Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian

WGST 260: Perspectives on LGBTQ+ Studies

How to Cite Your Sources

Creating an Annotated Bibliography

"A bibliography is a list of sources (books, journals, Web sites, periodicals, etc.) one has used for researching a topic. Bibliographies are sometimes called 'References' or 'Works Cited' depending on the style format you are using. A bibliography usually just includes the bibliographic information (i.e., the author, title, publisher, etc.).

An annotation is a summary and/or evaluation. Therefore, an annotated bibliography includes a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources. Depending on your project or the assignment, your annotations may do one or more of the following" <https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/614/01/>.

Citation and Source Manager: EndNote Basic

Using EndNote Basic allows you to:

  • Quickly and easily collect reference information from a wide variety of online databases.
  • Store up to 10,000 references in your own password-protected library, accessible anywhere that you have Internet access.
  • Share references with other EndNote Basic Online users.
  • Use Cite While You Write in Microsoft Word to insert references and format citations and bibliographies instantly. 

Contact Us! Chat, text, or phone!

Text: 304.220.0919

Phone: Call a WVU Library to speak with a reference librarian.

Downtown Campus Library
(304) 293-3640

Evansdale Library
(304) 293-4695

Health Sciences Library
(304) 293-6810

Need More Help with your Annotated Bibliography?

Get individual help with your annotated bibliography or other research questions.

Request a time that fits with your schedule.

Librarians are generally available 8:30AM – 4:00PM.

Questions? Email Kelly Diamond at (kdiamond@wvu.edu)

Request a day and time at https://www.libraries.wvu.edu/instruction/consultation/english/