Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Black's Veterinary Dictionary (eBook) by
Publication Date: 2015-03-26
Much more than a list of veterinary terms, its practical approach ensures that readers gain an insight into the signs and symptoms of common, and less common, diseases, their diagnosis and treatment.
The Merck Veterinary Manual by
Publication Date: 2010-10-19
The Merck Veterinary Manual is the most comprehensive, reliable reference for veterinary professionals. Trusted for more than 50 years, this reference now features hundreds of full-color images, including illustrations, photomicrographs, and radiographic, ultrasonographic, and endoscopic images. In addition, all 3,000 pages have been updated to reflect the latest advances in veterinary medicine.
Encyclopedia of Animal Science Second Edition (eBook) by
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
This encyclopedia encompasses animal physiology; animal growth and development; animal behavior; animal reproduction and breeding; alternative approaches to animal maintenance; meat science and muscle biology; farmed animal welfare and bioethics; and food safety.
Animal Behavior Desk Reference : A Dictionary of Animal Behavior, Ecology, and Evolution (eBook) by
Publication Date: 2011-04-26
The Encyclopedia of Farm Animal Nutrition (eBook) by
Publication Date: 2004-05-26
The Encyclopedia of Farm Animal Nutrition deals with the whole of farm animal nutrition, embracing a wide range of disciplines, including physiology, biochemistry, veterinary medicine and feed technology.The encyclopedia contains approximately 2000 entries from 90 contributors. These entries range from short definitions to more discursive articles, all entries are fully cross-referenced to aid further research.The encyclopedia covers every type of farm animal found in both developing and developed countries, including cattle, sheep, pigs, chickens, goats, horses, fish, deer, buffaloes, rabbits and camelids, as well as ducks, turkeys, ostriches and other birds.
Animal rights : A Reference Handbook (eBook) by
Publication Date: 2009-11-01
Helps readers understand and develop their own opinions on the fundamental issues, enduring controversies, and critical developments associated with animal rights.
The Encyclopedia of Historic and Endangered Livestock and Poultry Breeds (eBook) by
Publication Date: 2002-02-08
This volume features information on the history, characteristics, qualities and traits of 138 endangered livestock breeds and 53 poultry breeds. It covers where these breeds may be seen today and the degree of rarity of each breed in the USA, UK and Canada.
Encyclopedia of Medical Immunology: Allergic Diseases (eBook) by
Publication Date: 2014-08-11
Encyclopedia of Medical Immunology: Allergic Diseases is a comprehensive, multi-authored reference work, offering a broad appeal to microbiologists, immunologists, and infectious disease specialists. The volume explores all aspects of allergic diseases, body systems and vaccines. Emphasis is placed on genetics, physiology, metabolism, pathogenesis, and applied microbiology.
Encyclopedia of Medical Immunology Autoimmune Diseases (eBook) by
Publication Date: 2014-09-09
Different from other resources, this volume offers a broad appeal to microbiologists, immunologists, and infectious disease specialists on Autoimmune Diseases. The volume covers topics such as skin and alopecia, Kidney, Liver, Paraneoplastic, Resolution of inflammation, Cardiovascular/systemic inflammation and atherosclerosis, Gut, Regulatory lymphocytes T, B, other and Rheumatic Disease.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia (eBook) by
Publication Date: 2002-10-04
This is a revised and updated edition of one of the most authoritative and comprehensive sources on the world's animals. Similar to the first edition written by noted zoologist Bernard Grzimek and published in 1972, the second edition covers all types of animals in geographic areas around the world.
Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior by
Publication Date: 2010-09-13
The Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior has engaged-with great success-the efforts of many of the best behavioral biologists of the 21st century. This comprehensive work covers not only the usual topics such as communication, learning, sexual selection, navigation, and the history of the field, but also emerging topics in cognition, animal welfare, conservation, and applications of animal behavior. An invaluable tool for teaching and a source of enrichment and detail for any topic covered in an animal behavior course, the Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior is the definitive reference work in its field and will be for years to come.
A collection of nearly 500 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books provides a good starting point for research.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical, business and literary sources.
LC Subject Headings
Veterinary medicine--Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Surgical Procedures, Operative--veterinary.