Linguistics

2025 cuts to the US Department of Education have left the future coverage of ERIC in question. For complementary and current coverage of education literature please consult the Education Source and Educational Administration Abstracts databases, available through EBSCOhost and the Education Research Index, available through ProQuest.

The ERIC database, sponsored by the US Department of Education, provides extensive access to educational-related literature including conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books, and journal articles. Historically, ERIC indexed approximately 14,000 documents and over 20,000 journal articles per year.

JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, primary sources, and high-quality images. It has an archive of more than 1,000 scholarly, interdisciplinary journals, with full coverage for all but the most current 3-5 years. Images are contributed by universities, museums, and community and private collections. JSTOR is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

Literature, language, linguistics, folklore references from the Modern Language Association. Includes references to journal articles, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Although full text is not included in the MLA Bibliography, the Find it @ WVU service provides links to full text from other databases when available.

Project MUSE provides searchable, full text access to hundreds of academic journals and books. It covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.

Contains two million references and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in the field of psychology. Journal coverage, which spans from 1872 to the present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 35 languages. More than 60,000 records are added each year. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Examples of titles offered in PsycINFO include: Academic Medicine, Academic Psychiatry, Behavior Genetics, Behavioral Disorders, Journal of Abnormal Child Psychology, Journal of Applied Social Psychology, Journal of Behavioral Medicine, Journal of Psychiatry & Neuroscience, Journal of Psychology, Psychoanalytic Psychology, Psychological Assessment, Psychological Medicine, etc.

Articles from high impact research journals in each field of the social sciences, with option for cited reference searching to trace scholarship. (Part of Web of Science)

ProQuest's Sociology Database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies. It includes hundreds of full-text scholarly journals, as well as dissertations and other sources.

Provides references to journal articles, handbooks, and encyclopedias related to communication and mass media. Communication & Mass Media Complete offers full text for over 200 titles and contains citation coverage for additional sources

This database has merged into Communication Source.