Research Guides: English 648: American Literature 1915-Present (African American Literature): Critical Context

MLAIB and others

Choose MLA International Bibliography and other databases relevant to your research.

Choose the Peer-Reviewed (Scholarly) box to retrieve peer-reviewed articles

EbscoHost This link opens in a new window
All EBSCOhost databases, cross-searchable, providing coverage for journal articles and other information in academic disciplines. Databases included are described on the database selection page. Many include links to full text of the articles indexed.

ProjectMuse has full-text scholarly articles from many journals in the humanities.

Choose Books and Journals, Books, or Journals from the drop-down menu.
Type search terms into box.
On the results page, click Only Content I Have Full Access To box.
Narrow results by choosing the appropriate Research Area on the left-hand side of screen.

JSTOR has full-text scholarly articles from journals in many disciplines.

For best results, use the Advanced Search
If you want only articles, make sure you click on the box next to Articles.
You can restrict By Discipline: Language and Linguistics and Literature are some suggested choices.

Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides searchable, full text access to hundreds of academic journals and books. It covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, primary sources, and high-quality images. It has an archive of more than 1,000 scholarly, interdisciplinary journals, with full coverage for all but the most current 3-5 years. Images are contributed by universities, museums, and community and private collections. JSTOR is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

When you search on-campus, the results list will automatically display a Find It @WVU link.

Use the setting (gear wheel) to set WVU Libraries as your default Google Scholar library

Search Project Muse by simply adding its names to your search: "the sound and the fury" and place "project muse"

she/her

Email Me

Request it through inter-library loan.

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
ILLiad is used to request materials not owned by the WVU Libraries. Log in with your WVU ID and Password. First-time users will need to answer a few questions before requesting.