Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Book Review Databases
Book Review Digest Retrospective, 1905-1982
Book Review Digest Retrospective provides excerpts from, and citations to, reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction. Citations with excerpts of reviews of juvenile and adult fiction and nonfiction in the English language are included. Virtually every book has at least one substantial review excerpt, and most have at least two.
Journals / Magazine Databases for Reviews
America History and Life
America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Provides indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present. The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews.
APS Online - American Periodical Series Online
APS Online contains full digital images of over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years-from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War II. Titles range from America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository, to popular magazines like Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal.
THIS LINK WILL TAKE YOU TO EBSCOHOST'S MAIN PAGE; CHOOSE *ALTERNATIVE PRESS INDEX* FROM THE LIST.
API is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals.The API was launched in 1969 to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. Coverage begins in 1991.
Reader's Guide Retrospective
Readers’ Guide Retrospective™: 1890-1982 provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™. This important resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century.