals abandoned, neglected or cruelly treated; enforcement.
  • §7-10-5. Destruction of animals.

W.Va. Code Chapter 19 Article 20 – Dogs and Cats

Article 20 includes statutory provisions such as the following:

  • §19-20-12. Dogs, other animals and reptiles protected by law; unlawful killing thereof; aggrieved owner's remedy; penalties; penalties for unlawful stealing of companion animals.
  • §19-20-13. Dog running at large; liability of owner.

W.Va. Code Chapter 61 Article 8 – Crimes Against Chastity, Morality and Decency

Article 8 includes statutory provisions such as the following:

  • § 61-8-19. Cruelty to animals; penalties; exclusions
  • §61-8-21. Search warrants relating to cruelty to animals.

II. West Virginia Judicial Law

West Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals - Decisions

This West Virginia Judiciary page provides opinions and memo decisions from the West Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals current term of court.

West Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals - Calendar and Docket Information

This West Virginia Judiciary page provides calendar and docket information from the West Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals current term of court.

West Virginia Circuit Courts Information

West Virginia Circuit Courts overview information. Circuit Court orders are not available in one compiled free web source, but the Supreme Court of Appeals docket includes pertinent Circuit Court orders: http://www.courtswv.gov/supreme-court/calendar-docket.html.

III. West Virginia Administrative Law

West Virginia Code of State Rules (CSR)

An unofficial copy of the West Virginia Code of State Rules (CSR) available on the West Virginia Secretary of State website.

West Virginia Department of Agriculture

The West Virginia Department of Agriculture protects plant, animal and human health and the state’s food supply through a variety of scientific and regulatory programs.

West Virginia Agencies Directory

An online directory containing contact information for all West Virginia state agencies.