Research Guides: Agribusiness Management: Background Information

Where do I start?

The first step to a successful paper or any other type of project is to know your subject -- which can be difficult, especially if you've just been told to develop a business plan for the BBQ restaurant down the road, analyze the growth of small businesses in China, or some other topic you're unfamiliar with.

A good place to start when faced with an unfamiliar subject is background, or reference sources like encyclopedias, subject dictionaries, and bibliographies.

This page includes some of the best reference sources for starting business research projects.

Databases for background information

CREDO Reference
A collection of nearly 500 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books provides a good starting point for research.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical, business and literary sources.
CQ Researcher
In-depth reports and analysis on political and social issues, each covering a single theme and providing solid background information, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each 13,000-word CQ Researcher report is a unique work, investigated and written by a seasoned journalist.
Points of View Reference Center (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)
Term paper resources and topics - Provided by the West Virginia Library Commission with funds from the WV State Legislature and the Library Services and Technology Act administered by the Institute of Library and Museum Services.

Sources for Data & Statistics

Statista
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.