Research Guides: TESOL and Second Language Education: Home

Welcome

This guide is created to help researchers in Teaching English as a Second Language (TESOL) or second language education in general. It includes links to identify reputable sources for conducting literature review, writing research proposals and so on.

Feel free to contact Jing if you have questions regarding the resources.

Getting Started

Browse e-Journals on TESOL or second language education

Read articles from the open access online research journals

Search the following databases for topic ideas and preliminary background -

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, primary sources, and high-quality images. It has an archive of more than 1,000 scholarly, interdisciplinary journals, with full coverage for all but the most current 3-5 years. Images are contributed by universities, museums, and community and private collections. JSTOR is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Literature, language, linguistics, folklore references from the Modern Language Association. Includes references to journal articles, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Although full text is not included in the MLA Bibliography, the Find it @ WVU service provides links to full text from other databases when available.
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects, linking over 100,000 pages of SAGE's book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.

Quick Links

WVUL Databases
List of 200+ databases the WVU Libraries subscribe to. Covers a wide range of subject areas.
WVU WorldCat
A discovery tool for finding books, articles, databases, and multimedia materials in the WVU Libraries as well as libraries world wide
Off-campus Access
When accessing the subscription databases from off campus, you will be prompted for WVU Login to be authenticated as an authorized user.
Research Commons @ WVU Libraries
Discover services that support graduate students and faculty research needs